Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 14, 2008 | 4:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice July 16, 2008
  • Daily Feature July 15, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Big News: Pandemic 2.5 is in development for iPhones everywhere! Find out more on my site!

Finally after months of development and balancing and testing, Pandemic II is here! I've tried my very best to ensure the game has surpassed the original in every possible way. Now its up to you to evolve your disease, infect mankind and kill them all!

**TO CLOSE WINDOWS, CLICK THE "X" IN THE TOP RIGHT**
**updated to version 1.16: bug fixes and tweaks based on user reviews**

Online guide and tutorial videos are available from with in the game, and it is HIGHLY recommended you watch the video tutorials.

edit: Thanks to the staff of NEWGROUNDS for the front page!!

Special thanks to the great guys at Crazy Monkey Games for sponsorship. And special thanks to Globex Designs for the music. Developed by Dark Realm Studios.

Reviews


onpon4onpon4

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars November 15, 2010

Needs more work

It's a nice concept, and the music is great, but there are some serious flaws:

First, it's plain unrealistic. People don't react in real life in the way they do in this game. If they did, then every time a new disease was discovered, almost every country in the world would be facing a water crisis or a food crisis. In fact, the extreme measures taken in this game have never happened in the real world, as far as I know. But even if we did react to a disease like that, there's another flaw in this game: there is simply NO WAY that a government can completely shut off migration, no matter how hard they try. Even if they build a huge perimeter of giant, unscalable walls all around the country, people would still be able to fly in with helicopters.

More importantly, though, this game is based far too much on chance. Every single time I've played this game thus far, the same scenario has happened: I manage to spread to almost every country, but I miss about 3 of them because they decided to shut off every method of migration into them. For Madagascar, this only includes shipyards (a huge flaw that has been mentioned countless times in reviews here). I understand that some chance is necessary due to the nature of the game, but this game relies far too much on it. The worst part is that in an instant, a single random decision can immediately eliminate your chances of winning.

It is VERY important that a random decision NEVER EVER makes it impossible to win! This is key to any good game; if I could randomly be killed for no reason in Super Mario Bros, the game would be terrible. Randomness should only be used to create _variety_ in the game, not "challenge", because any "challenge" you introduce via random numbers is nothing more than fake difficulty.

I highly urge you to improve on this game and post a Pandemic III, because it is a highly innovative concept, but this game just doesn't cut it. Here are some suggestions:
- Only make a country shut its borders, close airports, etc if there is actual danger in the disease. If all it does is cause people to cough and sneeze, it should go by unnoticed, dismissed as the common cold. If, however, more symptoms suddenly occur, or if people die, then people should start to get concerned.
- Make it possible for borders, airports, etc to be opened up again. For example, if I suddenly take away all symptoms in my disease, making it simply a hidden infection that does nothing, people should resume normal activity (with the downside being, hospitals also open back up).
- Even with airplanes and ship ports shut down, some airplanes/ships need to be sent to places, particularly to get food and water. These visits, being carefully planned and executed, should be highly unlikely to infect the uninfected country, but possible.
- Allow the player to do more. For example, maybe you can "direct" your disease to focus on migrating to a specific region.

Do something like that, and the game would be very great.


People find this review helpful!

AltyBagUAltyBagU

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars July 17, 2008

Good game

Game is fun but the one problem is the visibility, I had it at nonthing and they close down everything and thats so annoying that I get (spoted) and every country closes down to me.... to me that ruined a good game but ill give you a 3 for trying.. Please try to fix it.



btrlgwbtrlgw

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars July 15, 2008

Madagascar

Madagascar is uninfected real draw back to a game that depends on infection, i mean seriously why does the in game world hate Madagascar so much that it refuses to trade with them.


People find this review helpful!

akira20makira20m

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars July 17, 2008

OMFG, WTF?!

Ok, at first when I saw it happen, I thought, hey ok let's try it again. Five times later, still the same friggin problem. If the disease is highly infectious but has absolutely no visibility, how in blazes does the governments know you are frigging sick? I even had it with no mediums spreading the disease (ie, didn't use rodents, insects, waterborne, & airborne) and after a certain amount of people were infected with NO visibility rating whatsoever, every government in the world shut down. And the fact that it's airborne and insects carry the disease should have little or no effect on the borders, airports, and shipyards closing. Especially if you maxed out all the resistances.

While this game has many new additions and improvements from the first one, I think it truly fails in comparision. Realistic is quite an overstatement. In reality if people had a disease that showed no signs and nothing detrimental to their health, they're not going to go to the doctors or think they're sick. I mean it's understandable if they start getting boils, cysts, and the like, the traits that concur with an infectious deadly disease, but having absolutely NO traits and still having countries shut down is rather stupid and inane.

I have to agree with mid1200 on a few things.

1. Visibility doesn't matter in the game.

2. It seems after you reach a certain % of the populous being infected, the government starts shutting everything down. Also as soon as one country shuts down, all countries shut down within a few days.

3. Madagasgar is just a joke. Boats rarely go there and most of the times played nothing every reached it.

4. I found no huge differences in choosing between the three classes. The only noticeable difference was the evolution points generation. That's it.

5. I was amused at the little ship symbol going in endless circles because no ports were open. That gave me about 10 seconds of entertainment.

6. This goes along with number 1. If your disease is not visible, how in blazes does it become famous?

Just overall I wasn't too thrilled with this "new and improved" version of Pandemic. Giving you 1/10 would be completely dickish of me because then i wouldn't be considering the improvements to the interface and other things you've added to the game. So with that I give this game a 3/10.

p.s. Next time I'd consider a bit more public testing or something if it was done because I almost got the feeling it was just done internally.


People find this review helpful!

tiamatslayertiamatslayer

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars July 15, 2008

Worse than grinding

Essentially get 1 resistance in everything so you can go everywhere, parasites for lowest visibility, then walk away and check back in 10 minutes to see all regions either 10% infected or just starting.

After that, spam drug resistance and wait until you have enough point to get some of the attributes which kill. Then wait some more until the tickers go down to 0.

The only funny part was when the amount of time before a vaccine was created went from 200-ish to infinity.