Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 28, 2007 | 8:55 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice January 2, 2008
  • Daily Feature December 29, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Dear Human,

Zombies. You've shot them, stabbed them, sliced and diced them. Today I put you in the shoes of a Zombie. Fight for your life in this crazy and twisted world.

After two solid months of production, we present to you this epic interactive tale of Sonny. I hope you like it!

- Krin

PS: I encourage everyone who has something to say to leave a review. I read everything, though I might not reply to all. If you have suggestions, ideas, go ahead! These games are made for YOU, people!

-----

One last note: If you really like the game, or you need help or get stuck, I encourage you strongly to sign up to our forum:

http://krinlabs.com/forum

You can discuss builds and tactics, or make suggestions (that actually get listened to!), and stay informed about the progress on our future projects! See you there!

USEFUL LINKS! Have a look at these if you need some help:

Ability Guide (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=658)
Team Mate Guide (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=662)
Game Walkthrough (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=703)
Zone 4 (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=723)
Guide 'n Build for Guardian (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=732)

Note: Remove the space between "foru m" so it says "forum" instead.

Also you can check my Profile blog for tactics for Zone 4 bosses.

-----

UDPATE (NOW LIVE!) Game has been patched according to user suggestions:

- Battles now run significantly faster.
- Block can only be used twice on your bar, but the cool down has been decreased.
- Paladin's Shield now has a much longer cool down.
- Rock Golems can no longer use Suppression. Health decreased, damage increased.
- Blade Shaman's heals now have a larger cool down, and he can no longer regen focus.
- All the audio is now in sync with the subtitles.
- You can now Re-Spec 5 times a day instead of once.
- Veradux's "Re-Energize" ability now only applies a buff that restores 10 focus per turn, so when he casts it on a target with full focus, you still get 90% of the benefit.

Noted Criticism (But will not be updated for Sonny):

- More sound controls
- Manual control over AI
- Item bug in inventory
- Smarter AI
- More animation variety
- Better storyline
- Non linear gameplay
- Better Cutscenes
- Better AI
- Better AI
- Better AI
- Better AI

If you guys see any more bugs or have things to criticize do tell me!

---

Final Thought: That's IT people, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! I HAVE HAD IT WITH THESE MOTHERF*CKING AI COMPLAINTS IN THESE MOTHERF*CKING REVIEWS! I GET THE MESSAGE, I WILL FIX IT! IF YOU COMPLAIN ABOUT AI IN YOUR REVIEW WITHOUT SOMETHING NEW TO SAY I SHALL CALL YOU A HOTDOG!

Sry caps... You were saying? :D

---

Super Final Thought: So many reviews are coming in now! I can't get around to answering everything like I used to be able to... I still read and note ALL reviews and criticism though, but if you want to hear answers from me directly best ask me in the forum where I can answer to batches of people at once, and other people can answer your questions too.

That's it! Just have fun and take it easy :D
- Krin

PS Webmasters: Whoever wants to host this game on their website can download it here:
http://armorgames.com/fre e-website-games/code/505/
sonny

Reviews


Natman1995Natman1995

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 11, 2008

WOW!!

WELL DONE KRIN A BIG 10 FOR ME KEEP IT UP.YES PLZ PEOPLE PLAY IT


People find this review helpful!

chunkybeefstuchunkybeefstu

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 13, 2008

A diamond (just slightly) in the rough.

This game could quite possibly be the best on Newgrounds, though I have seen some good RPGs come through the portal within the past couple years. This RPG has one of the most refined tree-based ability systems I've seen in a flash game and the story was enough to grab my attention and hold it until I beat the game.

With a cliffhanger at the end like that, it is quite obvious that you are intending to make a sequel to this game. If you do, one of the biggest letdowns for me was the party system. It seems like you intended the party system, like a lot of other features, to be much more than what was shown here. You had six slots, but four of them are practically never used. Concerning the lack of AI for Sonny's allies, player control would fix two problems at once. Despite the problems, the good things FAR outweigh the bad.

You've sparked my interest and undoubtedly sparked many others. This series, if you choose to continue it, would be truly epic.


People find this review helpful!
Krinn responds:

Thanks,

You're right, the vision was bigger than the accomplishment so far, but don't worry we're getting there! Instead of having to write a new engine for Sonny 2 we will use this one and just keep improving it.

Krin


aMikaBooaMikaBoo

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2007

Really great game.

Very cool RPG, I like what we've seen of the story so far. I like the combat too, although it could be faster. Great skills, but some seem pointless, like Master Strike, it crits for less than Smash hits for, automatically making it completely useless (or maybe it's a skill for the class that stacks speed?) A great variety of skills too.

Only thing I didn't like about it was Veradux's AI, please improve it by making him not cast Re-Energise on a target with 100% focus. Please make it so he doesn't use Electro bolt when the target doesn't have a buff too, and perhaps not poison stuff with low HP considering it's a DoT and doesn't get much benefit from being applied to a target who is going to die soon. Maybe make him target the enemy you've targetted too, to help focus fire the thing you want to die.


People find this review helpful!
Krinn responds:

Master Strike is much more effective if you play Assassin, it would be your main damage spell. I didn't have time to design separate trees for each class, so the tree you have is just a mash up of all the abilities together.

I did the AI the best I could, but there are loads of room for improvement, so I'll be working on that as well, thanks! All these suggestions for the AI is great, it really helps. Now, only if I can pull it off...

Glad you enjoyed it!
- Krin


dread10dread10

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 29, 2009

cool.

this game is aswome.



Joseph-ConradJoseph-Conrad

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 31, 2007

Currently number one submission!!

Do you realise that this is currently the number one ranked submisson, being 0.1 above waterlollies? And it's not even on the front page...I'm sure it will get there eventually. I'll keep voting 5 until it does.

As for feedback, I have nothing more to add than what's already been said. I was addicted to Sinjid, this is 1000 times worse (because its so damn good).

Your work is just awesomeness incarnate. What are your long-term plans? Are you going into games development?


People find this review helpful!
Krinn responds:

My long term plans? That's a tough question...

I'm currently doing a Film and Video course right now in Central Saint Martins (It's a Design College in London), I don't know what I'll do next yet. I'm interested to go into the film/entertainment industry, but I'm also tempted to join the blood soaked arena of Fashion Design. Or I might just give up and do something more stable :D

I'm not sure how long I'll be doing Game Development for, right now my ultimate plan is to turn the RPG Engine into some kind of Flash based MMO like Runescape over the summer... That's sort of how far I want to take my Game design 'career' to, Although it would be mighty fun to work for people like Blizzard :D

- Krin