Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2008 | 5:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 8, 2008
  • Daily Feature October 6, 2008

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

MASTERMIND: WORLD CONQUEROR - Manage your minions, defend your base, and conquer this puny planet ONCE AND FOR ALL!

*PRESS SPACE TO LOCK YOUR CAMERA VIEW!*

WARNING: For assistance in figuring out what to do next, click the Help button for options at the top of the game screen, or click the Question Mark buttons in each of your rooms for further explanation.

This is the first game I have ever developed from scratch and programmed myself on top of all game visuals, so I do truly hope you enjoy my six months of efforts in bringing you this game. It wouldn't have been the same without the unrivaled vocal talents of TomaMoto, as well as Andy Dennis, Egoraptor, Suzy (Egoraptor's better half), Tom Fulp, Rinachan, Afro-Ninja, Luis Prieto, Toonimated, and of course myself as the Mastermind ;) Who could forget that?

So go conquer the world already! GOOD LUCK, YOU'LL NEED IT.

-----------

*KNOWN ISSUES*

Infinite Attack Bug - Your base continues to flash "Under Attack" even though you've survived all attacking enemies. This prevents your game from saving and your units from healing. Currently, the only way to fix is to return to the menu and Continue from your previous checkpoint, or Evacuate your base for another (which, unfortunately, will lose the base you are evacuating, but at least your progress will be saved).

Turret No-Target Bug - A targetting glitch causes turrets to target enemies they cannot see, preventing them from attacking enemies that come close to them. This glitch resolves itself after you've cleared the checkpoint.

Tutorial Freeze - Should be fixed now. If not, starting a New Game will reset the tutorial for you.

Reviews


GlassBombGlassBomb

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

Incredibly addicting

All I have to say is this:

I started playing around 7:00, it's 9:00 now, and I'm still playing

(Also the voice acting was marvelous)



Bozo0Bozo0

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

Yeah ok

so this is so awesome i vote 5/5 and bring your score to 4.60.. woot for you!
good gameplay and everything.. just sweet :)



greenflokinggreenfloking

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

Wow...

I'm proud to have rated this a five in judgement! This may be the next #1 flash in Newgrounds...



RuxenthRuxenth

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

Amazing

This game is addicting, fun, and all around amazing.



CalveyCalvey

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

Time to F@$% Off to Space Now

I've lost track of how many months this was stuck in the pipeline and it's great to see it's finally been dislodged and let out into the sunlight. I honestly can't remember the last time I had this much fun playing a flash game.

The animation and graphics are impressive and smooth as ever. It's always amazing to look back on the early Blockhead cartoons and see how much you've improved over the years, and once again you've set yourself another bar. The individual character models of all the minions and henchmen were also unique to each character and I got a couple of laughs out of some of them. The amount of individual animated scenes for all the missions and sanctum meetings is actually quite staggering, and had more than enough variance between them and witty dialogue to stop them from becoming boring. I can only imagine how long it took to put them all together.

The gameplay itself was intuitive, simple and highly effective. Once you got the hang of it and remembered where everything was it was a very straightforward process to plot and execute missions. What I found most impressive was how everything blended together uniquely to create an individual gaming experience. If you set out to sabotage, assassinate and steal everything and everyone you're notoriety goes through the roof and you'll be spending most of your time defending your base, but if you focus on propaganda and hire the right henchmen to do the right jobs you can fly under the radar as long as you can. My own funny experience was that I'd forgotten that you had to evacuate your base in order to travel to a new one so I spent a good 70% of the game slumming it out in Philadelphia wondering why I wasn't getting the benefits of my skyscraper.

The music fitted perfectly and as always was composed by you. You're basically a jack-of-all-trades aren't you? I'll be expecting you to be building your own computer from wood and making your own software from old solitaire programs in the future.

A huge congratulations goes to the voice actors who all took part in the game. The voices all excellent quality and well acted and each added a uniqueness to the characters. Special mention definitely goes to Tomamoto's Tutorial Minion #7 which made some aspects of the game which could have been quite tedious perfectly enjoyable.

One feature which I think would have made the game better would have been the ability to group together minions or order them to move to separate areas individually. Quote often I'd end up having all of my minions chase after a single fleeing soldier while my base was being attacked on the other side by five tanks. While it never really posed a problem, even simple orders like 'Move Here' or 'Hold Position Here' would have been helpful. On the other hand, it also might have made it too easy, so it's on a coin toss really.

Overall you've made a flash gem here, one that was definitely worth all the time and effort it took. A great blend of seriousness and Swain humour, with intuitive and fun gameplay with huge amount of replay value. You should be proud Mike, be very proud.

Spoiler Tip: A good way to set yourself for a decisive and easy win is to start off focussing on building your economy. You can't take on missions without income, so make sure you have a steady natural cash flow from investments and always have at least one patsy who can almost guarantee successes of cash raids. Otherwise you'll find yourself at points unable to fund new missions and unable to afford minions and defensive structures when you get attack, and after that it's just downhill.


People find this review helpful!