Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 28, 2008 | 3:09 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 29, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • NG Collabs
    NG Collabs Multi-Author Newgrounds Collaborations!

Author Comments

EDIT - There's a new CTSG song in the works for a new CTSG flash! Check it out at http://www.newgrounds.com /bbs/topic/977446

IT'S FINALLY FINISHED.

Way back in January 2008, twelve frequenters of the audio forum decided to play something called "Continue The Song Game". They created a song by adding 15 seconds chunks at a time to the previous persons piece, and so on and so forth until they had a 3-minute conglomeration of awesome.

It was fine on its own, but I thought something was missing. That's right, a flash to go with it! So I went to the flash forum in the middle of February and put out the call for twelve animators to animate a musicians part of their choice. This concept has never happened before! Since the song had taken only 5 days to complete, I gave the animators a deadline of one month.

SEVEN AND A HALF MONTHS AND MANY LOVEBLIMP PARODIES LATER

We're now down to ten animators and one of the largest collab threads in the history of Newgrounds. Enjoy the fruits of our labors! Many thanks to Whirlguy, who compiled everything for me :D

By the way, the audio forum made a second CTSG while this flash was in production. Maybe we'll do this again!

Song thread - newgrounds.com /bbs/topic/853834 - 9 pages
Flash thread - newgrounds.com /bbs/topic/859161 - 75 pages
"Best of the flash thread" post - whirlguy.newgrounds.com/n ews/post/193733

- First successful collab organized by someone with no flashes submitted
- First collab based around a music collab
- Most Rig parodies created during production D:
- First appearance of the Loveblimp
- Two contributors were modded during production - Rig & WritersBlock

Sorry about the large size - we wanted to have high-quality sound. ;)

EDIT - The sig pictures are now clickable!
EDIT - Hurrah for the front page! Thank you, mysterious stranger.
EDIT - Hey, daily first! And thanks for the collection additions! :D
EDIT - Thanks for the weekly 10th!

Reviews


ArchangelDrakeArchangelDrake

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2008

Oh my god the art

It was awful.
The only good artists drew the hangliding dude and the gay french guy with pink wings.
Music was awesome enough to make up for it, 7/10 and 4 stars.



master-swordmaster-sword

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 7, 2008

SUPER-PIE is a dipsh*t

He calls Flashwork Anime? and says its strange to find it on newgrounds?!

buddy thats what newgrounds is, flashwork movies.. gah.

sorry to waist this reveiw on an opinion :s



JercurpacJercurpac

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 6, 2008

Simple and Fun

A great example of how to inject a little originality into collabs. I think some of the animations could have flowed better with the previous one instead of jumping to something new, but that's really stretching for a complaint. Everyone did a great job and both the song and animation aspects of the collab were fantastic. It's great to see both established and less known animators working together.



xTOXICxEMPIRExTOXICxEMPIRE

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 6, 2008

This review may be a bit biased, but...

I LOVED IT!!! <3
Oh man, it turned out brilliantly, Whirlguy did a brilliant job compiling it all.
Transitions turned out fantastic, I loved the credits, and I hadn't seen any of BritishMoose's except a screenie before now, I loved the whole damn thing!

Every single bit of the animation flowed fantastically, and and so did the music.
Seeing this brings back so many memories of the actual thread, I can't stop watching it over and over again!
I think the music was definitely enhanced through the animation now that I've seen the whole CTSG collab put together, and they both work in sync really well.

Can't wait to see you guys in the next CTSG!
Congrats Rigster!!!
AND WELL DONE EVERYONE!!!
<3<3<3


People find this review helpful!

ChickenforkChickenfork

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 6, 2008

I like the idea but...

While it was nice and all, there seemed to be no coherence which would seem like it should be the main theme of the collab since it involves a continuing song. Even the song itself, it didn't seem to transition well from one song to another, they felt so distant it was like they aren't part of the same song.


People find this review helpful!
Rig responds:

That's something I plan to address for the next one. ;P