Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 28, 2008 | 3:09 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 29, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • NG Collabs
    NG Collabs Multi-Author Newgrounds Collaborations!

Author Comments

EDIT - There's a new CTSG song in the works for a new CTSG flash! Check it out at http://www.newgrounds.com /bbs/topic/977446

IT'S FINALLY FINISHED.

Way back in January 2008, twelve frequenters of the audio forum decided to play something called "Continue The Song Game". They created a song by adding 15 seconds chunks at a time to the previous persons piece, and so on and so forth until they had a 3-minute conglomeration of awesome.

It was fine on its own, but I thought something was missing. That's right, a flash to go with it! So I went to the flash forum in the middle of February and put out the call for twelve animators to animate a musicians part of their choice. This concept has never happened before! Since the song had taken only 5 days to complete, I gave the animators a deadline of one month.

SEVEN AND A HALF MONTHS AND MANY LOVEBLIMP PARODIES LATER

We're now down to ten animators and one of the largest collab threads in the history of Newgrounds. Enjoy the fruits of our labors! Many thanks to Whirlguy, who compiled everything for me :D

By the way, the audio forum made a second CTSG while this flash was in production. Maybe we'll do this again!

Song thread - newgrounds.com /bbs/topic/853834 - 9 pages
Flash thread - newgrounds.com /bbs/topic/859161 - 75 pages
"Best of the flash thread" post - whirlguy.newgrounds.com/n ews/post/193733

- First successful collab organized by someone with no flashes submitted
- First collab based around a music collab
- Most Rig parodies created during production D:
- First appearance of the Loveblimp
- Two contributors were modded during production - Rig & WritersBlock

Sorry about the large size - we wanted to have high-quality sound. ;)

EDIT - The sig pictures are now clickable!
EDIT - Hurrah for the front page! Thank you, mysterious stranger.
EDIT - Hey, daily first! And thanks for the collection additions! :D
EDIT - Thanks for the weekly 10th!

Reviews


bigyouthbigyouth

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 28, 2008

amazing

love the tunes and the video 10/10 definatly



ShortMonkeyShortMonkey

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 19, 2008

Awesome

10/10 for sure. My favourite audio was Envy's hard dance and I didn't really have a favourite flash part - they were all awesome. Great work!


People find this review helpful!

twatbagtwatbag

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 9, 2008

OSPUNX

i agree totally. This flash needed alot more work maybe if more time was spent on the musical side of things rather then the animation this could have been something special... the name of the game is "continue the song" not continue the animation. You can have a 8 just because i like the idea not because of prodution value. Better luck next time 3/5


People find this review helpful!

PookatDinoPookatDino

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 9, 2008

Mixed feelings

I think the presentation, concept, and how this was organized was all done really well. The beginning screen and menus were great. But with any collaboration there is one curse artists have to avoid... and this one didn't manage to escape it.
There is a vast degree of difference between the skill or quality in some of the sequences. It isn't something as simple as the "style" they do it in (because of course that will always be different :]) but some of the sequences (especially the *cough* "anime") ones were too dull or had very blocky animation that didn't feel free flowing. As opposed to the part that had all the purple outlines and dynamic awesome animations. When you put these side by side and contrast them it leaves me with mixed emotions. But what I do know is that it does have its saving graces, and while being a bit more careful about certain scenes and how they look side by side with others would make this leaps and bounds better than it is, it is still well done and there are definitely still scenes of merit and well done animation. So in conclusion I say well done guys.


People find this review helpful!

MundoSegundoMundoSegundo

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2008

thought it was awesome

did really good guys! i liked the song and animation, it seemed like you put alot of effort into this