Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 1, 2008 | 2:26 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 4, 2008
  • Daily Feature June 2, 2008

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"In 2008, the largest particle accelerator ever created, the LHC at CERN's particle physics lab in Switzerland, was activated for the first time. The research obtained from this experiment has revolutionized the way we think about science. Un-answered questions that have puzzled man since the dawn of humanity are finally being answered. Are there extra dimensions? What is dark matter? Is time travel possible? Epsilon Experimental Sciences Research Facility aims to discover the potential of this whole new world of science, and you have been appointed as the primary test participant."

Going with what seems to be the current trend, I've made my version of a portal game. The challenges are based around solving tasks using various fictional technologies discovered as the result of the LHC experiment, primarily wormhole manipulation. Other methods include gravity shift, time reversal, and general cognitive dexterity.

I started this a while back and planned on coinciding it with the release of Valve's Portal, which coincidentally was around the same time CERN was planning to activate the particle accelerator. Unfortunately Epsilon still wasn't ready by the time Portal came out and the LHC still hasn't been switched on, so I decided to leave it until now.

Thanks to Geier Arnold for the original soundtrack, and for tirelessly helping out in the beta testing process.

NOTE: If you are experiencing problems with lag while freezing the ball, try turning off the ghost rooms by pressing G.

Reviews


Rayde101Rayde101

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 4, 2008

Good

It's really pretty good, but Banisher is right it does get annoying after a while



LindoniasLindonias

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 4, 2008

portal what?

this is so addicting!!!! i like how you can move the portals around and freeze the ball. detail is amazing, too. i saw my cursor in the ball haha. Looks great, plays great, and even sounds great, so 10 for you! great job!



Xero785Xero785

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 4, 2008

GAMER!

awesome! how long did you make that??????



banisher22banisher22

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 4, 2008

Good

Its good but one annoying thing is making the ball come out when it seems more prone to come out the bottom or left side exspecially in 5b. That is the physics but adjusting so that it comes out the middle would be a bit easier. I love this overall though.


People find this review helpful!

JovialSpectreJovialSpectre

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 4, 2008

Help

Honestly, this is a very good game, but I can't begin to go into it because, frankly, level 5b is FUCKING IMPOSSIBLE. The first two orbs are easy enough to get, but because of the slope the last one is virtually unreachable. This in itself deserves a -1. So until I can actually figure out this fucker, I can't really give a better review.