Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 10, 2008 | 3:02 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 11, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place December 17, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I guess with all the request, Now I have to make a sequel :). But first, I must finish my schedule projects before I come back to this. Anyways, that was just a quick update after reading all the reviews and pms

*Thanks for the daily award you guys

* Thanks for the front page Tom! And thanks to all the voters on newgrounds

Let me clear things up really fast. This is not actually based on the great Howard Hughes. I just used it as an name because I wanted to keep the aviator theme going by adding that little reference. It is NOT based on Howard Hughes

MY OFFICIAL ENTRY FOR THE CHRISTMAS CONTEST

Let me give you guys a quick run down of where I got the idea for this story. When I was a little boy, my mother would read me this poem about this kid who dreamed of following in his hero's footsteps. Everyone as a child had dreams about becoming someone they looked up to or thought was really cool. Some might want to be astronauts... or a hero of some kind... However, the boy in this story wants to be an Aviator

So that's where the basic idea came from. I took a tiny bit from my life and applied it to this animation. I want to thank Deven Mack (also known as D-mac Double) for doing the voices of the little boy Howard Hughes and his father Jonathan Hughes. Francine Louise did the voice of Laney Hughes, the boy's mother. She nailed it in like two takes. I'm glad to be working with these voice actors yet again. It was tons of fun

Andrew Sinclair, a really talented musician, created the musical score for the animation. I didn't want to rush him because I felt like if the music was bad, then it would just ruin the submission. However, he did a bang up job on the music in this piece and hopefully I'll be working with him again sometime in the future. He really needs to be doing this for money like Cambo said because this guy is amazing :)

This is the first animation I have ever done using a tablet. For the backgrounds, I used Corel Painter X and Flash was used for the animation and effects (such as snow). This story is really close to my heart, so I hope you guys enjoy it. I started this on the week of Halloween and finished two day prior to today. Anyways, like always, I'll be reading all the reviews and trying to reply to everyone of them,

Running Time: 2 minutes

Video clips used in this movie are from King Kong, the original 1933 version created by RKO pictures

Reviews


KommonSince90KommonSince90

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

That Was

Faaaaantastic . Plus Cooler then A Mot. Fu.


KartuneHustla responds:

hahah sweet man. Glad you liked it


AkzeriuthAkzeriuth

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

i like this :D

i really liked this, im taking some aviation courses in college myself and this actually put a big ol smile on my face lol. and the howard hughes commentary i found especially cool, but thats just me, great job!


KartuneHustla responds:

Awww thanks man. Good luck with the aviation man


pizzaman117pizzaman117

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

wow

it was really a good story and very inspiring.


KartuneHustla responds:

Thank you man, I appreciate it


xwabbitxwabbit

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Hot!

Really dam nice, loved it all!


People find this review helpful!
KartuneHustla responds:

Thanks man


FlashFirerFlashFirer

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Nice little story.

Good graphics, nice animation. Good voice-acting and nice dialogue. I admire your work in this, because even though there were a few flaws in the story and the animation, none of them actually harmed the overall product, and you told the story you wanted to tell. So, congratulations. =]

Also... Did the kid just toss his Christmas present into the unknown? Will it fall in the snow where no-one will see it? :( Heh


KartuneHustla responds:

lol I thought about that too. I will say this. Maybe he threw it and then he goes out to look for it... just to see how far it goes. Hahah, good catch though man. I didn't think about that