Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 3, 2008 | 7:55 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 4, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place October 8, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Lead the British or German army through the trenches of Europe in this First World War strategy game.

Use infantry, armor and fire support to take control of the ground or bombard your foes into submission.

Reviews


will-dl-1will-dl-1

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars October 14, 2008

Great potential, Great Failure

First and foremost, these is my type of game. No, not this game itself, I think this game is awful. But I in general love strategy games.

When designing a game the foremost element to keep in tact is game play. Not difficulty, not graphics, nothing else but game play. Warfare 1917 takes the route of many old NES games that believe "Lopsided difficulty and tedious game play = fun"

I for one never understood this idea behind a game, but there must be some reason for it. First let me explain why I feel the way I do about Warfare 1917.

First of all, the enemy always has the advantage via faster resupply by default. This to me screams laziness. Instead of programming for more levels with increasingly smart AI, lets just give the enemy a default passive advantage! Easy enough.

Then there are the enemy land mines. Of course you are unable to set up land mines of your own, that would require additional programming and game balancing. Instead, you are forced to trudge your troops through the minefield wrecking your teams moral along the way. Did I mention the AI is completely invulnerable to mines? Oh yes. They can attack you, worry free of mines, and if you attempt to retaliate prepare to have your first two or three waves obliterated by mines.

Then there are the glitches, which are just the icing on the cake. Namely the glitch that makes you lose and there is nothing you can do about it. There is a glitch that simply lets the enemy float right on by all of your troops/trenches/artillery right to your side of the map. Awesome, right?

I tried to enjoy this game, and honestly I can see how it could be an awesome game with a ton of reply value even. However the game play route the developer decided to go with is incredibly outdated and simply flat out awful. Great games use increasingly strong AI, tactics and skill to reward and challenge the player. Horrible games use cop-out statistic modifiers to make the programming work easier on the developer.

Rated 1/10 becase of the failure that had so much potential.


People find this review helpful!

ChuckNorris10000ChuckNorris10000

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars May 15, 2010

Very simple game needs more gameplay options

Very simple game as long as you keep two squadrons in the first trench abd keep pressing on your bound to win regardless!



hipper44hipper44

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars June 7, 2010

bad

i love how random explosions just happen everywhere killing literally everything i send. i seriously cant get anybody moving for more than three second without being fired on by something, not even troops. i also love how anti tank is completely useless against tanks



balto123balto123

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars May 22, 2010

its impossible

if you charge youll get destroyed by the enemy your moral goes down faster and you have no control over your troops



modaengmodaeng

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars October 17, 2008

assinnine!

Bull shit every step of the way... my troops were in control of the german trenches, and they gave up because their morale was too low... what a bunch of hooey!!!