Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 11, 2008 | 6:22 PM EDT
  • Review Crew Pick July 16, 2008
  • Daily 2nd Place July 12, 2008
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 16, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Robots
    Robots Do you like cartoons about robots? Look no further!

Author Comments

CIRCUIT SKIRMISH 2 (disk1of2)

This got front page AND review crew pick!? Thank you, Mr. Tom! And thanks to all who are writing reviews and such. Appreciated. Even if I don't respond to it, you can be sure I read it.

The sequel is finally here. Well...the first part anyway. The little robot finds himself constantly fighting enemy robots of unknown origin, only to find that he cannot even remember his own origin. Still he feels the need to help, and that's where this short starts.

It's about 4 minutes long. This time around the atmosphere's a bit more serious and there's the hint of a story behind the whole ordeal. I've used a couple 3d elements within some of the cuts (primarily the backgrounds). I've spent a little more than half a year working on this on and off, though I've been trying to mold the whole story up since the original came out.

I haven't submitted anything in a while, and for that I apologize. 2007 was a rough year for me and I didn't have much time to animate then. Life has gotten a bit better but I still need to figure some things out before I keep working on Part 2. It might be a while! Anyways, ENJOY THE MOVIE!

Reviews


NacaleNacale

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 11, 2008

Ehh...

what they said.



ArchizombieArchizombie

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 11, 2008

of the highest level

everything in your movie is spot on. This is definitely front page material to say the least. Thanks for this great piece of work! I anxiously await Part 2.....



TheRandomDotTheRandomDot

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 11, 2008

A fight scene worth watching

Too many folks get wrapped up in these crappy teleporting stick fights, where enemies just bounce around the screen firing uber-beams at each other. The problem with extreme'ness is that when everyone makes everything "XTREME!!11!!!!", then nothing is extreme.

This was a refreshing change. You have the Matt Damon / Jason Bourne of fighting robots there; dude actually uses his head to fight instead of just focusing on brute force and X-TREME'ness.

I liked your character design, but what really, really impressed me about this was your use of perspective ... ACTUAL perspective ... on the city scapes and backgrounds. Lots of folks do up scenery, but we rarely see actual effort put into real perspective drawing. I noticed you went the extra mile in that regard from the very first city-scape you showed. Very nice. While the characters were cartoony, the use of perspective gave their surroundings a semblance or realism.

Your sound was good, too. You didn't over-do the SFX, and you didn't over-use the same ones everyone else rips for their movies.

All in all, a very marvelous piece, and a welcome relief to know some people still think combat is more about tactics than brute force.


People find this review helpful!
Falconer02 responds:

If I could goldplate a review on NG, this would be it.

I'm sick of EXTREEEEEEMEness too. It's for the 10-year-old wrestling fans that like metal riffs. There's too much of it. I always liked the thoughtout peices more in films and such. And tactics...one of the moves in this animation I actually fell for in real life. It didn't involve real guns though! Seriously, thanks for a FANTASTIC review. CHEERS!


fede1920fede1920

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 11, 2008

Very nice !

I liked the storyline and the graphics were amaizing !


People find this review helpful!

Animator1123Animator1123

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 11, 2008

WOW

geat work!
at first i thought it was more artsy than anything but then the animation kicked it it was good cant wait for the next one