Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2008 | 5:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 8, 2008
  • Daily Feature October 6, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

MASTERMIND: WORLD CONQUEROR - Manage your minions, defend your base, and conquer this puny planet ONCE AND FOR ALL!

*PRESS SPACE TO LOCK YOUR CAMERA VIEW!*

WARNING: For assistance in figuring out what to do next, click the Help button for options at the top of the game screen, or click the Question Mark buttons in each of your rooms for further explanation.

This is the first game I have ever developed from scratch and programmed myself on top of all game visuals, so I do truly hope you enjoy my six months of efforts in bringing you this game. It wouldn't have been the same without the unrivaled vocal talents of TomaMoto, as well as Andy Dennis, Egoraptor, Suzy (Egoraptor's better half), Tom Fulp, Rinachan, Afro-Ninja, Luis Prieto, Toonimated, and of course myself as the Mastermind ;) Who could forget that?

So go conquer the world already! GOOD LUCK, YOU'LL NEED IT.

-----------

*KNOWN ISSUES*

Infinite Attack Bug - Your base continues to flash "Under Attack" even though you've survived all attacking enemies. This prevents your game from saving and your units from healing. Currently, the only way to fix is to return to the menu and Continue from your previous checkpoint, or Evacuate your base for another (which, unfortunately, will lose the base you are evacuating, but at least your progress will be saved).

Turret No-Target Bug - A targetting glitch causes turrets to target enemies they cannot see, preventing them from attacking enemies that come close to them. This glitch resolves itself after you've cleared the checkpoint.

Tutorial Freeze - Should be fixed now. If not, starting a New Game will reset the tutorial for you.

Reviews


RyanimateRyanimate

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

GWAHHH!!!!! FUCK YOUR MOTHER!!!!!

yeah i heard that line about 10 seconds before i was about to destroy the earth >:( but any way great game, when i really started getting into it before it came out i was worried of how the game-play would be but i was pleasantly surprised the game play was flawless. here are a couple bugs I'm not sure if anyone reported:
1. sometimes some of your minions just run away off screen and when you called them back they still came back but it took them a long time
2.a little bit later in the game the "UNDER ATTACK!!!" icon never goes away
3.this isn't a big one but i just thought I'd mention it here once in the cut scene of a mission it credited a different assistant
4.i was in the skyscraper level and there was an invincible tank!!! i had to evacuate out of there
that all the bugs i remember now ways to make it better:
1.have blockhead as a 2nd in command (I'm surprised you didn't)
2.well if i want blockhead to be a second in command why not the his concience as an assistant (that might be going a little to far.......)
3.have more variety in minions besides your second in command like how the bad gu.... i mean good guys have super heroes and stuff
last remarks awesome game but still has room for improve its hard to believe that you the guy that made inocient blockhead also made this seems like you wanted to do something different and it turned out perfect 9.5/10 5/5


People find this review helpful!
The-Swain responds:

I anticipated putting Blockhead in as some sort of unlockable character, but over time the idea kinda dropped off :(

Also, there's some kind of inherent flaw in my targetting system that causes some bugs like guys running of screen. It's strange but it does happen. Trying to fix :)


HandsOfChaosHandsOfChaos

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

Dang...

This clearly took alot of work and is the best example of a rts game that I've yet seen in Flash. It kept me glued to my computer until the hilarious conclusion. I liked the references to Paladin, Time Squad and Kung-Pow!: Enter the Fist.There's just a few things that could have made it perfect.

*The in-game help system was great, but a more active explanation of some of the finer points of gameplay, a such as deployment of the super henchman.
*The ending was hilarious, but the game really wasn't terribly funny 99% of the time. The little movies you see when you pull off a job are occasionally worth a giggle, but even then seeing the same one or two clips over and over again completely sucks the joy out of it.
*The villains were an interesting touch, especially the ones that referenced other works, but frankly, they lacked personality, having only one or two lines of dialouge. The super henchman, again had the same problem as the patsies, and their presence had very little effect on gameplay as a whole, and the differences between them wer far from noticeable.
*Some more types of basic units and base defenses would have been nice, and a little more of the series' saracastic humor should have been seen in the generic soldiers dialouge. Frankly, they're WAY too respectful in this game.

Despite all these caveats, this is a really great game. More than just another Flash timewaster.


People find this review helpful!
The-Swain responds:

I was tempted to pack more jokes into the game, but just like with the cutscenes, I'm sure you can imagine how trite a repetitive delivery-punchline system in the game would have become. The Blockhead game taught me that funny cartoons are for watching, not playing (that game was a disaster, haha). I tried to put gameplay, albeit my warped vision of one, before the series itself. The Blockhead game was more a game you watch, rather than play.

I don't disagree about the Patsy/Henchman character depth and involvement. In my original plans they were gonna do more than just give bonuses based on mission type. If I were more than a one man team, I would have definitely tried, but as things are now, I could have done it at the cost of another two months of work or so, and even then there would be yet more things that could stand to be improved, too ;)


CoreytheGreatCoreytheGreat

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

Holy shit

Wow, Played through the whole thing in one sitting, took 2 and a half hours. Never ONCE even CONSIDERED stopping. Maybe its a touch easy though, i was never in any real danger of being destroyed.


People find this review helpful!

MeandorMeandor

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

the end

the end was so worth it ^_^ (kinda reminds me of evil genius)
and it got boring farily quickly but as I said the ending was worth it XD



redfusionDredfusionD

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 5, 2008

AWESOME!!!

haha same here, was gonna see what the big deal was about at like 8 before finishing up some homework. I literally could not stop playing until I won. Thanks for the awesome game, you owe me for the F im going to get on my test tommorow.

10/10