Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 25, 2008 | 5:48 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 26, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place July 30, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

** Patch 2.3 - Really just bug fixes and general tuning. Nothing of specific note. (Patch 2.2 was made for Kongregate and therefor did not apply to NG).

** Patch 2.1 - Patch Notes can be found on my Userpage if you want the details of what was added and changed.

A note that the old game had that I left out here - This game is kinda hard on the framerate (my fault), especially when things are hectic onscreen. There is an FPS counter that you can turn on in the Options menu. If everything seems to be moving slow, check it. The game SHOULD be hovering around 30 frames a second. If you're dipping significantly or constantly, there are a couple things you can do: If it's mostly a problem when tons of things are happening onscreen all at once, you can turn down the Spawn Limit in the options menu. This will put a soft limit on the number of enemies on screen at once, and potentially help keep the game from bogging down to far. You can also (obviously) turn down the Quality a notch, as I've found this helps a lot. Just fiddle with things until you get the game running where you are comfortable with it.

Another note - If the sense of mystery and randomness is not your thing, and you want some guidance as to how to do and see everything (and advice on which Rewards to pick, to boot!) OmegaMario has composed a Guide for players based on his playing of the game. Keep in mind that this is full of **SPOILERS** (that's sorta the point, really) and I was not involved in it's creation - everything here he discovered and composed on his own. Bravo, I say!

Find it here: http://omegamario.newgrou nds.com/

**
A brand new version of my previous game, Amorphous+ is a fast paced, hectic melee of multicolored blobs. Veterans of the older version will recognize the following new features:
*PAUSE* - omg, press spacebar
*Progress Saving* - Now with a sense of continuity and accomplishment!
*Awards* - Gain awards to mark your achievements as you play
*Rewards* - As you earn awards, you will unlock useful tools and abilities to help you survive
along with a number of little tweaks and additions.

The music is Still all by Revolution Void - which you can disable in the Options menu - but you shouldn't, because they're awesome.

Hope you enjoy it!

ProTip: You can just click through all the intro crap at the beginning to get to the game. You're welcome.

Reviews


Blackskull2008Blackskull2008

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

interesting game.

There's a lot of cool stuff but i get tired of slashing with a one move sword. I think a you need liitle more content on the rpg side those needs to be added like stats. also can someone tell me how to get the rest of monsters.


People find this review helpful!

corroder2500corroder2500

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

Awesome

I love this game. I got killed with 2 left in the hue nest...


People find this review helpful!
innocuousGames responds:

Wow.... that sucks. Hope you had one of those little squeaky-squeezy stress-dolls to take your frustration out on. Or a small pet.

Glad you're enjoying it and thanks for the review!


bodyslambodyslam

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

Good game

One of the best gameplay rewards on newgrounds in my opinion. Because its just not easy and it seems you yourself wanted to make it hard because does enjoy challenging games.

Having said that you have actually made the queen way too hard, you should realize that it takes 30 minutes + to get to her its just not fare on players to leave there with little satisfaction. After 2 times of hunting her i decided to try her out on practice and dam i failed to kill her like 50 tries+

The only way to kill her is blasting her with armor.

Still overall 5/5


People find this review helpful!
innocuousGames responds:

I do enjoy challenging games. Although, I will admit that this game's difficulty can be slightly on the brutal side sometimes. A lot of this has to do with what gets thrown at you is different every time, and it's entirely possible that you could just be boxed in and terribly unlucky.

Another thing to note is that this game is made in the Arcade style - that is, something to pick up, play with for a while, and then you can go do something else for a while. It's not meant to be a huge, epic game or any kind of linear story, so the challenge of the actual gameplay is pretty much all there is. If I had a story to tell, I wouldn't mind dialing back the difficulty a bit so that players could enjoy the plot without worrying too much about being killed every three steps.

Anyway, that rant out of the way, the Queen, like all of the high-end enemies, is decidedly very hard to beat. It can certainly be done (many have), but after all, she is supposed to be the big bad boss.

Thanks for the review!


iowaspikeheadiowaspikehead

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

Wow

You make a good game which is entertaining for more than 5 minutes and original and it isn't even front paged. Wow. All of the shit on the front page is pretty much blam-worthy. Whoever is in charge of that is a dumbass. THIS GAME PWNZ. Only change i can suggest is faster rewards because those keys come slow.


People find this review helpful!
innocuousGames responds:

I got Frontpaged after all!

Thanks for your support and for your review!


toph-blind-lovetoph-blind-love

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 26, 2008

Well done, can't wait for the next one

This game is excellent and entertaining, but also simple as far as gameplay. The controls are very simple, but not in a way that it gets boring. I'm not a great gamer, I'm actually probably below average, but I don't mind losing. I guess it might be nice to have some way to turn up or down the difficulty, among other options.

It starts off pretty slow, you have these harmless green things moving around so you can get the hang of it, and that's good. But I think that beginning phase lasts a little too long. The first time you play, it would be beneficial to have that period of simplicity, but once you've learned how to do it, things should get fast pretty soon.

The awards are fantastic. They give you something to wonder about and to work towards. The same with the rewards and the bestiary. They provide clear incentive and curiosity, and keep you glued to the screen. This also applies to your deaths, each time you want to avoid what killed you that time.

A great strength of the game is the description for everything. It's well written with excellent grammer, and, this one is particularly pleasing, full words instad of "the green 1's will kill u, so look out 4 them." Everything is not only described well, but it is explained well, too. This seems like a fully functional little ecosystem of amorphous blobs. The only problem with the descriptions is how verbose they are. They're very long and wordy, which, while I don't mind reading, can be a problem. Even if you kept the long descriptions, some illustrations would help. For example, next to a section of text, the grey is shown it its spiky form, with a description of the spikes, what they're made of, etc. Then below it, the same with a photo of our hero being absorbed, impaled, and deflected by the other phases.

I'd like to see a few changes, though. The graphics are good, very well animated, but they could be improved. The hover feature in the awards gallery is very slow, the name and description should pop up faster. When you die, you have to start over, which is pretty frustrating. It would be helpful to have a menu upon your death that allows you to go back to the main menu, restart , or a third option that takes you back ten or fifteen seconds before your death. This is the biggest change I'd like to see in the next one, if there is another. The music could use a change, too. It's great music, no question there, but it doesn't seem to go with the game.

That's all I can think of.
8/10 4/5 because it's fun and addicting, but there is a little room for improvement.


People find this review helpful!
innocuousGames responds:

Thanks for the review (LATE... late late late... sorry).

The descriptions, being completely superfluous (with the exception of a few minor hints regarding what the glooples can do and how to beat them), were really just added on a whim in the beginning. They're just there so that people who enjoy that sort of thing can read them, and people that don't can ignore them.

As far as changes, I recently added Hardcore Mode if you want a more "dump you into the middle of it" scenario. I'm glad you liked the music, even if you didn't really think it fit.

In my opinion, there's ALWAYS room for improvement. That said, most likely I won't be doing anything major to this game and just moving on to other projects (time to do something a bit different, I think).

Thanks again for a great, well written review (these are getting kind of scarce these days.... makes me sad)!