Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 3, 2008 | 7:55 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 4, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place October 8, 2008

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Lead the British or German army through the trenches of Europe in this First World War strategy game.

Use infantry, armor and fire support to take control of the ground or bombard your foes into submission.

Reviews


scar-face-87scar-face-87

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 4, 2008

Simply amazing

I loved this game it's absolutely great only thing i don't like is i wish it was longer and that they gave you more experience points for upgrade but other than that pure masterpiece cant hope to definetely see a sequel.



BindtorturekillBindtorturekill

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 4, 2008

Sick game. Im not much for tactics, but this rules

Great game. You must have studied at least a little bit of military history. The Squad level infantry assault is great. I just spent the last hour on this. I just dont understnd how I can be gaining ground and losing morale at the same time. Nice job. A+


People find this review helpful!

RP207RP207

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 4, 2008

Original and great

I am not going to waste time commenting on many of the game's good parts, as the score will say enough about that and instead will provide on what I found worth criticism. Though I have to add, that I've been waiting for a game that would depict trench warfare so well as this one, not to mention the topic of The First World War.

The criticism:

-There are some bizzare occurences in the game conected to the morale stat, in one mission of the german campaign I had my troops hold position in trenches in an attempt to demoralize our foe with heavy losses. But instead we were the ones being demoralized by their assualts and artillery, so instead ordered a charge of all entrenched units and with relative ease we broke through the british defenses and took their trench yet the morale kept falling instead of rising despite we had an upper hand and 2 secods before the final meters could be taken my troops gave up!
-Continuing on the previous point, its unfair and frustrating when the ai has more ressources (artillery fire) than the player, though you can argue the ai is no genius and would be outsmarted easily, still it gives the player a feeling of being cheated on. Instead I'd propose if the ai already started with entrenched troops. It would be much less annoying than being constantly bombarded by the enemy.
-Another problem is lacking unit control, while I appreciate you can keep units entrenched or order them to attack, you can't do much else with them. Can't tell them to stop if the area in front is being bombarded, can't merge damaged squads together, can't order a fall back if things aren't going as planned, nor order anyone to take out a sniper without also ordering them to attack the enemy positions.
-Next issue: as mentioned squads of units can't merge if they have casualties. this leads to them taking space in trenches they normally would not. Also continuing on this, I find it strange a single special unit can take as much space as a whole squad in a trench. It lead me to use only multiple unit squads as infantry and assault teams instead of officers and snipers due to their low defensive value in trenches, perhaps atleast the officers could be given a few soldiers in the same squad? Or the trenches could have an additional slot for single-unit squads only.
-Why can't you tell your masses of generic infantry to jump inside the enemy trench and engage in close combat? It would definitely be more effective than be sitting ducks for artillery fire and the entrenched enemy, even if their numbers are much smaller (not to mention the enemy would be less likely to bomb their own troops).
-I had problems with the upgrades in campaign mode: points, especially in later phases appear too slowly to give you a chance to buy the especially expensive upgrades. I found myself passing the game (in both campaigns) without a single 3-point upgrade and almost no upgrades on artillery fire technology.
-Perhaps you could let the player place mines on their own, or give them an option to not have their position mined, since sometimes it's fairly stupid to start a charge only to blow up on your own minefield, not knowing there even is one in front of your trench. On the other hand mines work great for demoralizing opponents, just you should have the option to not mine your position at the start of the battle (or maybe mine it even more?).
-Maybe including more nations? I mean, it's good you have two sides to choose from but their advantages do not count so much strategically if there's always a fixed opponent you have to apply them against.

That said, do not be swayed by the ammount of written criticism, the game has lots of great features and is definitely worth playing. A great fusion of action and strategy where your ability to aim and time an airstrike, as well as choose the right troops and time to attack can lead either to complete victory or defeat.


People find this review helpful!

superninja321superninja321

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 4, 2008

good but needs more troopers

make another one ok? please respond!



iwantbrainziwantbrainz

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 4, 2008

Need airforce and american forces

Thats all this needs air force and american forces and russian one day if you could ever have enough time for that but this game is no doubt the best game for now on ng i have to admit but just needs a lil touches but its perfect