Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 25, 2008 | 5:48 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 26, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place July 30, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

** Patch 2.3 - Really just bug fixes and general tuning. Nothing of specific note. (Patch 2.2 was made for Kongregate and therefor did not apply to NG).

** Patch 2.1 - Patch Notes can be found on my Userpage if you want the details of what was added and changed.

A note that the old game had that I left out here - This game is kinda hard on the framerate (my fault), especially when things are hectic onscreen. There is an FPS counter that you can turn on in the Options menu. If everything seems to be moving slow, check it. The game SHOULD be hovering around 30 frames a second. If you're dipping significantly or constantly, there are a couple things you can do: If it's mostly a problem when tons of things are happening onscreen all at once, you can turn down the Spawn Limit in the options menu. This will put a soft limit on the number of enemies on screen at once, and potentially help keep the game from bogging down to far. You can also (obviously) turn down the Quality a notch, as I've found this helps a lot. Just fiddle with things until you get the game running where you are comfortable with it.

Another note - If the sense of mystery and randomness is not your thing, and you want some guidance as to how to do and see everything (and advice on which Rewards to pick, to boot!) OmegaMario has composed a Guide for players based on his playing of the game. Keep in mind that this is full of **SPOILERS** (that's sorta the point, really) and I was not involved in it's creation - everything here he discovered and composed on his own. Bravo, I say!

Find it here: http://omegamario.newgrou nds.com/

**
A brand new version of my previous game, Amorphous+ is a fast paced, hectic melee of multicolored blobs. Veterans of the older version will recognize the following new features:
*PAUSE* - omg, press spacebar
*Progress Saving* - Now with a sense of continuity and accomplishment!
*Awards* - Gain awards to mark your achievements as you play
*Rewards* - As you earn awards, you will unlock useful tools and abilities to help you survive
along with a number of little tweaks and additions.

The music is Still all by Revolution Void - which you can disable in the Options menu - but you shouldn't, because they're awesome.

Hope you enjoy it!

ProTip: You can just click through all the intro crap at the beginning to get to the game. You're welcome.

Reviews


SyncopatedSyncopated

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

As awesome as it is addicting

I usually wait until I'm entirely done with a game to comment on it, but seeing as how youre still replying to some of the comments (a trait in an author that I'm always glad to see) I'll post my thoughts now on the off chance I get a response.

I really couldn't see how this style of game (i.e. simple enemy slashing fun) could have been executed much better. All of the Glooples are interesting in their own, unique way and they are always exciting to discover. And the achievements are really incredible. I consider myself an exceptionally achievement-driven person, so I was particularly drawn in by this feature. So many of the descriptions are very funny, and often appropriately humiliating. I might have been proud of my first three hit combo but your comments put me back in my place. Some of the achievements are downright awesome, like the absentee one which i found i had won after pausing to go to mcdonald's. The different styles of play are also a nice touch...even though they're nearly identical they are able to add enough variety to keep me going (currently I'm up to the Addiction time award if that's any indication of how entertained I am). I also really love the reward system...they're all a mystery and I really want to find out as many as I can! The last one is particularly attractive, clearly, although I've yet to unlock it. I've gotten *spoiler* sprint (#1), saw drone (#6), repulsor (#8), and teleporter (#10) at this point and I usually take the repulsor as it's good in a number of different situations (particularly when mobbed by inkies). (to anyone else reading this review, maybe post your favorite rewards you've unlocked?)

Now, although I clearly love this game there are a few points where I could see it improved. I personally find the nests a tad difficult; i took the small one out after a few shots but the big + huge have given me a lot of difficulty...i feel like maybe big should be a little more doable for the "medium" level? Just one man's opinion really, though. I also have two game play suggestions that I couldn't help keep thinking about while playing, but I apologize if they're already been mentioned by others. In order to keep up the whole theme of simplicity, would it make sense to map the power up key to the right click button? this could be a nice addition that would keep game play exclusive to one hand which could be sort of fun. also, i know that a lot of people have been crying for extra attacks and one that i feel could fit in here is a charge attack. if i could hold my mouse button down for a couple of seconds after a swing to unleash a 360 degree swing, that could add a nice element of strategy to the game. of course, the awards would probably have to be altered a little but it could be nice in any case. speaking of things that other people want...i think the idea of changing movement to wasd keys is a poor idea and i support your decision of mouse movement.

On the whole: really really nice work. I enjoyed this game a lot and hope it makes front page. I look forward to more!


People find this review helpful!
innocuousGames responds:

I feel like it's only fair that I show a little gratitude to the people who take the time to share their opinions with me about my work, and it gives me a chance to talk, which if you've played the game it should be pretty clear that I love to do. :)

I really think that (other than pause and save, of course) the thing that the old game really needed was a sense of accomplishment or progress. Since the game follows a very loose structure, I couldn't really introduce stages (I mean... I guess I could have, but it would have fundamentally changed the way the game played... to me at least, part of it's charm is it's sheer unpredictability). So, my next thought was to do an achievement system. And then, to give THOSE more purpose, I decided to add the Rewards on top of that ( some sort of set of Power Ups or Equipment was easily the third most requested addition for the old game). I really agree that it adds something vital the old game needed. And man were they fun to make.

The Award descriptions did sort of absorb some of my natural snarky-ness. Glad you think it works!

The larger nests are a bit difficult, no doubt (Huge is completely rediculous, I am not ashamed to admit) but the addition of Rewards I think makes them a bit more reasonable. A lot of people complain about the time it takes, and there's no doubt they can take a while, but that just makes victory that much sweeter. As you say, that's really just my opinion, but I do like a challenge.

Mapping the reward key to the right button is actually a damn good idea. I have to admit I'm not exactly sure how to do that in flash without it popping up a menu, but I've no doubt it can be done and it's something I should learn for future projects.

Also your charge-attack idea I think is quite good. I like it.

As far as movement goes, as I've said it's not that I don't see the value in WASD movement, but to me that's mostly just that it frees up the mouse cursor to do other things. Like aim, in games where that applies. I'm sure for people who aren't used to the mouse movement control, it can seem a bit strange for a while (or if, say, you're forced to play on a freaking TOUCHPAD... bleh). But in the longrun I'd never change it for this game. I agree with you agreeing with me. :P

Anyway, Thanks for your review (I love the long ones) and I hope you waste many hours enjoying my strange little blob killing game!


ipcryssipcryss

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

you had me at progress saving

I really enjoyed the original, just trying to complete the enemy list wast fun, but adding achivments and awards makes this game even better. I would pay to play this game.


People find this review helpful!
innocuousGames responds:

It's hard for me to say whether there was more outcry for Pause or Save in the old version... it was a close running. But yeah... it was something the game sorely needed.

What a great compliment. Thank you so much.


GehtGeht

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

Great additions

I've played the original a long while back, and it came as a pleasant surprise to see that you've added quite a bit of neat incentives, like the awards, saving, and the most important one: the pause button. Heheh.

Again, the descriptions you took the time to type up and stick in really fleshed it out. You have a better control of vocabulary than a lot of other petty authors on Newgrounds, and even though there's no plot or clear cut motivation for our little hero with the big sword, there's still a large amount of humor and fun to be obtained from this gem. It's hilarious how the screen starts to get covered and bogged down by the swarming and bouncing "multicolored blobs," and the insanity keeps ramping up when oil slicks slash the screen, acid and splatter runs across the battlefield, and fuzzy animals and spikes charge at you from all directions. I find the gameplay to be of a real refreshing style, far different than many of the other flash games out there, and in its simplicity, still one of the best of them all.

There's an amazing wealth of ideas roaming about in this game, and I have to wonder whether you just had a flash of inspiration and decided to make a flash game with myriad kinds of blobs. Somehow, the synthesis of all of the enemies and the simplicity of the combat transforms what could have been another boring, unoriginal clickfest into a carefully made strategic action game emboldened by its uniqueness and richened by the flavor text that you painstakingly typed in. There's a huge amount of factors to consider as one plays this, ranging from a simple "slash or run" when a cowardly purple blob stares down, to an incredibly panicked, adrenaline-pumped "which way do I fucking run" when spikes, animals, and acid approach like predators to the blob hunter.

Through all of this, the intertwined awards and rewards serve as beautiful and cleverly named achievements and incentive. Slashing a huge conglomerate of killer goo and seeing the satisfying award fade in from the bottom of the screen adds another layer to the already fascinating and addicting game. I think you've done a most awesome job at putting this together again with the little flairs and flourishes, and this game seriously is a contender for one of the best time-killers on Newgrounds.

I don't know if I could possibly add more ideas for improvements, since admittedly, I haven't even uncovered all the blobs yet. Maybe give the guy some new attacks, or make another style of play that has a health system to appeal to players that don't have the time to plumb the depths of the strategies in the game? >.>

You have to make another one of this, and you must use your ridiculous creativity and conceptual ideas to shape another excellent, exemplary game. This is amazingly good--I want to play more from you.


People find this review helpful!
innocuousGames responds:

First, I'm always pleased to hear the opinions of people who've played the old version (and extra nice to see people playing this version who were supporters of the game even in it's original, bare-bones form).

To be perfectly honest, this game grew out of nothing. The first pieces of this game were my first images and bits of code to ever create in flash, and I just sort of continued building on it and adding to it until it eventually became this. So I guess in a sense it was sort of an accident.

It's so satisfying to hear people enjoying playing with it as much as I enjoyed putting it together. I do have several other flash projects planned, but as I've mentioned I do it as a passtime and I'm a bit ADD when it comes to my projects... so I'm not promising anything, but hopefully you'll see some new (and completely different) things from me in the future.

Thank you for a great review and I'm glad you're enjoying it!


kenzie07kenzie07

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

......

I never add games too my favourites.

This made an exeption...


innocuousGames responds:

You flatter me.

I'm thrilled you're enjoying it, and I hope you continue to. Thanks for the comment!


ShiningIdealShiningIdeal

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

Insidious rather than Innocuous

Its easy to think, that as one of the playtesters of this and other builds by the time it went live I'd have little incentive to really start to play all over again. But thats the real danger of this game, it manages to work under your skin so that when you think you are settling down for a nest you find yourself looking at the clock an hour later.

First and foremost, the most damning factor to time is that it seems with almost every death there is something you clearly could have done better. Something to drive you to press retry instead of closing the window in some mute frustration. And oh that frustration does come after you've run nine minutes of a bounty run and a triangle of fuzzles feel the need for a taste of Nameless Protagonist A. With every stroke of the Splatmaster you can see a better one just to the left or right. Assured you could surely do better, just a bit better. Maybe finish, maybe get another award you find your morning gone.

With a full bestiary now (and for those of you who have seen the most dangerous of monsters, those unfortunate or lucky few...) every battle works itself out in its own way. The elegant simplicity of the control scheme makes it seem so light until the odds are so firmly stuck against you. Even with the addition of a few rewards (The Teleporter being my favorite with the Hazard Suit rating a strong second for those of you looking for a little advice) the focus stays on your personal skill rather than the aid of them. Its not something you can easily blame on input the way keyboard movement works more often. Learning the rules can take hours or days of how everything plays out and once you've learned all the nice little tricks the gameplay really does transform into an almost strategic exercise in risk assessment and management.

The nonsensical nature of the core gameplay - no story for these strange creatures which have appeared anywhere and everywhere - is married with the soundtrack that seems to cause some players some duress. Its a matter of whimsy and not everything truly has to be so serious as to need a dramatic battle score. I blame Square.

The obsessive compulsive completionist in me demands grabbing the low hanging fruit of the awards just around the corner then breaking my neck for even that highest, sweetest morsel. And yet its actually the quality of life improvements from the first Amorphous that makes this game so sweet and pleasant. Pausing, saving, an improved menu system and better options and control all save those petty annoyances that could at times ruin the first.

The rewards all serve a unique purpose and add a lot to the gameplay, without unbalancing things (with the notable exception of course of the special reward). The added graphics and effects provide a more vivid experience though the Saw Drone noise does for me with a spazzy subwoofer occasionally grate just a bit. Like everything else in this game, there is a lot more to their use than it first appears, more sides to the coin than our normal experience would suggest. Trying out new combinations and getting things to interact with different glooples is half the fun of discovery.

It isn't a perfect game though some have suggested otherwise. I think the idea of a perfect game is more a quixotic idea, one that serves great purpose to quest after but is not the true measuring bar. As long as we have our own tastes, our own skills and the reality of time barring development, we won't ever see perfection. That doesn't mean the aim for it isn't crucial to everyone and the idea of perfecting on an original concept can of course be done. And in that I do think this game is a great success. An iteration of an idea with a closer to perfect vision than it had before.


People find this review helpful!
innocuousGames responds:

With nothing to add or rebuke in this (wonderfully written) review, let me just thank ShiningIdeal for his indespensible help with the game as it was in development and thank him again for a beautiful review.