Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 14, 2008 | 4:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice July 16, 2008
  • Daily Feature July 15, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Big News: Pandemic 2.5 is in development for iPhones everywhere! Find out more on my site!

Finally after months of development and balancing and testing, Pandemic II is here! I've tried my very best to ensure the game has surpassed the original in every possible way. Now its up to you to evolve your disease, infect mankind and kill them all!

**TO CLOSE WINDOWS, CLICK THE "X" IN THE TOP RIGHT**
**updated to version 1.16: bug fixes and tweaks based on user reviews**

Online guide and tutorial videos are available from with in the game, and it is HIGHLY recommended you watch the video tutorials.

edit: Thanks to the staff of NEWGROUNDS for the front page!!

Special thanks to the great guys at Crazy Monkey Games for sponsorship. And special thanks to Globex Designs for the music. Developed by Dark Realm Studios.

Reviews


theslaintheslain

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 19, 2008

luved it

this is a really adictiong game ive played it a couple times now and each time i can use a diffrent strategie every time and find out some are better then others.


People find this review helpful!

Amadeus513Amadeus513

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 19, 2008

Wicked awesome game!

This is super fun to play - I love the different strategies you can use, too!



PooMonPiePooMonPie

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 19, 2008

Awesome game, and very much possible to beat.

I loved this game, I played as a virus and I beat the game in about 190 days in realistic mode. What you must do is buy all the ways to infect first, then, when you spread to most regions of the world, buy up all the symptoms. After that, you just wait.

I usually review games with a Pros/Cons approach, so here goes.

Pros: Simple interface.
Video tutorial.

Cons: Too easy.
Too much waiting.
No real control of the disease besides upgrading it.

Overall, way better then the original and actually possible to beat.


People find this review helpful!

Liero131313Liero131313

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 19, 2008

Not impossible

THIS IS A SPOILER!!!! FIGURE IT OUT ON YOUR OWN IF YOU ARE LIKE THAT, OTHERWISE DONT BLAME ME!!!!

So the way you can actually beat this game (madagascar included) without ever having them know about the virus, bacteria or parasite (used parasite on first time but whatever, anything works with this strategy) is simple. Use different symptoms. Thats it. The game works that they see one virus spreading, getting stronger and stronger, theyll obviously take measures against it. But if you got one virus with one trait, spread a bit, then take off the symptom then use another one, theyll think its a whole new virus. Everyone was infected before anyone even closed a school.

All in all a good game.


People find this review helpful!

ZincyZincy

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 19, 2008

Fantastic sequel!

Excellent game and a brilliant sequel!
It took me lots of goes but I finally managed to infect and wipe out the entire human race! A few times I'd got all but Madagascar but my last game was a total success!
My strategy was basically to be a bit patient and wait for the disease to spread without any symptoms.

As soon as the game starts you should sell any starting symptoms and then build up the resistances and transmissions gradually. This way your disease is invisible but it will still spread (if a little slower - but that's the whole idea: maximum durability without being spotted).

Moisture II and waterbourne will give you the ability to infect a nation's water supply but don't do that too early or countries will start closing borders and air/seaports.

Then with a bit of luck you should eventualy infect every country. After that it's simply a case of buying as many symptoms as you can to increase the speed of spreading and killing lol.

If I were to pick out any faults (every game has faults no matter how good!) then they would be the following:
Some of the text and the window close buttons are almost invisible due to being to dark a colour.
All the numbers in the game are too hard to read as they have no commas to split up the 1000's. eg: 4372837483 is harder to read than 4,372,837,483. Hard to dfferentiate between billions and millions!

Also would be nice to have the figures represented as a percentage aswell. eg 55% of world infected, 35% dead...etc, etc. Would just make the whole thing a little easier on the eye and more aesthetically pleasing.

Also some of the Geography is a bit off. I know the world map has been streamlined for obvious reasons but perhaps it could have been a little more factual. This is just a minor niggle though.

Still not sure how the evolution points system works (I was gaining points earlier when nobody was even infected) but it seems well balanced so that's all that matters I suppose.

Overall though this game is brilliant and is a perfect example of something that just works as intended without any superfluous extras.

I hope you make another sequel :)


People find this review helpful!