Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 1, 2008 | 12:04 AM EDT
  • Review Crew Pick October 8, 2008
  • Daily Feature October 2, 2008
  • Weekly 3rd Place October 8, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!
  • Sonic the Hedgehog
    Sonic the Hedgehog Sega's answer to Mario! What next, a Crash Bandicoot collection?
  • Super Mario Bros Z
    Super Mario Bros Z It's a crazy Mario / DBZ crossover!

Author Comments

It's been a long 16 months since I first uploaded episode 6. But now the wait is over.
For those who are wondering why it has taken so long, I won't lie to you, I just couldn't be bothered to work on it until a month ago. But part of me is happy that I could get the next episode completed.
Contrary to popular belief, this isn't the last episode in the series and I don't intend on waiting another 16 months to release episode 8. I apologise for keeping you all waiting that long, I am grateful to all those stayed patient.
Just a fair warning, this episode is quite long and has a lot more dialogue compared to the previous episodes in the series. I was trying to add more story to it rather than mindless violence, I promise there won't be quite as much next time. =B
But until then, enjoy the new episode of Super Mario bros Z!

Reviews


LuigioLuigio

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 1, 2008

A perfect return

After throngs of fanboys begged for you to finish the episode and a moment of quitting the series, you have made a comeback few could have ever thought possible, let alone accomplish. Quite long with all the scenes, but that follows the SMBZ pattern where the odd-numbered episodes are more dialogue based.

Also enjoy the self parody in the middle with Kolorado and Goombella. And for making the Koopa self-aware of his change from biped to quadruped. I was almost thrown off by the episode picture, thinking it might be a joke, but lo and behold you created one hell of a back story, no doubt thanks in part to DC's great story planning. Good luck to you in the future, you have my support always.


People find this review helpful!

OddlerOddler

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 1, 2008

Review for Super Mario Bros Z Ep. 7

Well, Mr. Alvin. You certainly did take your sweet time making this. 16 months? That's pretty crazy. Anyway, I'm going to give you the pros and cons about this Flash. From what I remember as best as I can.

Cons:

-Seeing part of this Flash on Youtube did sadly detract from the overall feeling for maybe... half the Flash before the better taste of new content re-imerged from my mouth.

-Spacebar pressing turned annoying at a moderate pace....since this Flash took like 30+ minutes or so for me to watch it took it's toll. I realize having it auto-scroll is also a pain for people that don't read fast (me) and is probably the better choice but still in the realm of "Ouch"

-Some of the humor I felt wasn't needed in the Flash because it was a bad choice such as the beginning of the Flash where Kamek uses the Yosemite Sam voice clip" Rackum sackum etc" --- This however was minor and not the biggest of deals although it felt less like Mario Bros Z as it was pulling jokes from too far in the realm of everything that exists. Minor though again.

- I would have definitely left out the voice acting and bleeping from the Goomba & Koopa. It really detracted from the feel and flavor of the Flash.

-The big nasty one was when you did the OVER 9000 joke again. As the Goomba was only setting it up when she pulled out her book...I was shaking my head....shook my head further as it happened since it was used twice in your series...then when you drew further attention saying that it was used twice was like putting lemon juice on a freshly made sore. Could have done without that one, Mr. Earthworm.

-Since this flash is many months of what people would call "over-due" I felt the feeling of the 7th installment really wither down and my emotions didn't welcome it as warmly as if it were only a couple months prior to SMB6. (I did do a double-take when I saw this title and your name as author of the Flash...actually in realism I probably had to check 4 times...I'm not exagerating)

-I wasn't thrilled with how the characters left Minus World. I thought it was waaaaay too random and it seemed like you got lazy on that part and went with anything.

Pros:

- I feel the length of this flick was a good one. After not being with an episode of SMBZ for so long I would hate a lengthy episode that was a more normal medium sized. It just wouldn't feel right. I think this episode is a good length to stop at for the next installment.

-You used a lot of 3D view stuff in here that you nailed very well. Nice work turning 2D backgrounds into 3D ones.

-Humor was interjected really well. When there was too much yapping you added SOMETHING at the right moment to break it up and shove some emotion back into us.

-Fight scenes great albeit slightly below your average fight scenes of the past but still very great.

- I thought the Minus world idea was TOTALLY out of left field and not something I predicted at all. Which is great! I totally enjoyed the also very unexpected FIGHT SCENE in 2D with those custom sprites. I didn't think you'd have enough of them to pull it off. VERY NICE.

- I also LOVED how you used some Smash Brothers Brawl references in this one. Warios gaseous problems and Sonics air down-tilt attack on Mecha Sonic from what I took notice in. Also the sounds from Brawl I think were partly used in this?

- Very creative uses of the sprites you were given. I've tried making sprite movies and gave up due to lack of sprites for things I wanted. You worked your way around that very good.

I really can't remember everything off hand...I'd have to watch it again and I"m also running out of characters here. Overall Mr. Earthworm you did a pretty dandy job. I like the way this Flash reached 700 views before released from the portal LOL...


Lots of people find this review helpful!

XTREEMMAKXTREEMMAK

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 1, 2008

Excelent!

I remember seeing the first few of these a while ago. It's getting better and better. It'd be nice to get some ... voice actors though *wink*



Golden-FoxGolden-Fox

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 1, 2008

Well, where to begin..

First off, I thought you were going to stop this series ever since your fans were pestering you like crazy enough to where you want to quit flash. But then again, there was talk that you were going to continue the series.

So after a year and a half, the new episode is finally finished. Of course, as typical, you add more DBZ sounds, and effect sprites. Well no matter anyway, that's what you named your title. Anyway, I like how you made this one more dimensional, and I don't mean the whole aspect of having Mario and Sonic in that eternal 8-Bit portal. What I mean is, I like how you made things look more 3D with the use of making 3D graphics, such as the pipes, and walls, even though they're flat, and the way you changed views and the perspective of the scenes like it's a real cartoon.

I gave you a 7 on this one because unlike the other installments, there was so much dialouge involved, that I was at the point to where I just continued hitting the space bar to see what would happened next. I'm aware that you like making a story, but that's too much. I would've given you a higher number, but the rest of the episodes have the DBZ stuff, and sound effects as I told before, and don't get me wrong, they're great to watch, but it can get rather boring as well. If that bothers you too much, I'll still vote 5.

Also, do you think you can manage to have all those Koopa characters in your series if you want to finish it? It seems to be a lot to do, considering you have seven episodes done so far. Whatever, I won't criticize you on that because that's up to you.

Overall, good job, and good luck with the rest of the series.


People find this review helpful!

slam422slam422

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 1, 2008

Extraordinary!!!

I must say that this is your finest work yet, Alvin; I can only imagine what you have in store for us when the next episode arrives!

...Of course, I hope that it doesn't take a year and a half for the next one to be completed...

...Then again; I'm patient, so I can wait...