Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 10, 2008 | 3:02 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 11, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place December 17, 2008

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I guess with all the request, Now I have to make a sequel :). But first, I must finish my schedule projects before I come back to this. Anyways, that was just a quick update after reading all the reviews and pms

*Thanks for the daily award you guys

* Thanks for the front page Tom! And thanks to all the voters on newgrounds

Let me clear things up really fast. This is not actually based on the great Howard Hughes. I just used it as an name because I wanted to keep the aviator theme going by adding that little reference. It is NOT based on Howard Hughes

MY OFFICIAL ENTRY FOR THE CHRISTMAS CONTEST

Let me give you guys a quick run down of where I got the idea for this story. When I was a little boy, my mother would read me this poem about this kid who dreamed of following in his hero's footsteps. Everyone as a child had dreams about becoming someone they looked up to or thought was really cool. Some might want to be astronauts... or a hero of some kind... However, the boy in this story wants to be an Aviator

So that's where the basic idea came from. I took a tiny bit from my life and applied it to this animation. I want to thank Deven Mack (also known as D-mac Double) for doing the voices of the little boy Howard Hughes and his father Jonathan Hughes. Francine Louise did the voice of Laney Hughes, the boy's mother. She nailed it in like two takes. I'm glad to be working with these voice actors yet again. It was tons of fun

Andrew Sinclair, a really talented musician, created the musical score for the animation. I didn't want to rush him because I felt like if the music was bad, then it would just ruin the submission. However, he did a bang up job on the music in this piece and hopefully I'll be working with him again sometime in the future. He really needs to be doing this for money like Cambo said because this guy is amazing :)

This is the first animation I have ever done using a tablet. For the backgrounds, I used Corel Painter X and Flash was used for the animation and effects (such as snow). This story is really close to my heart, so I hope you guys enjoy it. I started this on the week of Halloween and finished two day prior to today. Anyways, like always, I'll be reading all the reviews and trying to reply to everyone of them,

Running Time: 2 minutes

Video clips used in this movie are from King Kong, the original 1933 version created by RKO pictures

Reviews


ErichoEricho

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Good, but too short

It was cool to see stock footage in a flash. Overall, this was done very well. The animation was good and original, not to mention that the whole story itself was touching and emotional. I was disappointed it was so short. You should make more of these, as you have some real potential.


KartuneHustla responds:

Thanks man. Actually, I didn't plan on using stock footage until the middle of production because I thought it would be cool to see King Kong again. I love that movie :)


ChillyCheeseChillyCheese

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

I was great!

My only complaint is that it seemed more of an opening on to the rest of this kids life rather than a whole movie.

But other than that, you had some smooth animation and great voice acting. Cant wait to see some more stuff from you!


KartuneHustla responds:

Thanks man... Can't wait to see more stuff from you either


haine1jrhaine1jr

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Kudos...

Not much to say except...Great art, Great Sound, Great Message...think it goes without saying great flash. Good Job!


KartuneHustla responds:

Thanks for the review man :)


ValdronValdron

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Wow!

This is probably the best flash I have seen on NG in my lifetime. The sound is cristal clear, which is a first for me really. The story , even though short, is great. As Photobech already said this could be the start for an actual movie.

I really only have 1 negative point on this. It's too short for my liking ... some things could have been worked out more. For instance the relationship from father and mother. If his mother died flying a plane (which I strongly get the feeling for) then perhaps his father would have been a bit more emotional at giving his son the plane. It's a really good flash for it's length, but especially from someone with your talent I would like to see something a bit lengthier.

Great job though, you got my vote for the Christmas contest!


KartuneHustla responds:

Thanks for the review man. Here, imma explain the lengh really fast. I knew since I started that I was gonna go all out with the frame by frame. So if I made it too long, I would have never finished on time. Actually, I'm ahead of schedule. But anyways, I planned it to where I thought I would have enough time to make everything perfect. I wish it was a tad longer too, but I wanted to make the story good and give you guys your own interpretation of the story. The less i explain in the story, the more you take away from it


KericKeric

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

W-Whoa..

That was just, really "Uplifting", as the father put it. That was definitely a really good flash. If you ask me, this is a definite, should-be/could-be/WOULD-be, front page winner. Favorited, 5/5'ed, and 10/10'ed, good man.


KartuneHustla responds:

Thanks man. :) Now i feel uplifted