Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2008 | 5:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 8, 2008
  • Daily Feature October 6, 2008

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

MASTERMIND: WORLD CONQUEROR - Manage your minions, defend your base, and conquer this puny planet ONCE AND FOR ALL!

*PRESS SPACE TO LOCK YOUR CAMERA VIEW!*

WARNING: For assistance in figuring out what to do next, click the Help button for options at the top of the game screen, or click the Question Mark buttons in each of your rooms for further explanation.

This is the first game I have ever developed from scratch and programmed myself on top of all game visuals, so I do truly hope you enjoy my six months of efforts in bringing you this game. It wouldn't have been the same without the unrivaled vocal talents of TomaMoto, as well as Andy Dennis, Egoraptor, Suzy (Egoraptor's better half), Tom Fulp, Rinachan, Afro-Ninja, Luis Prieto, Toonimated, and of course myself as the Mastermind ;) Who could forget that?

So go conquer the world already! GOOD LUCK, YOU'LL NEED IT.

-----------

*KNOWN ISSUES*

Infinite Attack Bug - Your base continues to flash "Under Attack" even though you've survived all attacking enemies. This prevents your game from saving and your units from healing. Currently, the only way to fix is to return to the menu and Continue from your previous checkpoint, or Evacuate your base for another (which, unfortunately, will lose the base you are evacuating, but at least your progress will be saved).

Turret No-Target Bug - A targetting glitch causes turrets to target enemies they cannot see, preventing them from attacking enemies that come close to them. This glitch resolves itself after you've cleared the checkpoint.

Tutorial Freeze - Should be fixed now. If not, starting a New Game will reset the tutorial for you.

Reviews


ChaoticBlessingsChaoticBlessings

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

Style: Great. Gameplay: Okay

I'm usually not so much of a Fanboy at all, especially when it comes to popular submissions, but this is definitely worth playing an in general greatly done.
Points:
- Grafics were smooth, fitting to each other, the style was great, in generel, very fine.
- Sounds were good in general. Weapon sounds, menu sounds etc were fine. The background music wasn't actually that much of an "earcatcher", but was okay.
- Synchronisation was great, really awesome.
- Humor drawn through the whole game was very nice. Nothing to laugh really hard, but always cheered me. Especially the end was great.
- Gameplay: Well. I thought it was a great Idea in general, left some nice options, but a bit more action would've been great, you know? Most of your playing time is spent in menus which are rather well done, but not very exciting. If you're attacked the only thing you can do is send your troops to either your base or one enemy. You really could've done more regarding that.
I've also been annoyed by the towers. You have fixed points and a limited number. Why can't I put as many as I can afford around my base and where I want? Of course this would take balancing issues after it etc, but well, it would surely be like... more exciting. To see if your base is actually able to hold off enemy forces. Now I ***spoilers*** !!! just went to the moon base and equipped my soldiers with flamethrowers. This made the defence more than just easy. !!! ***end of spoilers***.

Well, short summary:
Your Style is great and one can see that you spend much of your heartblood in details, but you have to get more action somehow, in my opinion. The basic Idea is great, but you just spend too much time in menus.
Anyways, you're a great Artist and you did prove that with this submission (if not before already). I hope to see much more of you in the future.


People find this review helpful!

ApsuWurkzApsuWurkz

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

Great Job

Graphics and Sound are great!



LaloLalo

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

Amazing!

You did a great job here Swain! Everything is so well done, from the many different aspects of the game -mission planning and executing, defense, henchmen, weapons, business blah blah) which are detailed enough to make them interesting and not tedious, to the superuseful tooltips and question mark tutorials... you even added animations for the missions and reunions, with awesome voices!!

Excellent game, congratulations :)!!


People find this review helpful!
The-Swain responds:

I would'a been done a month ago if not for those damned mission cutscenes :( But glad I could impress, friend :D


majmichilesmajmichiles

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

"The Flash strategy genre is forever changed." **

the best game in NewGorunds ever!!
THE BEST!!!!!!



HuntersMoonHuntersMoon

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

epic

and i only played the tut :)