Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2008 | 5:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 8, 2008
  • Daily Feature October 6, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

MASTERMIND: WORLD CONQUEROR - Manage your minions, defend your base, and conquer this puny planet ONCE AND FOR ALL!

*PRESS SPACE TO LOCK YOUR CAMERA VIEW!*

WARNING: For assistance in figuring out what to do next, click the Help button for options at the top of the game screen, or click the Question Mark buttons in each of your rooms for further explanation.

This is the first game I have ever developed from scratch and programmed myself on top of all game visuals, so I do truly hope you enjoy my six months of efforts in bringing you this game. It wouldn't have been the same without the unrivaled vocal talents of TomaMoto, as well as Andy Dennis, Egoraptor, Suzy (Egoraptor's better half), Tom Fulp, Rinachan, Afro-Ninja, Luis Prieto, Toonimated, and of course myself as the Mastermind ;) Who could forget that?

So go conquer the world already! GOOD LUCK, YOU'LL NEED IT.

-----------

*KNOWN ISSUES*

Infinite Attack Bug - Your base continues to flash "Under Attack" even though you've survived all attacking enemies. This prevents your game from saving and your units from healing. Currently, the only way to fix is to return to the menu and Continue from your previous checkpoint, or Evacuate your base for another (which, unfortunately, will lose the base you are evacuating, but at least your progress will be saved).

Turret No-Target Bug - A targetting glitch causes turrets to target enemies they cannot see, preventing them from attacking enemies that come close to them. This glitch resolves itself after you've cleared the checkpoint.

Tutorial Freeze - Should be fixed now. If not, starting a New Game will reset the tutorial for you.

Reviews


ZeeWolfZeeWolf

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 6, 2008

Great

Its an amazing game really, took me 2 hours to "destroy the earth" and at the end I felt like one of those minions thinking "what now shall he do since he has nothing to destroy...poor bastard". Game was interesting and fun but I think you need to add shortcuts and if there are I probably missed them. It was annoying changing weapons all the time from armor/air to ground. The game is great in general, I give you a full 10 just because it worth it.



DudewheresmypornDudewheresmyporn

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 6, 2008

Wow.

I've been a big fan of yours since Blockhead, but when Mastermind came out I loved your work even more. I've been waiting for this game FOREVER.

It's very well put together, and I really have no idea what type of game to call it. It's like Defense meets RTS meets RPG.... RTSRPDG? (Real-time-strategic-role-playing-def ense-game)

Anyway, I loved it. The humor: excellent. I watched the meeting Cutscene every time, and I loved watching the Mastermind execute someone (usually with a quip to go with it! =D)

The end of the game is /hysterical/. I won't spoil it for the rest of you.

This is one of the few flash games I've ever beaten, and it makes one of 3 games I've ever beaten in one sitting. (Other two are Portal and Crash Bandicoot 2).

Bravo, Swain! You've made an /amazing/ game.

I'd /love/ to see a sequel, but if you're not up to it, I totally understand. This game is a masterpiece.

Thanks for keeping me entertained.

--DWMP



PlumpMonkPlumpMonk

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 6, 2008

Well it took HOURS but,

It was worth it! It generally was. It seemed like one of those "Big" Strategy games. We all know what ones. It had a good set of troops and weapons, it had that "One use" thing from fire emble(a)am that made it so you couldn't rehire to your convienance. It was fairly hard when trying to kill world leaders, but thats expected. Took me till level 9 to kill all of them. Though if you were to make it POSSIBLY into a console game, I suggest a few more troop types such as a LAW troop with a empowered particle cannon. ((Yes, I made that point 'cause we had both the rail gun and laser cannon.)) I laughed at the super hero's lumberjack stride into battle, but I was unable to get the last 2nd henchman. ((Possibly tell me?)) I liked Afro-Samurai being in there, though you can go the ENTIRE game with the mexican hitman. And his catchphrase was funny but got repetitive.
I give this game a 9. Its not because of all the hard work and COUNTLESS hours you put into it. You worked hard, the only reason its a nine is due that its still in the stages being refined of glitches.
So really, great job good referancing of self made characters and your own. But I was really hoping ((Don't know didn't get alot of the patsys)) that there'd be a Blockhead or Conscience character.
Well, Go about your buisness. Thats all tha needed to be said.


The-Swain responds:

Every game has two states: full of glitches and the programmers are trying to fix them, or full of glitches and the programmers aren't trying anymore ;)


dacatusdacatus

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 6, 2008

Awesome

Deliciously dark, and easy to play after you get the hang of the controls. Well worth the time.



LuisLuis

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 6, 2008

I rule all as usual

Damn the play time on this thing was insane, you really pulled it together.

I guess my main gripe would be i wish it were longer but you had me burn atleast 2 hours so i guess for a web game thats pretty insane. At first i didnt think i'd like it. But it grows on you and once you get a hang of the game you can multi-task and it really becomes engaging.

FYI I beat it with the mexican as my henchman. That guy is the bomb putos.

In regards to bugs, I found that my henchman sometimes would all go after something off screen and not come back.


People find this review helpful!
The-Swain responds:

de Muerto is my <3