Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 1, 2008 | 2:26 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 4, 2008
  • Daily Feature June 2, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"In 2008, the largest particle accelerator ever created, the LHC at CERN's particle physics lab in Switzerland, was activated for the first time. The research obtained from this experiment has revolutionized the way we think about science. Un-answered questions that have puzzled man since the dawn of humanity are finally being answered. Are there extra dimensions? What is dark matter? Is time travel possible? Epsilon Experimental Sciences Research Facility aims to discover the potential of this whole new world of science, and you have been appointed as the primary test participant."

Going with what seems to be the current trend, I've made my version of a portal game. The challenges are based around solving tasks using various fictional technologies discovered as the result of the LHC experiment, primarily wormhole manipulation. Other methods include gravity shift, time reversal, and general cognitive dexterity.

I started this a while back and planned on coinciding it with the release of Valve's Portal, which coincidentally was around the same time CERN was planning to activate the particle accelerator. Unfortunately Epsilon still wasn't ready by the time Portal came out and the LHC still hasn't been switched on, so I decided to leave it until now.

Thanks to Geier Arnold for the original soundtrack, and for tirelessly helping out in the beta testing process.

NOTE: If you are experiencing problems with lag while freezing the ball, try turning off the ghost rooms by pressing G.

Reviews


Gopens2Gopens2

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 31, 2010

pretty cool

I like gadget games. Most dont even take skill but it does at times, take some time to figure them out


People find this review helpful!

GrizeldaFitchGrizeldaFitch

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 26, 2010

great concept, great execution

great everything, but i agree after about the third level it got stale, but overall GREAT JOB!!



bobthepunkbobthepunk

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 25, 2010

nice

gets boring after a while, but yeahh good overall



inkmeisterinkmeister

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 24, 2010

SOAWESOOOOOOME!

the actual scientific stuff is so cool!
wish i cud do that stuff...



duxasduxas

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2010

not to good

buggy. sometimes the rift doesnt throw the ball out.