Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 10, 2008 | 3:02 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 11, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place December 17, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I guess with all the request, Now I have to make a sequel :). But first, I must finish my schedule projects before I come back to this. Anyways, that was just a quick update after reading all the reviews and pms

*Thanks for the daily award you guys

* Thanks for the front page Tom! And thanks to all the voters on newgrounds

Let me clear things up really fast. This is not actually based on the great Howard Hughes. I just used it as an name because I wanted to keep the aviator theme going by adding that little reference. It is NOT based on Howard Hughes

MY OFFICIAL ENTRY FOR THE CHRISTMAS CONTEST

Let me give you guys a quick run down of where I got the idea for this story. When I was a little boy, my mother would read me this poem about this kid who dreamed of following in his hero's footsteps. Everyone as a child had dreams about becoming someone they looked up to or thought was really cool. Some might want to be astronauts... or a hero of some kind... However, the boy in this story wants to be an Aviator

So that's where the basic idea came from. I took a tiny bit from my life and applied it to this animation. I want to thank Deven Mack (also known as D-mac Double) for doing the voices of the little boy Howard Hughes and his father Jonathan Hughes. Francine Louise did the voice of Laney Hughes, the boy's mother. She nailed it in like two takes. I'm glad to be working with these voice actors yet again. It was tons of fun

Andrew Sinclair, a really talented musician, created the musical score for the animation. I didn't want to rush him because I felt like if the music was bad, then it would just ruin the submission. However, he did a bang up job on the music in this piece and hopefully I'll be working with him again sometime in the future. He really needs to be doing this for money like Cambo said because this guy is amazing :)

This is the first animation I have ever done using a tablet. For the backgrounds, I used Corel Painter X and Flash was used for the animation and effects (such as snow). This story is really close to my heart, so I hope you guys enjoy it. I started this on the week of Halloween and finished two day prior to today. Anyways, like always, I'll be reading all the reviews and trying to reply to everyone of them,

Running Time: 2 minutes

Video clips used in this movie are from King Kong, the original 1933 version created by RKO pictures

Reviews


mccandomccando

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Good job

I don't wanna be one of those people that repeat the obvious but... does the mom have anything to do with Amelia Earhart?


KartuneHustla responds:

she could and she couldn't be. However you interpret it


CraZeeKilLaCraZeeKilLa

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

voices are godly

i swear man its like im watchin this on tv the voices are just so amazing. plz make more i rly like ur work


KartuneHustla responds:

Thanks man... I'll be making more stuff really soon


superhuman786superhuman786

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

????

the f#ck is an aviator?


KartuneHustla responds:

lol XD nice


Slick-ProductionsSlick-Productions

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Nice Job Overall!

Especially on the back-story. Flash animations never really seem to capture you and take you into that boy's world, filled with his memory's etc. But You did a great job on that. Of course, everything else was also stunningly great.

Also, have fun replying to ALL OF THE FRONTPAGE REVIEWS! xD


KartuneHustla responds:

hahah oh I will. Thanks for the review man


GarnGarn

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Wow

That was surprisingly good.


KartuneHustla responds:

Thanks!!!!!