Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 25, 2008 | 5:48 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 26, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place July 30, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

** Patch 2.3 - Really just bug fixes and general tuning. Nothing of specific note. (Patch 2.2 was made for Kongregate and therefor did not apply to NG).

** Patch 2.1 - Patch Notes can be found on my Userpage if you want the details of what was added and changed.

A note that the old game had that I left out here - This game is kinda hard on the framerate (my fault), especially when things are hectic onscreen. There is an FPS counter that you can turn on in the Options menu. If everything seems to be moving slow, check it. The game SHOULD be hovering around 30 frames a second. If you're dipping significantly or constantly, there are a couple things you can do: If it's mostly a problem when tons of things are happening onscreen all at once, you can turn down the Spawn Limit in the options menu. This will put a soft limit on the number of enemies on screen at once, and potentially help keep the game from bogging down to far. You can also (obviously) turn down the Quality a notch, as I've found this helps a lot. Just fiddle with things until you get the game running where you are comfortable with it.

Another note - If the sense of mystery and randomness is not your thing, and you want some guidance as to how to do and see everything (and advice on which Rewards to pick, to boot!) OmegaMario has composed a Guide for players based on his playing of the game. Keep in mind that this is full of **SPOILERS** (that's sorta the point, really) and I was not involved in it's creation - everything here he discovered and composed on his own. Bravo, I say!

Find it here: http://omegamario.newgrou nds.com/

**
A brand new version of my previous game, Amorphous+ is a fast paced, hectic melee of multicolored blobs. Veterans of the older version will recognize the following new features:
*PAUSE* - omg, press spacebar
*Progress Saving* - Now with a sense of continuity and accomplishment!
*Awards* - Gain awards to mark your achievements as you play
*Rewards* - As you earn awards, you will unlock useful tools and abilities to help you survive
along with a number of little tweaks and additions.

The music is Still all by Revolution Void - which you can disable in the Options menu - but you shouldn't, because they're awesome.

Hope you enjoy it!

ProTip: You can just click through all the intro crap at the beginning to get to the game. You're welcome.

Reviews


VaperionXDVaperionXD

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

nice

I like it but find it a touch to hard...then again i did play this at 5am so hey its probably just me.



Wes82Wes82

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

fun...

definetly a good game, keep it up



ObsessiveSketchObsessiveSketch

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

can't help it.

Definitely one of the most addictive games on Newgrounds. After playing for a couple mitnutes, I thought "This is a regular game, not too fun, not too shabby. it was amazing how much my perspective changes once I decided just to check out the beastiary.
Your descriptions of the survival and tactical instincts of the blobs was nothing less than spectacular. I foun myself reading every one, even knowing that there would be little to actually help me in the game. They were all so interesting! Because you took the time to write all these out, I found the game much more interesting.
Another aspect that was hilariously done was the awards section. At an awful lot of them, I was forced to crack a grin, if not chuckled a bit. The "exterminator" award just made me laugh out loud for about 4 minutes: "Now you truly know that these are the most dangerous blobs in the game. I'm sure that resounding 'oomph' strikes the fear of doom into your heart" or something to that effect. XD it was comical genius. I found myself playing the game not only for the game itself, but my eagerness to see everything new (as your 45 min. achievement cleverly pointed out ;) )
The only problems I had were that sometimes a green blob would be SO CLOSE that my sword actually missed it! The other thing I'm not exactly complaining about; when the were about 3-4 Biteys surrounding me (an "oh fuck" moment if ever there was one) a green blob bumped me. All the Biteys rushed me as I staggered......but they harmlessly passed through me. Now, I was expecting a fountain of red death, but nothing happened, I turned around and killed the, and went on with the game. Just sayin' ;P
Amazing game, I'm certainly going to be coming back to this one for a week or two.
PS. The many different death animations and a friggin' ACHIEVEMENT for dying different ways just bumped you from a 9 to a 10


People find this review helpful!
innocuousGames responds:

Thanks for a Great review!

The Bestiary entries and Award descriptions were a ton of fun to write (as you can probably tell), especially in the Bestiary where I got to flex my completely-bogus-rediculous-psuedo-sc ience muscles.

There actually is a minimum swing area for the sword, so as you point out it's possible for something to get inside it. The killzone it creates when you swing is sort of.... well... windshield-wiper shaped, for a lack of a better analogy. As for the Biters not tearing you limb from tiny poorly-drawn limb, I have to assume that was a glitch of some kind, it's not a known issue. All of the collision detection requires that things be mostly in contact to count (for example, if you swing and your arc catches the edge of a gloople, that doesn't count. You have to get the majority of it inside the swing arc) so it's possible the biters sort of grazed you? I donno... either way, you lucked out.

Again, thanks for the review and I'm pleased you're enjoying it!

PS. There are actually quite a few Awards associated with dying. So even when you're not doing so great... That's Progress!


HayaemsayHayaemsay

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

Where to start?

A competent time killer, let down by numerous flaws.

The menu design feels messy, bulky and uninviting. This is NOT aided by the poor choice of font an unnessecary highlight animation. When I move my mouse over a particular link to a sub menu, the enlarging of the text should be instant. The same applies for the awards and rewards section, I can read faster than the interface 'types'. A note on consistency as well, in the beastiary, a scroll over the various blobs reveals (if you squint) an increase in the gradient size (+1 for consistency), however the text doesn't change size (-1 for lack of consistency), and lets face it, the beastiary roll-over isn't noticable.

The game itself is okay, the backgrounds are nice enough, the controls are effective and the music can be distracting but that's irrelevant since it can be turned off. However; the speed of the blobs and the character is incredibly slow. This means that starting off the game is incredibly slow, and only when you are on the verge of being overwhelmed by blobs does it actually feel suitable. To add to that, judging how far out the knife's swing is effective is frustrating, especially when you're into the period in which every swing must cull as many blobs as possible to maximize chances of survival. Speaking of the knife the cooldown time (less than a second) is mostly redundant and just another weight dragging the character down.

7/10, it's infuriating in the best way possible (like women).


innocuousGames responds:

Hey... I like that font....

One thing it almost sounds like is that you might be having framerate issues... there's a framerate counter you can turn on in the options menu (it shows up in the top right hand corner) although this won't be displayed during the menus, only during the game. It SHOULD be hovering around 30 fps. During play it will definitely dip when a lot of crap starts happening (rewards will hurt it a bit too) as does playing out of native resolution and all that normal stuff. Anyway if it is the framerate you might consider knocking the display quality down a notch.

I mention this because the menu effects (especially the Reward screen info 'typing' effect) shouldn't be THAT slow. So it almost sounds like you're having some framerate issues (I noticed this same problem on a friend's machine during testing when he was playing with the game fullscreened in an alarmingly high resolution).

As for the rest of the menu styling and stuff, I agree that it's minimalist, but to be honest I'm not a professional games producer and it does what it's supposed to do. I like that you noticed the Bestiary roll-over effect, it is very subtle. The Award descriptions do take a sec to come up, but that's so that you don't always have that huge black box in your face if you just want to browse around and look at the art.

As far as gameplay, again I'm not sure you aren't having framerate problems... but if you aren't then I'll admit the game isn't fast-paced because of how quick the character is. In fact, threat-management is really the point, and you have to get a feel for what your limitations are. The character is designed to be pretty vulnerable, and you have to really watch what's coming and place your strokes effectively to stay alive (and even then, sometimes it just goes against you and there's nothing you can do). All in all, the game is supposed to feel very arcade-y. Sometimes you just load up and die instantly.... not a big deal, just try again.

Like you say, the attacking mechanics are kind of different. Once you play with them a while, (I believe) you come to get a feel for exactly how it works, how long it takes, and where your range is. This gets pretty important as the more deadly stuff shows up and you REALLY need to catch that Biter in the same swing as a couple of those Clutters that have been piling up. Plus, this is essential for scoring high.

Anyway, thanks for an articulate and well thought-out review! I hope you mess with it a bit more, and thanks for playing with it!


thestrikerz933thestrikerz933

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 25, 2008

absolutely amazing...

I loved this game. It's one of, if not the best game i've ever played on newgrounds. only complaints are not knowing which awards unlock rewards and the selection of music. I dont have anything Revolution Void but i just feel there should be some other types of music thrown in there. But i really like the awards part and the humor that was mixed in as well. Overall, VERY NICE!! 10/10 5/5!!

i hope to see some more games just as good by you!!


innocuousGames responds:

Wow, Thanks for the high praise!

The Music is a big divergence point for opinions, as it was in the old game. I considered adding a second, alternate soundtrack that you could choose from for this release, but I really think that would be pushing what I feel is a reasonable size for a flash game. As it stands, the music (there's quite a bit of it, obviously) takes up the vast majority of the file size, even at it's low sample quality.

I do hope to make more games and other projects, but I'm kinda slow and easily distracted, so no guarantees! :P

Thanks again!