Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 28, 2007 | 8:55 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice January 2, 2008
  • Daily Feature December 29, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Dear Human,

Zombies. You've shot them, stabbed them, sliced and diced them. Today I put you in the shoes of a Zombie. Fight for your life in this crazy and twisted world.

After two solid months of production, we present to you this epic interactive tale of Sonny. I hope you like it!

- Krin

PS: I encourage everyone who has something to say to leave a review. I read everything, though I might not reply to all. If you have suggestions, ideas, go ahead! These games are made for YOU, people!

-----

One last note: If you really like the game, or you need help or get stuck, I encourage you strongly to sign up to our forum:

http://krinlabs.com/forum

You can discuss builds and tactics, or make suggestions (that actually get listened to!), and stay informed about the progress on our future projects! See you there!

USEFUL LINKS! Have a look at these if you need some help:

Ability Guide (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=658)
Team Mate Guide (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=662)
Game Walkthrough (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=703)
Zone 4 (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=723)
Guide 'n Build for Guardian (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=732)

Note: Remove the space between "foru m" so it says "forum" instead.

Also you can check my Profile blog for tactics for Zone 4 bosses.

-----

UDPATE (NOW LIVE!) Game has been patched according to user suggestions:

- Battles now run significantly faster.
- Block can only be used twice on your bar, but the cool down has been decreased.
- Paladin's Shield now has a much longer cool down.
- Rock Golems can no longer use Suppression. Health decreased, damage increased.
- Blade Shaman's heals now have a larger cool down, and he can no longer regen focus.
- All the audio is now in sync with the subtitles.
- You can now Re-Spec 5 times a day instead of once.
- Veradux's "Re-Energize" ability now only applies a buff that restores 10 focus per turn, so when he casts it on a target with full focus, you still get 90% of the benefit.

Noted Criticism (But will not be updated for Sonny):

- More sound controls
- Manual control over AI
- Item bug in inventory
- Smarter AI
- More animation variety
- Better storyline
- Non linear gameplay
- Better Cutscenes
- Better AI
- Better AI
- Better AI
- Better AI

If you guys see any more bugs or have things to criticize do tell me!

---

Final Thought: That's IT people, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! I HAVE HAD IT WITH THESE MOTHERF*CKING AI COMPLAINTS IN THESE MOTHERF*CKING REVIEWS! I GET THE MESSAGE, I WILL FIX IT! IF YOU COMPLAIN ABOUT AI IN YOUR REVIEW WITHOUT SOMETHING NEW TO SAY I SHALL CALL YOU A HOTDOG!

Sry caps... You were saying? :D

---

Super Final Thought: So many reviews are coming in now! I can't get around to answering everything like I used to be able to... I still read and note ALL reviews and criticism though, but if you want to hear answers from me directly best ask me in the forum where I can answer to batches of people at once, and other people can answer your questions too.

That's it! Just have fun and take it easy :D
- Krin

PS Webmasters: Whoever wants to host this game on their website can download it here:
http://armorgames.com/fre e-website-games/code/505/
sonny

Reviews


aguydudeaguydude

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 30, 2007

Great game.

The battle system is fun, as is the game. A few comments, many of which you've probably already heard:
1. Using time of day in RL is a bad idea, especially considering that many users will try to go through the game in one sitting and other users will just edit their time settings as needed. I suggest resetting such requirements after every certain number of battles, thus still enabling users who get "stuck" with bad setups to fight through training battles (users can go to an earlier area in the game if stuck in an especially awful setup). Alternatively, have such resets cost exp or a level.
2. It's frustrating to have an enemy cast instant death when the ally that will die is going to get his/her turn before Sonny does. Please change the counter to "2" instead of "1".
3. Some indicator other than tooltips to indicate if a particular ability can be upgraded at the current level would be helpful.
4. Sometimes enemy name indicators do not disappear even after their defeat. I suspect this may be caused by some sort of hack put in place for when enemies are defeated in the "wrong" order, but I'm just guessing. This is purely an aesthetic issue.
5. If it was possible to see the differences between current equipment and new equipment (e.g. when buying armor, seeing that it will boost char 2's focus by 5 but drop his ice piercing by 3) would make buying equipment less tedious).


People find this review helpful!
Krinn responds:

1. Noted, many people have said this, I will improve it.
2. I can't change this for Sonny, it will require too much coding for a fix, but it will come in the next project. I suggest you pick team members will lower speed, or equip some speed items. Lasting 2 turns won't work, because it is actually just a DoT that deals 9999 per tick.
3. This should already be there, when you mouse over an Abilty in your menu, the required level should be in yellow (Next Lvl: 9 for example).
4. I've seen this once, it is a bug, no idea why it happens. I'll get around to fixing it.
5. That is a very good idea! I'll try to implement it next time!

Thanks!

- Krin


FatzbiscutFatzbiscut

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 30, 2007

Flippin' Excellent

This is seriously the best flash game I have ever played, reminds me a bit of Swords and Sandals, but this is done WAAAAAY better! I love this game and have already spent hours playing it. Battles seem balanced, with great depth in to strategy added in.

A few tweaks would help though. More armor/weapon types would help so you could customize your character more, better choosing the attributes you would like. Increase battle speed, watching the slow animations does get old after many battles. Also, the AI is really good but tends to do dumb stuff, like attack enemies with shields when there is a different viable option, and cast heal and re-energize on teamates who don't need it.

Other than that, this is the best game I have ever played, and will continue to play it while I cannot wait for the continuation!


People find this review helpful!
Krinn responds:

Good suggestions! I will do almost all of those things for the next RPG, but also put a few of those fixes into Sonny.

- Krin


aMikaBooaMikaBoo

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2007

Really great game.

Very cool RPG, I like what we've seen of the story so far. I like the combat too, although it could be faster. Great skills, but some seem pointless, like Master Strike, it crits for less than Smash hits for, automatically making it completely useless (or maybe it's a skill for the class that stacks speed?) A great variety of skills too.

Only thing I didn't like about it was Veradux's AI, please improve it by making him not cast Re-Energise on a target with 100% focus. Please make it so he doesn't use Electro bolt when the target doesn't have a buff too, and perhaps not poison stuff with low HP considering it's a DoT and doesn't get much benefit from being applied to a target who is going to die soon. Maybe make him target the enemy you've targetted too, to help focus fire the thing you want to die.


People find this review helpful!
Krinn responds:

Master Strike is much more effective if you play Assassin, it would be your main damage spell. I didn't have time to design separate trees for each class, so the tree you have is just a mash up of all the abilities together.

I did the AI the best I could, but there are loads of room for improvement, so I'll be working on that as well, thanks! All these suggestions for the AI is great, it really helps. Now, only if I can pull it off...

Glad you enjoyed it!
- Krin


Random194Random194

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2007

Fun!

i loved it, so customizable! i dont usually like these strategy "i hit you, you hit me" kind of games, but this one was really fun. i really like being able to choose the character type and the abilities and the attributes. the only thing that i'd want more is to customize the look of the character and maybe for the screen to be a bit more zoomed in, but it was a wonderful game altogther. make more!



5143051430

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2007

Excellent work!

This game was excellent! It must have taken a long time to create, and it sure did pay off! But the cutscenes' voices and text were very out of sync, and no amount of graphical tune-down fixed this. This, however, did not take away from it's greatness; at least, not greatly, but it would be nice to fix this minor bug. I haven't finished this yet, but i plan to soon. I hope you will make more of these (with or without ArmorGames-- i'm not sure if you pair up with these), as they kick ass!


People find this review helpful!