Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 3, 2008 | 1:33 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 4, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place January 9, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

I'm throwing together some of my bytesize cartoons into one convenient collection here.

Includes one unreleased 'toon so it's not a complete waste of your time!

Reviews


YellowJelloYellowJello

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars March 19, 2009

Meh

It was well drawn, but it wasn't funny.


JohnnyUtah responds:

thanks for the review you filthy whore


squeakytoadsqueakytoad

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 3, 2008

Oh good grief.

That was 1 minute and 22.88 seconds.
It was three scenes, both pretty average looking. Considering how absolutely awesome your art usually is, this is somewhat disappointing.
Those three short scenes consisted mainly of repeating mouth movements (which were all identical and unanimated). There were about two or three non-mouth movements this entire cartoon. They were still images simply tweened.
Not to mention we've seen all but one of these before, so it's hardly anything new. Why'd you need to submit this, man? All it will do is take attention away from other animations out at the moment.

While the voice acting was nearly identical for each character as usual (you got to see if you can find yourself a few extra actors), they were still pretty funny and well done, also as usual.

The jokes themselves weren't really all that great. Of course, this is subjective. I just didn't find this funny.
I suppose others do and will.

I guess the main thing with this, for me, is that you just threw a few of your already made and released cartoons together, added another which couldn't have taken more than an hour to create at most (if that), and tossed them into the portal to undoubtedly gain awards and front page spots that it really doesn't deserve.

Oh well. The cartoons were nice for what they were, good job, etc.

-st


People find this review helpful!
JohnnyUtah responds:

well you're welcome to your opinion on how "good" you think they are but your other arguments are beyond ridiculous. 1 minute and 22.88 seconds? are you really such a jackass you had to time the thing out exactly?

Second, I don't give a shit about AWARDS or FRONT PAGE. I can make sure it's never PUT ON THE FRONT PAGE. I uploaded them to just add em to my flash collection and so people could comment on them if they wish.

THIRD, NOT EVERYBODY WATCHES THE BYTESIZE MOVIES. If they're taken out of bytesize rotation I'd rather have en easily accessible on my userpage and not lost forever.

I AM making total sense here, so I'm glad to enlighten you.


DudleyDooDooRightDudleyDooDooRight

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars March 31, 2011

OK Material

For a short subject to work, the joke has to be excessively funny or outlandish with fast pacing and the right context. I think of quick cut scenes used by Monty Python as a prime example. The first bytesize short was more mean-spirited than funny. The joke itself would be funny in the right context with faster pacing. The second short was the best of the three. It was absurd and elicited a smile, but I didn't find it to be side-splitting. The final joke just did not go anywhere. It lacked enough absurdity to be anything more than "eh."

The animation quality reminds me of Hanna-Barbera and UPA limited animation techniques, where the subjects are presented in 2-D only and movement is limited to one or two levels. The only difference is that the quality of your artwork is much higher, with more realistic images and a brighter color palate.

This type of humor may work for others, but these bytesized shorts didn't do it for me. They seemed to be jokes that needed broader context to go anywhere; the bytesized shorts Stamper put together made more effective use of pacing, context and absurd humor. These shorts are missing that context and "get to the joke" pacing to make them anything more than OK. I prefer your longer-format work, where you can give your jokes time to develop.

Art: 10/10
Animation: 5/10 (what's with the free-floating board in the third short?)
Sound: 9/10 (the voices were well-acted, but all sounded similar)
Humor: 0/10:5/10:3/10 = 7/30
Overall: 32/60 = 5/10



DracMorairDracMorair

Rated 2 / 5 stars May 12, 2008

EH... nah

Just a really old? used? <fill in blank> joke to me. Sorry JohnnyUtah, stick to the .. well you know :) 4 stars for basics of flash.

But come on we all know what your capable of!

Spawn a sensation and this? Every artist has his blue period I suppose. Sigh.



NatuurspionNatuurspion

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars February 22, 2010

WT...

Okay, he was joking 'bout the tuna? So what, it wasn't funny or something..
Cyanide and happiness do much better!