Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 14, 2008 | 4:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice July 16, 2008
  • Daily Feature July 15, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Big News: Pandemic 2.5 is in development for iPhones everywhere! Find out more on my site!

Finally after months of development and balancing and testing, Pandemic II is here! I've tried my very best to ensure the game has surpassed the original in every possible way. Now its up to you to evolve your disease, infect mankind and kill them all!

**TO CLOSE WINDOWS, CLICK THE "X" IN THE TOP RIGHT**
**updated to version 1.16: bug fixes and tweaks based on user reviews**

Online guide and tutorial videos are available from with in the game, and it is HIGHLY recommended you watch the video tutorials.

edit: Thanks to the staff of NEWGROUNDS for the front page!!

Special thanks to the great guys at Crazy Monkey Games for sponsorship. And special thanks to Globex Designs for the music. Developed by Dark Realm Studios.

Reviews


razourikrazourik

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars July 19, 2008

WTF!?

When I started up the game, when it got to the part where it advises you to read the tutorial, THERE WAS NO WAY TO CLOSE THAT SCREEN!!! I tried clicking the the top right X, but it wasn't there! I gave it a 3 though cause I thought it would be a good game



EkemetEkemet

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars April 30, 2009

Meh

Let me get the Madagascar issue out of the way first. I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but I've never gotten it and I've tried at least 20 times now. I choose parasites, no symptoms, 0 visibility and I started in India which has a port and is right next to Madagascar. The only way I could possibly do better is if I just started there. Anyway, I eventually got irritated and quit.

The impossibly of Madagascar aside, the game is pretty boring. Most of the game is just waiting, which isn't fun unless maybe your watching TV while you play, like me. The rest of the time you are upgrading your disease, which is just selecting things from a menu. The worst part is after your disease explodes and all the countries closes their borders/airports/seaports. The only thing really left to do is add symptoms and the evolution points have slowed to a crawl by this point.

Maybe I'm just butthurt because I couldn't get Madagascar, but I didn't have much fun. There was just to much time I spent doing nothing.


People find this review helpful!

InsaneSmilieInsaneSmilie

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars September 12, 2008

Did this game really need a sequel?

I remember wasting a good hour trying to beat Pandemic 1 back when it came out, and as a concept game it was actually kinda interesting. The biggest problem with Pandemic 2 is that while it certainly adds a few new trait and elements, it's still pretty much the same. The idea of creating a disease to wipe out all human kind is certainly the grounds to build a fun and interesting game on. Unfortunately this idea is let down in both games by completely dissociating the player with the genocide process. In both 1 and 2 the entire duration of the game is spent looking at a map watching different regions of the world change color. Never do you actually get to see the destruction your virus causes, or even a picture of what you unique disease looks like. It's like all the action is happening behind a closed door.

It's not just not the interface of lack graphics that make this game bad either, the game play is flawed as well, in fact it's pretty much nonexistent. The only control your actually given over the outcome of the game is how your disease evolves, and even that doesn't seem to have much effect compared to the huge dependency on luck. The real outcome of the game depends on rather or not your disease infects the more remote regions before boarders, airports, and shipyards are closed, I found this depends far more on luck than what traits you choose and it can get really frustrating in that way. After playing it for a certain amount of time the game just stops being fun and feels more like work. I didn't even waste my time trying to beat it this time around because I'm guess all get at the end is a "You wiped out Humanity!" text box like in the first one.

Pandemic in general is an example of great idea for a game that's been poorly executed, it gets boring really fast and even if you do menage to beat it there's really not much satisfaction in accomplishing a total genocide because at that point your probably aware that the game is mostly luck. After reading other reviews it would seem I'm going against the popular opinion here, which makes me wounder if people are really this easily amused.

I may not speak for everyone here but to me, a game that feels like work is not fun. A game where you loose over and over, not because you did something wrong, but because you got unlucky does not qualify as challenging. And a game in which your entire contribution is to click a few buttons is hardly a game at all.


Lots of people find this review helpful!

CowboyBHSCowboyBHS

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars January 18, 2009

Oaky...

The game is too unrealistic. I had ABSOLUTELY no symptoms, yet the governments of the world were shutting down the borders. If the people don't know they have it, how the hell are they suppost to know to shut down the borders? Also, if your symptoms are EXACTLY like the common cold; which, by the way, is one of the most prevelant diseases on the planet; why does the average person panic when they get it? This game is too unrealistic to get more than a 3.



VynergyVynergy

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars July 16, 2008

I like the series but this one is just too hard..

I tried many different methods and LOST THEM ALL.. I like the audio / newer features but still... too difficult. Also, It seems to rely on luck too much for my tastes.


People find this review helpful!