Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 14, 2008 | 4:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice July 16, 2008
  • Daily Feature July 15, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Big News: Pandemic 2.5 is in development for iPhones everywhere! Find out more on my site!

Finally after months of development and balancing and testing, Pandemic II is here! I've tried my very best to ensure the game has surpassed the original in every possible way. Now its up to you to evolve your disease, infect mankind and kill them all!

**TO CLOSE WINDOWS, CLICK THE "X" IN THE TOP RIGHT**
**updated to version 1.16: bug fixes and tweaks based on user reviews**

Online guide and tutorial videos are available from with in the game, and it is HIGHLY recommended you watch the video tutorials.

edit: Thanks to the staff of NEWGROUNDS for the front page!!

Special thanks to the great guys at Crazy Monkey Games for sponsorship. And special thanks to Globex Designs for the music. Developed by Dark Realm Studios.

Reviews


djpraiseadelikdjpraiseadelik

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 15, 2009

Unbalance an issue

I've found three irrevocable truths while playing this game.

1. Visibility is moot. Even with no visibility, every game, I can't get every region infected.
2. Resistances can be all full and regions locked down can't get infected...by natural disasters or anything else.
3. Until these issues are better balanced, the game will be a matter of luck that all of the country's get infected before they shut themselves.


People find this review helpful!

treeboy1treeboy1

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 16, 2008

???????

I can't watch the tutorials. Help.



alexnobodyalexnobody

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 18, 2008

Very hard.

This is REALLY complex. As many tutorials as there were, there were still some un-mentioned things. What do natural disasters do? Are there any virus/bacteria/parasite-exclusive features? Some symptoms (sweating, for example) seem to do nothing but increase visibility. Why would anyone bother buying these? Are there any hidden elements to these symptoms?

Also, how do you infect the islands, like Japan or Madagascar? Or, suppose you start on one: how do you spread the virus past it?

I'm so confused.....



GlyphstreamGlyphstream

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 20, 2008

Ummm...

There are just too many flaws with this game, some of which cause the game to be unbeatable. Governments start shutting down things once a population has a certain number of infected people. The only problem is that that seems to be a set amount. The shutdown point should vary depending on virus visibility and symptoms.

My last play through, my virus had absolutely no symptoms at all. It literally did nothing. Sure, infection was slow going, but it did spread. And then governments shut down one by one despite the fact that no one should have even known the virus existed.

This also means that it is impossible to infect the entire world. You can't sneak a virus in everywhere. Once borders shut down, just one healthy region means game over. With an extremely high amount of luck, you can get a virus into a closed region, but it happens so rarely that it might as well not happen. I had insect and rodent transmission on, and no countries were exterminating them yet. So why didn't the disease cross the closed borders? Surely by closed borders, that doesn't mean "magical forcefield through which insects and rodents cannot move through".

The problem is that this game relies too much on what seems to be scripted events. The virus changes how fast it spreads or kills people, but once a certain number of people have been infected, everything goes on lock down based on scripted events, and not based on the actual threat the disease poses. Why are the governments burning bodies when no one has died yet? Why are they handing out bottled water when the virus isn't waterborne? I mean, they can tell the virus exists and is infecting everyone even though there are no symptoms at all, so surely they can tell that these actions don't do anything, right? You may as well just throw up a game over screen right then and there.

Also, the actual symptoms themselves don't have enough description as far as how they affect your virus. Does Pulmonary Edema raise visibility (which doesn't really matter)? Is Diarrhea more effective if the virus is waterborne? The symptoms don't say.

This game has massive amounts of potential, but it has some serious issues which should be worked out.


People find this review helpful!

UkinojoeUkinojoe

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 20, 2008

Creepy.

This is creepier than the fucking torture game.