Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 14, 2008 | 4:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice July 16, 2008
  • Daily Feature July 15, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Big News: Pandemic 2.5 is in development for iPhones everywhere! Find out more on my site!

Finally after months of development and balancing and testing, Pandemic II is here! I've tried my very best to ensure the game has surpassed the original in every possible way. Now its up to you to evolve your disease, infect mankind and kill them all!

**TO CLOSE WINDOWS, CLICK THE "X" IN THE TOP RIGHT**
**updated to version 1.16: bug fixes and tweaks based on user reviews**

Online guide and tutorial videos are available from with in the game, and it is HIGHLY recommended you watch the video tutorials.

edit: Thanks to the staff of NEWGROUNDS for the front page!!

Special thanks to the great guys at Crazy Monkey Games for sponsorship. And special thanks to Globex Designs for the music. Developed by Dark Realm Studios.

Reviews


inferno719inferno719

Rated 2 / 5 stars July 20, 2008

Yeah.

It was fun for a bit until you realize that it's impossible to win. the americas, africa, europe, and asia are all fucked, but the island nations will NOT die. once they seal off air and water, they're impenitrable. Sorry, but that makes for a shitty game.



DracmusDracmus

Rated 2 / 5 stars July 15, 2008

Realistic Mode? Seriously?

The first Pandemic was so good, and EoM and this one are just kinda bleh.

The thought of closing borders successfully preventing the disease from spreading through rodents, insects, and AIR is not realistic. The thought of cranking up my virus to induce vomiting, boils, sores, cysts, and lung fluid, and not causing a single death in over two months' game time is not realistic, particularly given the hygenic quality of poor regions in many developing countries. The thought of governments taking action like closing borders and airports, and imposing massive government bottled water and gas mask programs to combat a disease that does no more than cause sneezing is not realistic at ALL.

But what told me most loudly that this game wasn't going to be as fun as the first one was that over 2/3 of the world burned bodies to prevent infection -- when no matter what I did I could not cause a single death.

Come on man, the first Pandemic was awesome. The fun is in the morbid pleasure of wiping out humanity. Granted it shouldn't be as easy as clicking a button, but it's not strategy to watch half the world lock itself down due to non-lethal sneezing.


People find this review helpful!

Yoshimitsu31Yoshimitsu31

Rated 2 / 5 stars November 22, 2009

This game needs lots of improvement.

Madagascar has 29 paved airports.

How do you accumulate evolution points? Is it just random?
I just don't think stopping a pandemic as simple as saying "We're going to shut down the airports, seaports and borders"
Parasite should be the most visible, and virus the least.
The environmental resistance thing is pointless, real diseases aren't affected by the environment that easily.
Having to unlock the tiers is annoying.. Why not just add cost to each symptom.
Also the symptoms should be put into two categories, effects and reactions. Diseases don't "cause" you to have a fever, your body reacts to them by generating a fever. An effect of a disease would be something like fatigue or kidney failure.
Airborne should not be selectable unless coughing/sneezing is selected. When diseases are airborne it just means that tiny water droplets containing the disease are coughed/sneezed up, turning to an aerosol type state, infecting things like your hands or stuff you sneeze on.
I think there should be more carrier options like birds, dogs, cats, monkeys, etc...
It would be cool to have cannibalism as a trait also. So you can add shit together like Fever, Nausea, Vomiting, Dementia and then Cannibalism to make a zombie disease. lol

Anyway
I think this game is supposed to be in-depth but it really is not.



QzzrblQzzrbl

Rated 2 / 5 stars September 11, 2009

Neh.

The game seems to be more about infecting Madagascar than anything else, really.

It's not so bad up until you realize that.



H-HedningH-Hedning

Rated 2 / 5 stars May 12, 2009

Too slow and random

Maybe there is some strategy that I missed, but I have never managed to infect the whole world. That some countries leave their airports and everything open even after half the world population is infected while other countries close their port as soon as the virus spreads to a second region is very unrealistic. Another thing is that closing borders works too well, it stops spreading 100%. And once the disease starts spreading there is no stopping it or slowing it down. Hospitals and environment seem to have no effect at all, neither does the counter measures taken by the governments.

I would wish more things could slow the spread, and less things working 100% to stop it.


People find this review helpful!