Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 25, 2008 | 5:48 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 26, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place July 30, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

** Patch 2.3 - Really just bug fixes and general tuning. Nothing of specific note. (Patch 2.2 was made for Kongregate and therefor did not apply to NG).

** Patch 2.1 - Patch Notes can be found on my Userpage if you want the details of what was added and changed.

A note that the old game had that I left out here - This game is kinda hard on the framerate (my fault), especially when things are hectic onscreen. There is an FPS counter that you can turn on in the Options menu. If everything seems to be moving slow, check it. The game SHOULD be hovering around 30 frames a second. If you're dipping significantly or constantly, there are a couple things you can do: If it's mostly a problem when tons of things are happening onscreen all at once, you can turn down the Spawn Limit in the options menu. This will put a soft limit on the number of enemies on screen at once, and potentially help keep the game from bogging down to far. You can also (obviously) turn down the Quality a notch, as I've found this helps a lot. Just fiddle with things until you get the game running where you are comfortable with it.

Another note - If the sense of mystery and randomness is not your thing, and you want some guidance as to how to do and see everything (and advice on which Rewards to pick, to boot!) OmegaMario has composed a Guide for players based on his playing of the game. Keep in mind that this is full of **SPOILERS** (that's sorta the point, really) and I was not involved in it's creation - everything here he discovered and composed on his own. Bravo, I say!

Find it here: http://omegamario.newgrou nds.com/

**
A brand new version of my previous game, Amorphous+ is a fast paced, hectic melee of multicolored blobs. Veterans of the older version will recognize the following new features:
*PAUSE* - omg, press spacebar
*Progress Saving* - Now with a sense of continuity and accomplishment!
*Awards* - Gain awards to mark your achievements as you play
*Rewards* - As you earn awards, you will unlock useful tools and abilities to help you survive
along with a number of little tweaks and additions.

The music is Still all by Revolution Void - which you can disable in the Options menu - but you shouldn't, because they're awesome.

Hope you enjoy it!

ProTip: You can just click through all the intro crap at the beginning to get to the game. You're welcome.

Reviews


ShiningIdealShiningIdeal

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

Insidious rather than Innocuous

Its easy to think, that as one of the playtesters of this and other builds by the time it went live I'd have little incentive to really start to play all over again. But thats the real danger of this game, it manages to work under your skin so that when you think you are settling down for a nest you find yourself looking at the clock an hour later.

First and foremost, the most damning factor to time is that it seems with almost every death there is something you clearly could have done better. Something to drive you to press retry instead of closing the window in some mute frustration. And oh that frustration does come after you've run nine minutes of a bounty run and a triangle of fuzzles feel the need for a taste of Nameless Protagonist A. With every stroke of the Splatmaster you can see a better one just to the left or right. Assured you could surely do better, just a bit better. Maybe finish, maybe get another award you find your morning gone.

With a full bestiary now (and for those of you who have seen the most dangerous of monsters, those unfortunate or lucky few...) every battle works itself out in its own way. The elegant simplicity of the control scheme makes it seem so light until the odds are so firmly stuck against you. Even with the addition of a few rewards (The Teleporter being my favorite with the Hazard Suit rating a strong second for those of you looking for a little advice) the focus stays on your personal skill rather than the aid of them. Its not something you can easily blame on input the way keyboard movement works more often. Learning the rules can take hours or days of how everything plays out and once you've learned all the nice little tricks the gameplay really does transform into an almost strategic exercise in risk assessment and management.

The nonsensical nature of the core gameplay - no story for these strange creatures which have appeared anywhere and everywhere - is married with the soundtrack that seems to cause some players some duress. Its a matter of whimsy and not everything truly has to be so serious as to need a dramatic battle score. I blame Square.

The obsessive compulsive completionist in me demands grabbing the low hanging fruit of the awards just around the corner then breaking my neck for even that highest, sweetest morsel. And yet its actually the quality of life improvements from the first Amorphous that makes this game so sweet and pleasant. Pausing, saving, an improved menu system and better options and control all save those petty annoyances that could at times ruin the first.

The rewards all serve a unique purpose and add a lot to the gameplay, without unbalancing things (with the notable exception of course of the special reward). The added graphics and effects provide a more vivid experience though the Saw Drone noise does for me with a spazzy subwoofer occasionally grate just a bit. Like everything else in this game, there is a lot more to their use than it first appears, more sides to the coin than our normal experience would suggest. Trying out new combinations and getting things to interact with different glooples is half the fun of discovery.

It isn't a perfect game though some have suggested otherwise. I think the idea of a perfect game is more a quixotic idea, one that serves great purpose to quest after but is not the true measuring bar. As long as we have our own tastes, our own skills and the reality of time barring development, we won't ever see perfection. That doesn't mean the aim for it isn't crucial to everyone and the idea of perfecting on an original concept can of course be done. And in that I do think this game is a great success. An iteration of an idea with a closer to perfect vision than it had before.


People find this review helpful!
innocuousGames responds:

With nothing to add or rebuke in this (wonderfully written) review, let me just thank ShiningIdeal for his indespensible help with the game as it was in development and thank him again for a beautiful review.


cyclotis04cyclotis04

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

Great Game, One Question

Nice idea, but maybe I'm missing something. Do you have any sort of health? Or is it an all or nothing system? IE, is there any downside to being hit by the green gooples other than being stunned?


innocuousGames responds:

Thanks!

Nope, you're either dead or you're not. The only downside of getting bumped is that you're staggered for a second, and likely TO be dead in a second. :)


JohnnyWhoaJohnnyWhoa

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

Sorry

i don't really think this deserves a first place, personally.

It's alright, but it gets pretty old pretty fast.

Still, kept me amused for a few minutes, so 7/10 3/5

Try to add things for your character to do. More atacks, different controls (ie keyboard), maybe be able to move around a map instead of a single area.


innocuousGames responds:

Hey, if you didn't like it, you didn't like it, no need to be sorry.

The controls are a bit different. WASD I like, but it doesn't allow for the type of fine movement adjustments that I personally think this kind of "thread-the-needle" game needs. Plus the whole mouse-chase thing is unusual, and you can play it with just one hand (sort of... pause and Reward-use not withstanding).

It's designed to be really simple but deep, which isn't everyone's thing (like the music, har har).

Thanks for playing it!


SockofgreatjusticeSockofgreatjustice

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

Woohoo! Finally!

I played the original Amorphous, and while it was fun, I found it lacking - mostly because there was no save function. Amorphous+ has fulfilled my expectations and more. The awards are pretty humorous in their own right, and I love the little drawings made specifically for each one. The only problem would be that the Rewards are confusing. How many awards do you need for each one? A better system would be to give Reward points for each award - higher points for harder/better awards - and let the player buy rewards with those points.


People find this review helpful!
innocuousGames responds:

Thanks! Glad you're enjoying it.

You're right in that the Reward unlocking mechanic is not expressly clear, there are a couple of Tips that address it, but since those come up randomly it wasn't probably the best way to get that information across.

Every 10 Awards you earn earns you a Reward Key to unlock any reward you want ('cept that last one, that one's special). There are 110 Awards and 11 Normal Rewards to unlock.

Each individual Award is "worth" essentially the same thing (1/10th of a Reward Key) but obviously they vary wildly in difficulty to gain. This makes it so that the more you play, the harder it gets to continue to unlock things, sort of artificially raising the difficulty of the game as you go along. It also lets you grab up a bunch of the early Awards pretty easily so that you can get a couple Rewards early on. In that vien, people who don't feel like playing forever to try and discover all the Awards still get to play with a few of the Toys, and the hardcore people still have something to go after.

Again... all that probably could have been clearer.

Anyway, great to see you're happy with the improvements in Amorphous+! Hope you enjoy playing with it and good luck!


PreatorPreator

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

Argh...

Well, thanks to this game and the laptop's touchpad I've essentially skinned my index finger, the game is so damn addicting. Too bad I suck at it. Those little blue bastards tend to sneak up on you.


People find this review helpful!
innocuousGames responds:

All I have to say is that you have my utmost respect for playing this on a touchpad. You are a trooper. Also I find it likely that you don't suck so much as.... you know... touchpad. Man I hate those things.

Thanks for the review!