Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 14, 2008 | 4:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice July 16, 2008
  • Daily Feature July 15, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Big News: Pandemic 2.5 is in development for iPhones everywhere! Find out more on my site!

Finally after months of development and balancing and testing, Pandemic II is here! I've tried my very best to ensure the game has surpassed the original in every possible way. Now its up to you to evolve your disease, infect mankind and kill them all!

**TO CLOSE WINDOWS, CLICK THE "X" IN THE TOP RIGHT**
**updated to version 1.16: bug fixes and tweaks based on user reviews**

Online guide and tutorial videos are available from with in the game, and it is HIGHLY recommended you watch the video tutorials.

edit: Thanks to the staff of NEWGROUNDS for the front page!!

Special thanks to the great guys at Crazy Monkey Games for sponsorship. And special thanks to Globex Designs for the music. Developed by Dark Realm Studios.

Reviews


RickyTheFishRickyTheFish

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2008

Pretty decent...

For the most part, I like this game, although it would be nice to be able to increase the speed even further than it can already go (even with the second fast-forward clicked, sometimes I had to wait 5-10 minutes to get enough Evo. points to do anything). One big detractor from this game's score is the fact that certain situations cause the game to be unbeatable... when countries start closing borders and transportation, it seems to be a cascading effect, thus shutting down any further possible infection. Also, Madagascar is *way* too hard to infect, as it only has a shipyard and the traffic is minimal at best (I watched for 2 straight minutes once and not a single ship arrived, and then they closed the shipyard).

Both above situations, the cascading global panic effect and the near-impossibility of infecting Madagascar meant that if either of these situations occurred, there was absolutely no point in waiting for the game to play itself out, as it became at that point impossible to beat. Also, if the vaccine is successful, if you've not infected absolutely every single person in the world, then you might as well restart the game, because it's impossible to win.

In future installments, you should add in the ability for nations to reopen their borders and transportation, add more routes (or at least more frequent routes) to Madagascar, give the disease the ability, if a successful vaccine is deployed, to mutate and regain the ability to infect, and allow insects to infect across borders. Also, maybe increase the rate at which Evo. points are obtained... as stated previously, even with the Virus, which states it has the fastest Evo. point accumulation, I would leave the game running for 10 minutes only to come back and see I'd only gotten 30-40 points. With the expensive tiers and disease traits, 40 points can be spent very quickly, and then another 10-15 minutes would be spent just waiting for more points to accumulate.

A decent game, but as I have tried it maybe 10 times and have not yet been successful, this says to me that too many factors cause the game to be near impossible to beat.


People find this review helpful!

COOLRCOOLR

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 28, 2010

points

i would give it a 10 but i have a problem with evolution points after a point they wnt increse anymore


People find this review helpful!

anarkythejokeranarkythejoker

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2008

wtf

if it airborne it can still get into clean fucking states you have to get lucky as hell to win this game but its still a good game



BmtmBmtm

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 23, 2008

not that much

it good and all....but its so boring1!!!1



stormcloud1stormcloud1

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 18, 2008

very good but....

...(I feel) there are a few problems:
islands are much to isolated, getting them all infected is an achievement on its own, and getting off an island takes forever
when all ports close you get about 3 boats that just go on forever, surly they should sink or starve or just crash themselves onto some landmass in desperation for food/water (opening up possibility of infection)
immunisations are quite the end all, I was hoping to let awareness die down then use points from a few deaths to boost resistance so I could just carry on
All countries react the same way, different governments would react differently
Borders are impossible to close totally, there would be a slow seeping of people into other countries, especially for low visibility diseases
some traits have no reason other than increasing visibility
having the countries climate on its information also would be useful

yet these are all rather small things so overall I find this game very good overall


People find this review helpful!