Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 28, 2007 | 8:55 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice January 2, 2008
  • Daily Feature December 29, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Dear Human,

Zombies. You've shot them, stabbed them, sliced and diced them. Today I put you in the shoes of a Zombie. Fight for your life in this crazy and twisted world.

After two solid months of production, we present to you this epic interactive tale of Sonny. I hope you like it!

- Krin

PS: I encourage everyone who has something to say to leave a review. I read everything, though I might not reply to all. If you have suggestions, ideas, go ahead! These games are made for YOU, people!

-----

One last note: If you really like the game, or you need help or get stuck, I encourage you strongly to sign up to our forum:

http://krinlabs.com/forum

You can discuss builds and tactics, or make suggestions (that actually get listened to!), and stay informed about the progress on our future projects! See you there!

USEFUL LINKS! Have a look at these if you need some help:

Ability Guide (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=658)
Team Mate Guide (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=662)
Game Walkthrough (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=703)
Zone 4 (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=723)
Guide 'n Build for Guardian (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=732)

Note: Remove the space between "foru m" so it says "forum" instead.

Also you can check my Profile blog for tactics for Zone 4 bosses.

-----

UDPATE (NOW LIVE!) Game has been patched according to user suggestions:

- Battles now run significantly faster.
- Block can only be used twice on your bar, but the cool down has been decreased.
- Paladin's Shield now has a much longer cool down.
- Rock Golems can no longer use Suppression. Health decreased, damage increased.
- Blade Shaman's heals now have a larger cool down, and he can no longer regen focus.
- All the audio is now in sync with the subtitles.
- You can now Re-Spec 5 times a day instead of once.
- Veradux's "Re-Energize" ability now only applies a buff that restores 10 focus per turn, so when he casts it on a target with full focus, you still get 90% of the benefit.

Noted Criticism (But will not be updated for Sonny):

- More sound controls
- Manual control over AI
- Item bug in inventory
- Smarter AI
- More animation variety
- Better storyline
- Non linear gameplay
- Better Cutscenes
- Better AI
- Better AI
- Better AI
- Better AI

If you guys see any more bugs or have things to criticize do tell me!

---

Final Thought: That's IT people, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! I HAVE HAD IT WITH THESE MOTHERF*CKING AI COMPLAINTS IN THESE MOTHERF*CKING REVIEWS! I GET THE MESSAGE, I WILL FIX IT! IF YOU COMPLAIN ABOUT AI IN YOUR REVIEW WITHOUT SOMETHING NEW TO SAY I SHALL CALL YOU A HOTDOG!

Sry caps... You were saying? :D

---

Super Final Thought: So many reviews are coming in now! I can't get around to answering everything like I used to be able to... I still read and note ALL reviews and criticism though, but if you want to hear answers from me directly best ask me in the forum where I can answer to batches of people at once, and other people can answer your questions too.

That's it! Just have fun and take it easy :D
- Krin

PS Webmasters: Whoever wants to host this game on their website can download it here:
http://armorgames.com/fre e-website-games/code/505/
sonny

Reviews


ZureTheDarkBeingZureTheDarkBeing

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2007

So you're the one who made Sinjid huh?

It's not surprise that this game had to be one of the top RPGs here, if it isn't already the best! However, I found a bug:
Once you defeated the ship's boss(es), you can go ahead to the beach at night. If you fight a Shadow Samurai and loose, you are back at the ship and even if you beat the boss douzands of times, you're trapped on the ship forever, because the game considers the blind guy as dead.
Anyway, everyone who played Sinjid is going to love this game!


People find this review helpful!
Krinn responds:

This is a common problem. It's not a bug, just a misconception. The game saves IMMEDIATELY after the battle, so you are saved ON the ship, AFTER the battle. BUT the map is unlocked. Now after the cut scene, it takes you automatically to the map. But you can also go to the map manually from the ship if you press the map button.

Hope this helps!

- Krin


BattleChairBattleChair

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2007

O.o

Flawless game. Absolutely flawless.



J-Dawg87J-Dawg87

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2007

absolutely remarkable game.

I have it saved and will be returning to it a bit later. I love the way it incorporates facets from many different RPG classics, as well as adding your own flair to it. The music is great, the battle system is superb, and I love the fact that you can re-spec when you find that a certain method isnt working for you. I only have 2 complaints, and neither of them big ones:

While the voice acting is excellent for the most part, at times it sounded forced. relax and let the emotion flow man. :)

my other complaint is the fact that there is yet ANOTHER game that I have to see through to the end now. damnit, I don't have time to be getting addicted to all these different games! :D

I'm sure someone may have already suggested this. but seeing as how its turn-based, a 2 player co-op isnt that big of a stretch. I think it would especially at new dimensions to boss battles, where strategy is paramount.

but anyway, an amazing piece of work, and I hope that this isnt anywhere near the last.


Krinn responds:

I'll forward your comment to the voice actor, though I believe that's just how you hear it, I don't think there is actually anything wrong with the acting. It's probably the dialogue, because that received the least attention.

I'm sorry it got addicting! That was never an intended aspect! :D

- Krin


NondoNondo

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2007

What a game breakthrough!

Who knew a game greater than Sinjid would appear!

>_> <_< However, the frustration in me just wants to come out right now from playing this game. Don't get me wrong, it's a game beyond games, just like how Sinjid was, but these two flaws are just killing me so hard deep down inside because I can't believe such an awesome game would have these kinds of flaws.

THE NUMBER ONE FLAW:
The shield ability (I believe it was called intervention), was just downright.... annoying. I don't mind the fact that it completely blocks all damage and regenerates your hp. I don't mind that at all. WHAT I DO MIND though is the fact that not only does it last a total of 8 repetitive and slow turns, but the idea to make it only cost like 150 mana for the paladin, and only like 20 mana for the illusions in the zone 4 training area is just gawd damn ridiculous. With such a skill as intervention, the idea of difficulty is no longer the focusing issue at this point, and the focusing issue goes towards repetitiveness. To sit there and wait a full 8 turns for the paladin's intervention to go down not only makes the player restless, but annoyed and bored from waiting such a long time, let alone the fact that he can cast it AGAIN RIGHT AFTER it goes away.

THE NUMBER TWO FLAW:
The whole idea of a one-day re-spec policy baffled me. I thought at first it was the idea of allowing people to re-spec every battle. That didn't happen, so I thought it was the idea of allowing people to re-spec every zone they finish.... that didn't happen. So.. then it hit me, what if the creator is telling us to wait ONE FULL DAY in real life before re-specing again? That's when anger hit me like a ton of bricks, when I went up against the baron and the paladin. My set stats and set skills weren't working against paladin, so I re-speced to beat him, but then when I had to face the paladin, my new re-speced skills weren't made for the paladin battle, so I was trying to re-spec, but I couldn't, seeing as how it told me to wait for tomorrow..... WHO puts up a policy for waiting a whole day in real life before re-specing again? I was so disappointed, I was almost about to quit, but I persevered through a whole damn hour to kill the damn paladin with my new build.

These two flaws combined just made the experience of playing this game so dissatisfying at the end. *sigh*

Well, I'm afraid my dissatisfaction doesn't end there though, seeing as how the AI system was definitely not on my "good-points" list. Honestly, I would not have minded manually controlling my teammates. I probably could of easily utilized my teammates into more battle efficient strategies, allowing for a more smoother game play and easier progression throughout the game. Yes, I did see your response to other people's reviews about the AI system, but my personal suggestion is for manual control over all teammates. I mean, wouldn't it get you frustrated when your teammates don't do what you want them to do?

Well, with the remaining amount of text characters I have left, I suppose I'll try to sum up the good things I liked about this game.

For one, the whole action integration system was well thought out, from the idea of selecting which target to attack, to being able to carefully plot out how many skills one could come up with for the 8 action slots, it was lots of fun to plan that stuff out.

Loved the music, DavidOrr's various song tracks went well with this game, and it's a good thing you used them for it.

Voices, I don't know who did them, but whoever did, I'd like to congratulate them on doing a splendid job on them. From the serious scenes, to the comedic humor, they did their part well.

Overall, it was by far one of greatest and most entertaining games I've ever played. I can't imagine it getting any better except by fixing those flaws that I mentioned. Other than that, I'm waiting in fierce anticipation for the next installment in this line of games. If the first one was THIS good, I can't possibly imagine what you'll have in stored for us in the next game. Spectacular comeback from Sinjid.

-Nondo


People find this review helpful!
Krinn responds:

Heya Nondo!

ZOMG that's a huge review! Thanks a lot for all the criticism, well appreciated.

1) The Intervention ability does not force you to wait 8 turns. The shield it generates is different to 'block.' Block mitigates all damage while it is up, but intervention can only absorb a bit of damage before the shielding effect wears off. The strongest intervention will have 600 hp. BUT, I'd say the best counter for enemy's intervention is electroBolt, you can dispel those shields easily. NEVERTHELESS, I've got this noted, and will improve next time, thanks for the analysis ;)

2) The One-Respec-Per-Day was actually a shot in the dark. I was thinking make them pay Euroes, but that would create a scaling problem. Per battle and zone won't really work... So I thought I'd try a real life day system to make the game have an appeal not just for one day. But putting the Paladin right after the Baron doomed that policy... You're right. I will fix that, maybe change it to 3 re-specs a day. I DO want the make the re-specs feel somewhat valuable. Do you have any other alternatives you'd like to suggest? (You can PM me)

3) I will probably find a way to make your units manually controlled for the next game. Like, you can choose to have them on auto, or on controlled. There is something fun about them being slightly out of control though, I think. For normal battles they behave pretty well (even though AI module is only half finished, due to time pressure), and in some cases, can compensate for a player who's skill in the game is below average. But for tough fights like the Doctor (in Zone 4), where everyone needs to perform will laser guided precision, I'd also prefer to have full control over my team.

One of the biggest downsides of Sinjid was the sound, so I thought why not pay attention to that and fix it up... So yeah I'm glad you liked David's stuff!

The voices were all done by one person! Can you believe it!? Andrew Dennis is a very talented voice actor!

Thanks for the suggestion and monster sized review, I'm glad you liked it!

- Krin


PainjesterPainjester

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2007

yeah

great game not much to say against
so i'll just list the bugs as far as i'll advance ingame just to inform
btw i've played the german version, i'm pleasantly suprised that one's able to select a different language, a big plus for that !
- my converse allstars don't have a static image, but one which is randomly going crazy and showing diverse things. irritating
- some german phrases are overlapping each other, for expample in the violett skill menu's infobar
- inconsequent translation (the exclamation-mark-button in the fightung scenery is still in english, so is the space-to-skip information and the clothing info in inventory)
that's all for now. as i said, its a great game and i only try to list some problems to contribute to its improvement.


People find this review helpful!