Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 10, 2008 | 3:02 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 11, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place December 17, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I guess with all the request, Now I have to make a sequel :). But first, I must finish my schedule projects before I come back to this. Anyways, that was just a quick update after reading all the reviews and pms

*Thanks for the daily award you guys

* Thanks for the front page Tom! And thanks to all the voters on newgrounds

Let me clear things up really fast. This is not actually based on the great Howard Hughes. I just used it as an name because I wanted to keep the aviator theme going by adding that little reference. It is NOT based on Howard Hughes

MY OFFICIAL ENTRY FOR THE CHRISTMAS CONTEST

Let me give you guys a quick run down of where I got the idea for this story. When I was a little boy, my mother would read me this poem about this kid who dreamed of following in his hero's footsteps. Everyone as a child had dreams about becoming someone they looked up to or thought was really cool. Some might want to be astronauts... or a hero of some kind... However, the boy in this story wants to be an Aviator

So that's where the basic idea came from. I took a tiny bit from my life and applied it to this animation. I want to thank Deven Mack (also known as D-mac Double) for doing the voices of the little boy Howard Hughes and his father Jonathan Hughes. Francine Louise did the voice of Laney Hughes, the boy's mother. She nailed it in like two takes. I'm glad to be working with these voice actors yet again. It was tons of fun

Andrew Sinclair, a really talented musician, created the musical score for the animation. I didn't want to rush him because I felt like if the music was bad, then it would just ruin the submission. However, he did a bang up job on the music in this piece and hopefully I'll be working with him again sometime in the future. He really needs to be doing this for money like Cambo said because this guy is amazing :)

This is the first animation I have ever done using a tablet. For the backgrounds, I used Corel Painter X and Flash was used for the animation and effects (such as snow). This story is really close to my heart, so I hope you guys enjoy it. I started this on the week of Halloween and finished two day prior to today. Anyways, like always, I'll be reading all the reviews and trying to reply to everyone of them,

Running Time: 2 minutes

Video clips used in this movie are from King Kong, the original 1933 version created by RKO pictures

Reviews


DestroslayerDestroslayer

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Hot Damn...

dude it gave me goosebumps its so good! its like the feel good flash of the year lol 10/10


People find this review helpful!
KartuneHustla responds:

Lol feel good flash of the year. That should totally be an award I swear :P


SamIamSamIam

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Prepare for take off

It wasn't my cup of tea, but I still enjoyed the animation. It is nice to see an animation that doesn't have any dicks, VG characters, or gore. Well done and great FBF work.


KartuneHustla responds:

I'm still glad you enjoyed it though. Also... do you have any Crystal Ice?


flunkedyflunkedy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

SEXCELLENT

maybe it's just my computer but the backgrounds you used they looked kinda rough but as I said it's probably just my computer
awesome other than that you should do this in installments you know and the next one is like 10 years from then etc. and it does that until he dies and goes through his life
just an idea
I liked the art and the concept was good I can see that you put alot of effort in
I can't wait to get my graphic tablet for christmas now XD
--->keep up the good work!<---


KartuneHustla responds:

Hopefully I can make an avi. version of this movie for youtube so you can check it out. It'll probably look better on there for anyone who is having some difficulties with viewing. Thanks for the review man :)


molkmanmolkman

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Nice mood

It was great, but just when it was done building up the atmosphere, it ended- but then again, I think that was just right in some way.


KartuneHustla responds:

Thanks man, yeah... I think the way it ends give it an abrupt feel, but also leaves you saying... that kid is gonna make his mother proud. I made sure D mac made the last line super epic lol for effect


LokyGhostOfVenganceLokyGhostOfVengance

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

*Sniff*

Ok that was one of the most emotional flash movies ive ever seen. The ending was really sweet.


KartuneHustla responds:

Thank you :) Hopefully it gets into the serious collection along with the christmas collection. I always wanted to be in that collection for some reason