Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 12, 2008 | 2:23 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 14, 2008
  • Daily Feature May 13, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

The zombie horde are unrelenting, insatiable. The only chance to survive is to make it to Union City in 40 days, before the evacuations end.

Move from town to town collecting all you can carry and defend yourself through the night.

Reviews


BackgroundGuy51BackgroundGuy51

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 14, 2013

I was about to comment on dojofish's evaluation as i wasn't encountering any of these problems halfway through, and then suddenly one of my survivors just sort of....exploded. There weren't any zombies near them, i don't think they were even at the barricade, and their torso literally just exploded in a shower of gore. And then i stopped finding supplies entirely, and i needed about 5 more, and surprise surprise, with the last building in town i JUST SO HAPPENED to find the exact amount i needed to progress. Then i got the M4, which was about as good as a straw with wet paper in it, and i too have the same complaints about the game. I still managed to derive fun from the game, hence the 3 stars, and the graphical/mechanical quality of the game is fairly solid and smooth (game only stuttered once, and that was solely down to my terrible laptop) so on that basis it's a great game, but the gameplay needs a serious amount of work if another game like this is gonna be made. Also, why in the name of all that is holy is a fucking compound bow more powerful than a .357 magnum?! Hell, there should even be a collateral kill-shot on a rare occasion with that thing, it's not exactly a pea-shooter. In summary, the guns need balancing, the barrier needs a small buff (I had mine break 3 times, but i still managed to survive, it was down to the last second), the scrounging needs to be re-evaluated to make it more random/in-depth, and maybe a bit more variety with the guns could be nice, although i did see an ad which said there are more on ArmorGames.....which is fucking dumb. Why is that even a thing. Stop it.



KeebaliciousKeebalicious

Rated 3 / 5 stars November 5, 2008

Too luck intensive.

As far as the actual gameplay went, this game was pretty good, but it felt like whether you won or lost was completely up to the mercy of a random number generator. It's just too easy to get boned without having done anything wrong. Sure, there was a chance you could get one of the god-mode weapons and the game would be smooth sailing, but there was also a chance that you wouldn't find anything and be stuck with the pistol for most of the game.

Not to mention the chance of finding survivors and the chance of a fast zombie running up and scalping them on the first hit.

Don't get me wrong, I loved this game as much as I loved the original, but it's hard to give a good score to a game in which a win or a loss is attributed to nothing more than a dice roll.

Oh, and the ability to switch weapons while reloading would be nice, as that's generally why you get a secondary weapon in most games.


People find this review helpful!

amityvillesoldieramityvillesoldier

Rated 3 / 5 stars August 6, 2009

Potential

Premise is good but I ran in to a good number of bugs, the hunting rifle would only reload once and then freeze up untill I finished the night or died. Grenades got stuck on full power so all I could do was throw them off-screen. With bugs fixed this would be a kick ass zombie game.



RedcomitRedcomit

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 15, 2008

Great game but...

I've played last stand. That was awesome.
HOWEVER
I'm surprised at the lacking of a last as long as you can or sandboxish mode. Would have been a 10 if it had those.
Also, why did you improve on everything EXCEPT the zombies. Your still using them, and in the one city, your using the same backround as the last game!

In last stand 3, fix these. Then you'll have a great game.



dojofish132dojofish132

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 3, 2013

It's a decent game, but the problems break it, in my opinion.

I hate to be a broken record, but my complaints are the same as so many others. I'll still air them out here.

First, your allies are almost worthless, almost. At my apex, I had three survivors fighting with me. I must have been lucky, because one was actually fighting most of the time. The other two though, not so much. They, as others have stated, fired only in the lane in front of them. This made them essentially useless. Give them a half decent gun and they act like moneys without a clue what to do. Helps a little when zombies bunch up in the little corner they were in, but that was a rare event.

Searching. Unlike others, I understand why searching for supplies, survivors, and weapons is random. Do you really expect to walk into a supermarket after a post-apocalyptic event and find it filled with food? Or a sporting goods store filled with guns and bows? No. It's going to hit and miss what you're going to find. That being said, for the time limit give, I found it difficult to find the supplies and weapons needed to move on.

Weapons. Several complaints on my experience come from the weapons. First, I find it a bit bull that you can't give your allies whatever weapon you have on hand, but only guns. Take the bow for instance, even limiting it to ranged weapons, you'd still think that your allies would be able to wield the bow, which was a great anti-dog weapon, but not much more. Instead if you want to arm them with anything better than their cheap default pistol, you have to give up your preferred weapon and fight with something else.

Second, reload times. I understand, different weapons take longer or shorter to reload, but some of them are just pitiful. Take the M4A1 for example. I've been to Parris Island with my former JROTC unit. While there we were able to mess around on the digital range. The only difference between those M4s and the ones our guys use over seas is that the ones I used fired beams of light. I kid you not, I probably could have reloaded two magazines in the time it takes him to reload one. And that is with me having never fired one before. Why is he like "lets whip this thing out as fast as possible" when producing the magazine, then "Let's put this in as slow as humanity can make it, wouldn't want to miss the hole after all" when actually loading it into the gun? When you have a veritable army of zombies on you, you'll want to reload as quick as possible.

Third, the quality of weapons. Explain to me how a shotgun blast to the head, at point blank range, doesn't kill even the dogs in a single hit? How does a zombie survive a .45 magnum round to the head? How does an arrow to the brain not drop them? I can understand "kill zones" where hitting them with certain weapons does more or less damage in certain spots, but come on, when I blast a zombie in the head with a shotgun, I expect them do drop, not keep on destroying my already feeble barrier. Which leads me to my last point.

Barriers. I understand, when you move, you might not have the time to set up a proper fortification before your enemies come, but this game is ridiculous about it. I start off on the easiest level with a barrier that has 80 points on it. By the second to last city, I have a barrier with 50 points and more zombies, especially runners, on the screen than I can shake a stick at. If I'm given eight, ten hours to search for supplies or rebuild my barrier, why can't I also choose to spend some of that time strengthening my fort? I understand the need to make the game more challenging as time goes on, but give me a break, when I can't even fight the first wave off in the city with three other guys, something's wrong here. The sharp increase in the number of zombies is enough of a challenge. Also, pray tell me, how can the zombies, lacking any form of ranged weaponry, kill your men behind the barrier while it's still standing? That's what did me in in the end.

Overall, the flaws are just too much with this game. I can give it a 3/5 for quality, but no more.


People find this review helpful!