Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 10, 2008 | 3:02 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 11, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place December 17, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I guess with all the request, Now I have to make a sequel :). But first, I must finish my schedule projects before I come back to this. Anyways, that was just a quick update after reading all the reviews and pms

*Thanks for the daily award you guys

* Thanks for the front page Tom! And thanks to all the voters on newgrounds

Let me clear things up really fast. This is not actually based on the great Howard Hughes. I just used it as an name because I wanted to keep the aviator theme going by adding that little reference. It is NOT based on Howard Hughes

MY OFFICIAL ENTRY FOR THE CHRISTMAS CONTEST

Let me give you guys a quick run down of where I got the idea for this story. When I was a little boy, my mother would read me this poem about this kid who dreamed of following in his hero's footsteps. Everyone as a child had dreams about becoming someone they looked up to or thought was really cool. Some might want to be astronauts... or a hero of some kind... However, the boy in this story wants to be an Aviator

So that's where the basic idea came from. I took a tiny bit from my life and applied it to this animation. I want to thank Deven Mack (also known as D-mac Double) for doing the voices of the little boy Howard Hughes and his father Jonathan Hughes. Francine Louise did the voice of Laney Hughes, the boy's mother. She nailed it in like two takes. I'm glad to be working with these voice actors yet again. It was tons of fun

Andrew Sinclair, a really talented musician, created the musical score for the animation. I didn't want to rush him because I felt like if the music was bad, then it would just ruin the submission. However, he did a bang up job on the music in this piece and hopefully I'll be working with him again sometime in the future. He really needs to be doing this for money like Cambo said because this guy is amazing :)

This is the first animation I have ever done using a tablet. For the backgrounds, I used Corel Painter X and Flash was used for the animation and effects (such as snow). This story is really close to my heart, so I hope you guys enjoy it. I started this on the week of Halloween and finished two day prior to today. Anyways, like always, I'll be reading all the reviews and trying to reply to everyone of them,

Running Time: 2 minutes

Video clips used in this movie are from King Kong, the original 1933 version created by RKO pictures

Reviews


KIBBLEKIDKIBBLEKID

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Amazing

It's good to see an original flash here on newgrounds that doesn't come from the genres that 2good2b4goten stated. Great voice acting and loved the music score. Hope to see more from you in the future.


People find this review helpful!

FudgeMellowFudgeMellow

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

i know what it's like to have a parent who flys

that was really cool! my dad flys (but i don't want to fly a plane:]) and it is pretty amazing what you can see looking out your window. that is definatly worth 1st in a contest! hope you kick major butt and THAT WAS AMAZING!!! (i also find this a rather touching story. do some more!)


People find this review helpful!

stinkytofustinkytofu

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

That was amazing

lol the style, love the concept. Truly amazing. Hope u win the chrstmas animation contest!


People find this review helpful!

Black-viking13Black-viking13

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

idk

it looked good and the story was good but idk just didn't like it that much



flyingace16021flyingace16021

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

one word explains this.

AWWWWW!!!!!!!!!! well, its not really a word...but...that was amazing.