Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2008 | 7:54 AM EST
  • Daily 4th Place November 17, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Notice: This movie is stop motion, not flash.

In the nearby star system of Alpha Centauri lies an unknown planet by the name of Alcyone. A NASA spacecraft crashed there by mistake and the remnants of the crash provided the perfect loot for a band of primitive, gruff, badass aliens. There were 4 of them, Elnath, the scheming, dominant leader, Sabik, the dumbass half-wit, Zaurak, the quiet guy always scheming in the shadows, and Marfark, the tough but tiny workhorse of the group. Betrayal, greed and revenge turn things sour for everyone.

I made this almost 2 years ago and never got around to just finishing the damn thing. It was shot on a real old 16mm film camera. The handmade puppets took forever to create. My buddy wrote the poem, I wrote the story. Special thanks to Calvin Smith for the poem and Stuart Smith for the guitar track. No they aren't brothers. The Smith name has just over populated the Earth beyond it's reasonable bounds. Sorry if you were waiting with baited breath for me to make a new flash, but I thought this could tie you over until next month when my latest, greatest, and winter-themed flash arrives. Thanks for watching.

Edit: As of 11/01/2009 this has been updated with a color corrected version at a higher bit rate. The file is a bit larger, but the video should look better than it used to.

Reviews


meehanusmeehanus

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 19, 2008

that was great!

do those animals have hooves, cuz thats what im hearing even though they look like ...not hooves, youre very talented though and i mean no disrespect, its better than i could do


VillainousTurtleSLC responds:

Yeah it's kinda funny that way they don't have hooves. Some have hands, some have feet, some have insect legs. I guess one sort of has hooves. Anyway, the reason for the hooves sound is lack of a good sound library on my part, ha ha! Thanks man!


nina1nina1

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 18, 2008

Great work!!!

Great story, totally misleading in who was after who, didn't expect it to be the narrator.


VillainousTurtleSLC responds:

Glad the twist got ya!


SlintasSlintas

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 18, 2008

Holy cow!

You just keep producing quality movies.
Good job once again!


VillainousTurtleSLC responds:

Glad you liked it! It's a change of pace to go to stop motion, and this thing looks a million times better on a TV than on a computer. But I'm glad to know the story and design shows through the compressed quality and people are enjoying the film! Thanks Slintas! BTW, just got my stuff. Hope you got yours too!


Crown95Crown95

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 17, 2008

Nice

Good sound and a great story.


VillainousTurtleSLC responds:

Thanks dude!


MegaMacMegaMac

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 17, 2008

Yep.

You have the great stop-motion animation skills there. Pursue it further. I greatly enjoyed, I am sure others will too!