Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 14, 2008 | 4:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice July 16, 2008
  • Daily Feature July 15, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Big News: Pandemic 2.5 is in development for iPhones everywhere! Find out more on my site!

Finally after months of development and balancing and testing, Pandemic II is here! I've tried my very best to ensure the game has surpassed the original in every possible way. Now its up to you to evolve your disease, infect mankind and kill them all!

**TO CLOSE WINDOWS, CLICK THE "X" IN THE TOP RIGHT**
**updated to version 1.16: bug fixes and tweaks based on user reviews**

Online guide and tutorial videos are available from with in the game, and it is HIGHLY recommended you watch the video tutorials.

edit: Thanks to the staff of NEWGROUNDS for the front page!!

Special thanks to the great guys at Crazy Monkey Games for sponsorship. And special thanks to Globex Designs for the music. Developed by Dark Realm Studios.

Reviews


dudemanbro33dudemanbro33

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 14, 2011

Original is better somehow

what is the purpose of selling a symptom?
Original is better somehow.



MacGugesMacGuges

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars September 28, 2009

morbidly fun but unsatisfying as a simulation

This game is a naughty pleasure but knowledge of epidemology leads to frustration & disappointment. It's best to approach this as an abstract puzzle. To illustrate, a viral epidemic which caused sneezing (and no other symptoms) in the United States led to school closings and martial law. Half of the country was infected, but nobody had died - so how does the government response make sense?

But the adaption model frustrated me more. Granted, to be a game the player assumes agency for an evolutionary process that has no intelligence, but the mechanics change evolution beyond all recognition. In the real world, species including pandemics do demonstrate changes in their genome which can improve or hinder the descendents' rate of success, but these changes would not be immediately reflected in all members of the species across the world, particularly not instantaneously as the play of this game implies. What's more, when doctors create a vaccine, antibiotic or other cure for a disease, they cannot usually treat all variations of that disease with that vaccine. In the context of this game, rather guiding a single disease it would be more realistic to invent a succession of potential pandemics, a meandering family of diseases that would be present to varying degrees. Hospitals would be fighting to create multiple cures to defeat your different strains. That would be a different game, of course, but would model to a greater degree how evolution applies to epidemics.

I have a few other complaints. The game is cluttered with details that provide no meaning that I can perceive- the planes and ship symbols which move back and forth - and the news events ultimately scroll by too quickly to appreciate their information. A more effective display would omit the noise & allow the player to read the changing game state without as much work.

Finally, it bugs me that the game uses the word "sell" for the act of removing traits, when taking the action costs points. It creates cognitive dissonance. I'm spending while the game is telling me I should be gaining.


People find this review helpful!

DarkWarrierDarkWarrier

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2008

Could be better

Its a good idea and the gameplay is alright, but it just gets too long and boring. Plus, you have to wait forever for your disease to spread unless you start out somewhere small, and once it does spread, its almost impossible to infest places like managascar (sorry for the poor spelling) so you have to start all over again. And it also doesnt really make sense that if you dont have any symptoms for your disease, why should it become such a problem that the world shuts down tons of their airports and shipyards? I can't wait for next version, hopefully it will be better.


People find this review helpful!

UlluhtacUlluhtac

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 21, 2008

pretty good concept but one major problem..

I turn off every single symptom that exists.. its completely invisable and harmless.. therefore it should just spread like crazy without being noticed especially when i make it waterborn and airborn and give it to rodents and insects and increase its resistance to everything to the max now tell me how the hell everything starts shutting everything down as soon as half the world gets it? and if madagascar shuts down their shipyard (which they seem to do with a drop of a hat) then you loose.. end of game.. common man its a good game but thats completely unrealistic.

"hrm.. the whole world is getting infected with this completely harmless virus that noone can detect and i shouldnt even know it exists and if people get infected with it.. nothing happens.. OMG WHERE ALL GONNA DIE SHUT DOWN THE ONLY MEANS OF TRANPORTATION THAT EXISTST ON THE WHOLE DAMN ISLAND!!"

-_-;


People find this review helpful!

JerethKhanJerethKhan

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars November 13, 2011

Madagasgar

My only issue with this game is the sheer difficulty of hitting Madagascar. It seems nearly impossible to genocide the planet unless you start there. That's enough to ruin the game every time I play.


People find this review helpful!