Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 20, 2008 | 9:36 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature April 22, 2008
  • Weekly 5th Place April 23, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Burnt Face Man's 8th episode here after a while out. The episodes don't follow on from each other so don't worry if you haven't seen the others.

www.burntfaceman.com

Reviews


Big-Boss-IncBig-Boss-Inc

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 24, 2008

DUDE FUCKING AWESOME!!!!11

THE ONLY THING IT NEEDED WAS MORE PENIS!



HandsomeWarriorHandsomeWarrior

Rated 1 / 5 stars April 24, 2008

Deleted review # 1324348...

I've got to be honest first and foremost, I've never been a big fan of your work. The fuss made over these rather simple and seemingly aimless cartoons has always baffled me. Yet, you have built up a loyal and almost partisan fan-base which is a feat most other Flash artists could only dream of.
For that congratulations are in order.

I'd seen a few Salad Fingers cartoons and had never really bothered to check out this BFM series as a result. It was only seeing this atop the front page (what a surprise!) that I thought, "Okay, let's keep an open mind. There's obviously something good about these things that I'm sadly overlooking."

First I'll talk about the graphics, which have a similar look and feel in all of your cartoons. They really are crying out for a bit of a sprucing! The characters look painfully rigid and flail their arms about in a desperate bid to convey some sort of personality. They just tween about spasmodically and un-naturally which could be forgiven were this an entry by a novice animator submitting to NG for the first time. But, shamefully, you're not. You've been doing this for about 4 years (guessing from your profile info) and everything just feels so amateur. Even the backgrounds, which you spend a lot of time "pebble-dashing" are fairly generic one-point perspective clones of previous works.
The lip syncing was good but again I must ask, do you just recycle mouth-pieces from previous cartoons? It certainly looks like it.
To me at least the whole thing looked as though it was cobbled together half-heartedly in the knowledge that this is going straight to the top of the charts anyway, so why bother?

Story. Story? I realise that this is one of those "LOLZ RANDOM!?!" kind of affairs which I'm probably a bit old for.
The fact that the characters swear a lot (Gulp!) is enough to ensure a disproportionate avalanche of affection from anybody under the age of 12. Personally I've always felt that the "RANDOM!!!11" approach is nothing more than a failsafe for bad writers. After all if you receive a review from someone moaning that, "this has no redeemable story or character development", the artist can sit back and smugly reply, "It's not supposed to! It's random!! Lolzageddon!!". That's fine for a one-off cartoon but when you try and develop it into a series the cracks- and there a lot of them- start to show.

There is always an inherent danger with artists that once something works the once it is customary to repeat the formula over and over again. And for the most part the generic staples are forgiven, even accepted, as the artists' "style". But style only gets you so far. If you were to look at the works of other artist who slide-by on there respective styles you will see where the pitfalls make themselves more than evident: Illwillpress, LegendaryFrog, Egoraptor et al.
Yeah, they get good scores, awards, front page placing, and most prominently a fan-base of over possessive partisans who, ironically, stunt the artists' growth by blindly accepting anything they churn out.
The artist has no reason to develop beyond his or her comfort-zone as it becomes more than evident that all they need to do is pull out the same few tricks for each animation and the red carpet will be laid.
To reiterate my point, the over zealous fan base can end up suffocating the artist to the point where the artist doesn't even know why he or she is doing it anymore. You know that whatever you had submitted only a few days ago was going straight to the top of the tree. Even those who hate your work will keep schtum feeling that they are either "missing the point" or console themselves in the famous fable of "The Emperors' New Clothes".

Despite all I've said, the tragic irony is that this review will be marked as "abusive" and deleted.
We know why don't we? Because a darling of NG must be protected at all costs from any kind of criticism. This in itself proves the point I tried to make about the over zealous fan base stunting the growth of the artist.

Maybe, just maybe, these are things that you need to hear.



dommi-freshdommi-fresh

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 24, 2008

love it!

EVERY BURNT FACE MAN IS CLASS!
keep going and shit! YOU ROCK.

btw i was watching this old kids show, on youtube, that i used to watch on citv called 'the rotten trolls', and in the credits the creaters name was david firth.... or was it tim firth ? either way it was a firth... it was weird


People find this review helpful!

bbdamanbbdaman

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 24, 2008

lol

y is evereone sayin they ahte dis 1?its one of da best!



TKDdanTKDdan

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 24, 2008

well i thought it was funny

the ending was hilarious to me! i laughed out loud :P


People find this review helpful!