Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 14, 2008 | 4:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice July 16, 2008
  • Daily Feature July 15, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Big News: Pandemic 2.5 is in development for iPhones everywhere! Find out more on my site!

Finally after months of development and balancing and testing, Pandemic II is here! I've tried my very best to ensure the game has surpassed the original in every possible way. Now its up to you to evolve your disease, infect mankind and kill them all!

**TO CLOSE WINDOWS, CLICK THE "X" IN THE TOP RIGHT**
**updated to version 1.16: bug fixes and tweaks based on user reviews**

Online guide and tutorial videos are available from with in the game, and it is HIGHLY recommended you watch the video tutorials.

edit: Thanks to the staff of NEWGROUNDS for the front page!!

Special thanks to the great guys at Crazy Monkey Games for sponsorship. And special thanks to Globex Designs for the music. Developed by Dark Realm Studios.

Reviews


Ember77Ember77

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars September 5, 2009

I have a sore throat SHUT DOWN THE BOARDERS!!!!!!!

Fun game but they shut down the boarders on me just because they were coughing.



tjardotjardo

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars August 11, 2008

boring

I like the originality, but this still is sorta boring. If i get this right, you can only buy symptoms and resistances and stuff and then.... just wait.
Also, i thought the whole time that you were supposed too get rid of the diseases. MAKE THIS CLEAR!!!!
5/10 for the concept and originality.



MichaHellMichaHell

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2008

good game...

but each time i play Madagascar, Cuba Japan and Indonesia all close their shipyards ans airport and i havent been killing anyone yet :( and i tried many differents ways to get them infected and nothing worked :(


People find this review helpful!

makrosmakros

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars June 5, 2012

I hated it when indonesia was the whole part of southeast asia .



tongresmantongresman

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 17, 2008

great concept, but here's a few things...

...that possibly need fixing. i tried some approaches using only virus type, 1st i tried buying all symptoms i can afford but no transmission or resistance upgrades, here' what happened.

1: with absolutely no drug resistance my virus was able to survive the first attempt at a vaccine

2: with the 1st vaccine failed the world tries again, but the 2nd vaccine doesn't seem to get deployed at all

3: cold/heat/moisture resistance doesn't seem to have any bearing, with no heat and moisture resistance i was able to infect tropical countries like indonesia and india

4: before buying kidney failure, my lethality trait was well over 30% but nobody was dying. with over 6 million infected, someone should have kicked the bucket. not until i bought kidney failure did bodies start to pile up.

on my next approach i only opened up the symptom tiers but did not buy anything else. i also sold any symptoms i got for free. i noticed that when i open up tier 3 infections sky rocketed. and then the governments would start closing up. they would also start burning bodies with no dead people.

on my 3rd try i only bought resistance and transmission upgrades. sure enough infections spread very quickly. however, even with no symptoms (i sold the free symptom i got) governments would close up. it's rather illogical because nobody is manifesting so much as a mild headache. how can governments or even the infected notice the disease? i retried this approach but not buying drug resistance. i only bought it when the vaccine was being developed, it did slow down development. and at higher resistances almost to the point of immunity as it would take 1000+ days for a vaccine to be completed and my level of infection was shutting down hospitals left and right.

with my next attempt i just set the speed dial to max and waited. my virus innately had cold 1, coughing and expected as a bonus trait. after 30 minutes of just letting it roll, nothing happened. i observed the country's status and saw that the number of infected varies wildly. sometimes it would rise as high as 200-300 quickly and then drop to 30 and stay there for a good 2 minutes with only minor variations.

i think the 3 gauges; lethality, infectivity and visibility should be reworked. i suggest that symptoms be correlated to the transmission type. i.e. coughing is much more infective with airborne with the same visibility, diarrhea is better with waterborne or rodents and fever with insects. also, maybe more info on the country, maybe add the kind of environment they have, like cold and moist, very cold and dry, hot and very moist. and maybe a more in-depth explanation of the upgrades like "airborne: your disease survives longer in the air. masks reduces or completely disables this type of transmission"


Lots of people find this review helpful!