Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 14, 2008 | 4:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice July 16, 2008
  • Daily Feature July 15, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Big News: Pandemic 2.5 is in development for iPhones everywhere! Find out more on my site!

Finally after months of development and balancing and testing, Pandemic II is here! I've tried my very best to ensure the game has surpassed the original in every possible way. Now its up to you to evolve your disease, infect mankind and kill them all!

**TO CLOSE WINDOWS, CLICK THE "X" IN THE TOP RIGHT**
**updated to version 1.16: bug fixes and tweaks based on user reviews**

Online guide and tutorial videos are available from with in the game, and it is HIGHLY recommended you watch the video tutorials.

edit: Thanks to the staff of NEWGROUNDS for the front page!!

Special thanks to the great guys at Crazy Monkey Games for sponsorship. And special thanks to Globex Designs for the music. Developed by Dark Realm Studios.

Reviews


johnkilojohnkilo

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 21, 2008

Clever idea but many flaws.

I think this game could have benefited from some play testing before release. You can build a completely stealth disease and the governments will quickly begin to close their borders. Mutation points come quickly early off and then towards the end you hardly get any, when you need them the most. While a slow mutation may be slightly more realistic, it destroys any "fun" factor. There should be even more options for spreading the disease. "Sexually transmitted" and other obvious options aren't even included. It's not like this is a kids game.

Once all of the non-infected countries are closed up, the game becomes a boring wait until all of the infected population dies off. I think even after the borders are closed, there should still be a way for the disease to spread. Surely people would still try to sneak out of infected countries. If this is the way the game is going to be, then atleast have an even faster speed or the option to skip to the end. Honestly, leaving the room to wait for this to happen isn't my idea of a fun game.

Not to mention that your leader board is hacked, so you can't even aspire to get onto that. Great idea for a game (if not a little morbid) but it could use a lot of work. I hope to see a vastly improved third game.


People find this review helpful!

mooman72v2mooman72v2

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars August 22, 2010

Whaaat?

This is a great game, but HOW can a disease with NO SYMPTOMS and ZERO VISIBILITY still be detected? How does that work?


People find this review helpful!

PHYSICS-MASTAPHYSICS-MASTA

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2008

Good idea, poor execution

The game idea is great, and it's very very original. Where this flash fails is its execution and technical issues.

1)Places close borders too quickly, and just because they do close, doesn't mean people won't stop. People jump the border every day.

2)If your disease has absolutely no side effects, governments shouldn't start containment programs. It doesn't make any sense.

3)Madagascar can only be infected by one ship that travels from India. This combined with 1 and 2 can make the game impossible.

4)Waiting periods kill people's attention span to the game. The game became a chore instead of something fun. Evolution points became near impossible to get near the end. I actually had to go find a different game to play while this one ran.

5)Too much luck required to get even remotely far.

During my most recent attempt to beat the game, I almost did the impossible until the impossible happened to me. I had every single country infected with no healthy people, and the infected were dropping like flies. Every single country was becoming devoid of life. Only Russia and India remained. Russia died, and then India was at 1 person still alive. That person died and in the breaking news it said "India is devoid of life". But as this was said, one person magically came out from nowhere in India that was healthy and I lost the game.

This glitch might have been rare, but then seeing how rare it is to even get the right conditions to win the game, any glitch is a HUGE problem.

The idea of wiping out the world through disease is very interesting and fun, but without a proper way of doing it, it becomes a chore. I look forward to seeing the third version of this, and I hope it solves these issues.

---------------

As for how I got every single country infected before Madagascar closed its borders on me, this is how I did it:

-I became a parasite
-Removed all symptoms and built a resistance to moisture.
-Spread through insects.
-Save up evolution points to get to tier 4 in symptoms.
-Awaited until every single country had at least 1 infection. (NOTE: To get Madagascar infected, you have to make sure you have India decently infected. Since India is the only way Madagascar can become infected and the ship doesn't travel often, you have to be patient.)
-Gained hypersensitivity, heart failure, and that disease that caused swelling of the brain (bottom right corner)
-Stocked up on resistance and gained waterborne, airborne, and rodents.
-Wait for mankind to die and pray that the same glitch doesn't happen to you.

---------------

All in all, good idea, but very poor execution.


People find this review helpful!

losthirolosthiro

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 16, 2008

...

I finally managed to infect Madagaskar... because it was my starting region.
Guess what...after 45 days the first ship left the harbor. I went right to indonesia, stopped and went down, arround australia and up till russia... but guess what, it doesnt stoped his journey here. it went left till canada, down arround argentinia and up again till cananda, the first harbor since another ~ 20 days. hilarious.
Why is everything so random, its makes results based on luck only. WHEN start world vaccine research? WHEN get borders closed? random 1-100 millions?



zulfarrzulfarr

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 18, 2008

%u2020Kool%u2020

%u2020This game is pritty kool but i hate how even when you have no symptoms thay shut down borders and know to shut down harbers I can never win cus of madigasgar adn japan keep suting down there harber and airplanes befor i can get them infeted%u2020