Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 1, 2008 | 2:26 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 4, 2008
  • Daily Feature June 2, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"In 2008, the largest particle accelerator ever created, the LHC at CERN's particle physics lab in Switzerland, was activated for the first time. The research obtained from this experiment has revolutionized the way we think about science. Un-answered questions that have puzzled man since the dawn of humanity are finally being answered. Are there extra dimensions? What is dark matter? Is time travel possible? Epsilon Experimental Sciences Research Facility aims to discover the potential of this whole new world of science, and you have been appointed as the primary test participant."

Going with what seems to be the current trend, I've made my version of a portal game. The challenges are based around solving tasks using various fictional technologies discovered as the result of the LHC experiment, primarily wormhole manipulation. Other methods include gravity shift, time reversal, and general cognitive dexterity.

I started this a while back and planned on coinciding it with the release of Valve's Portal, which coincidentally was around the same time CERN was planning to activate the particle accelerator. Unfortunately Epsilon still wasn't ready by the time Portal came out and the LHC still hasn't been switched on, so I decided to leave it until now.

Thanks to Geier Arnold for the original soundtrack, and for tirelessly helping out in the beta testing process.

NOTE: If you are experiencing problems with lag while freezing the ball, try turning off the ghost rooms by pressing G.

Reviews


DwiggenDwiggen

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 5, 2008

wow

Simply awesome



HotDiggedyDemonHotDiggedyDemon

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 5, 2008

Amazing

everything a flash game should be.


People find this review helpful!

MackearyMackeary

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 5, 2008

Mental Aerobics!

This was a well built game. The puzzles are good for those that want to stretch their logical ligaments. It's got a great soundtrack; very ambient. The graphics exceed those of some professional puzzle games. Mostly, I love the story flow. The science experiment backdrop has been used, but you put a nice spin on it.

One thing I noticed was how some of your puzzles were designed to make one intentionally over-complicate their strategy. If I were to give a piece of advice for this game it would be: Keep your strategy simple.

I'd love to see a sequel of Epsilon with bigger levels and possibly multiple balls.



dabacondabacon

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 5, 2008

head hurts

im at level 5b, how do u finish that.... the ball wont go to the warp... -.-



DawnslayerDawnslayer

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 5, 2008

Like Shift--only much, much harder.

Loved the game! A new challenge at every turn--I found level 5i to be especially heinous. (And nice job on level X. ;D ) An excellent tribute to Portal, the Half-Life universe, and the space-time continuum as a whole. Graphics were excellent for 2-D, soundtrack was...not too annoying, and gameplay was simple yet addictive.

Just two things I didn't understand. One, why the ghost rooms? Was it to mess with our heads and make us think it was helpful when it was actually a distraction? And two, if we destroyed the universe, how is the computer still alive? (Pardon the pun.)

Great game overall. 9 of 10, with a sore temptation to add that final star.