Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 14, 2008 | 4:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice July 16, 2008
  • Daily Feature July 15, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Big News: Pandemic 2.5 is in development for iPhones everywhere! Find out more on my site!

Finally after months of development and balancing and testing, Pandemic II is here! I've tried my very best to ensure the game has surpassed the original in every possible way. Now its up to you to evolve your disease, infect mankind and kill them all!

**TO CLOSE WINDOWS, CLICK THE "X" IN THE TOP RIGHT**
**updated to version 1.16: bug fixes and tweaks based on user reviews**

Online guide and tutorial videos are available from with in the game, and it is HIGHLY recommended you watch the video tutorials.

edit: Thanks to the staff of NEWGROUNDS for the front page!!

Special thanks to the great guys at Crazy Monkey Games for sponsorship. And special thanks to Globex Designs for the music. Developed by Dark Realm Studios.

Reviews


SkyrageSkyrage

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 29, 2008

Bit flawed...

Great game concept, however it has a few flaws; some which have already been mentioned here:

1. Madagascar - 'nuff said.

2. Rats/Insects + borders closing = impenetrable - doesn't make sense. As suggested, it should just lower the chance.

3. Disease spread will ALWAYS start once a certain % of the population has become infected. This is IMO a HUGE flaw in the game. It doesn't make sense whatsoever that the disease starts to spread after a couple of hundered has been infected in Greenland whilst it takes several 100k to be infected in a major region before the disease will start to spread. And once it does start to spread it spreads to all places at once.

4. Governments are way too reactive once they do start to react. First of all, their pace should be much slower and second of all, some of their actions should take time to complete. Airports and shipyards closing ASAP is one thing - closing off borders etc is another.

5. Prevention tactics - what's even the point of it? Once a region is infected there's 0 % chance that the disease will be beaten in that region anyway - save for the vaccine. And again, the reaction time and time to execute a measure is instant which is just ludicrous.

5.5 The water countermeasure (bottled water) should IMO be a very temporary solution. Which region in the world would stock enough bottled water to supply billions of people? The way things are now, making your disease waterborne is just a massive waste of points if it can be countered indefinitely immediately.

6. The vaccine system could use a revamp. Research time is perfectly fine - only it's way too easy to delay it. The distribution time on the other hand is just plain ridiculous. Vaccine research could perhaps be based per region - and a region could spread it to other regions...if they re-open their infrastructures. Such a thing would make the game way more tactical than it is now.

7. Your disease should mutate every now and then by itself. I've only gotten traits twice, and those only seem to happen once you start giving your disease lethal symptoms (or maybe it's symptoms in general?). Let the disease gain random symptoms (not traits - that should be kept a seperate feature) at any given time - not too often obviously - this would make the game harder since visibility would go up.

8. Evolution points are just too inconsistent and way too slow in the end. Make it much more consistent, and together with number 7 it would still be balanced if you're forced to spend points in order to keep visibility down...unless you want to keep a symptom.

Well, that's about it for my suggestions. As I said before, great game concept, but it could've been made a bit better.


Lots of people find this review helpful!

TobaniTobani

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 16, 2008

Woooo

Pretty fun. Could do with some improvement that have already been stated. Got all the regions infected and only 6715 people left alive at the end. I'm sure that's as good as I'll ever do.



Genwhite240Genwhite240

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 12, 2010

Lame

This game is really fun, but Madagascar is a real problem... I could never get the disease to spread to Madagascar before they shut down the ports, and when I finally had my disease start in Madagascar, they took so damn long to finally send a ship out that the rest of the world started closing it's ports and borders before it could get everywhere.

This game is really fun, but it really needs to have the way the world reacts changed up a bit.


People find this review helpful!

JUstwowJUstwow

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 6, 2013

I named my disease butter disease(for sky) and i fking took madagascar fuck ports yeaaa airports and waterborn disease. I TOOK OVER DA FLIPING WORLD



bman11bman11

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 29, 2009

Great Game

There is one problem. Yes, I can play the system, quickly launch up to things like heart failure and win. But, I always try to take the realistic route and remain unnoticed. I removed all symptoms No fever, no sneezing, no nothing. How did they find something if theres nothing!? no symptoms. I maximized all resistances, and airborne, waterborne, rodent borne and insect borne. I was going to make devastating fatal symptoms once the whole population was infected. BUT BEFORE I COULD, THEY STARTED MAKING A VACCINE, FOR A "DISEASE" THAT DID NOTHING AND HAD 0 VISIBILTY, I MAY BE CHEAP IN GAMES BUT YOU SIR ARE CHEAPER(OR UNAWARE) PLEASE FIX.


People find this review helpful!