Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 28, 2007 | 8:55 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice January 2, 2008
  • Daily Feature December 29, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Dear Human,

Zombies. You've shot them, stabbed them, sliced and diced them. Today I put you in the shoes of a Zombie. Fight for your life in this crazy and twisted world.

After two solid months of production, we present to you this epic interactive tale of Sonny. I hope you like it!

- Krin

PS: I encourage everyone who has something to say to leave a review. I read everything, though I might not reply to all. If you have suggestions, ideas, go ahead! These games are made for YOU, people!

-----

One last note: If you really like the game, or you need help or get stuck, I encourage you strongly to sign up to our forum:

http://krinlabs.com/forum

You can discuss builds and tactics, or make suggestions (that actually get listened to!), and stay informed about the progress on our future projects! See you there!

USEFUL LINKS! Have a look at these if you need some help:

Ability Guide (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=658)
Team Mate Guide (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=662)
Game Walkthrough (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=703)
Zone 4 (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=723)
Guide 'n Build for Guardian (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=732)

Note: Remove the space between "foru m" so it says "forum" instead.

Also you can check my Profile blog for tactics for Zone 4 bosses.

-----

UDPATE (NOW LIVE!) Game has been patched according to user suggestions:

- Battles now run significantly faster.
- Block can only be used twice on your bar, but the cool down has been decreased.
- Paladin's Shield now has a much longer cool down.
- Rock Golems can no longer use Suppression. Health decreased, damage increased.
- Blade Shaman's heals now have a larger cool down, and he can no longer regen focus.
- All the audio is now in sync with the subtitles.
- You can now Re-Spec 5 times a day instead of once.
- Veradux's "Re-Energize" ability now only applies a buff that restores 10 focus per turn, so when he casts it on a target with full focus, you still get 90% of the benefit.

Noted Criticism (But will not be updated for Sonny):

- More sound controls
- Manual control over AI
- Item bug in inventory
- Smarter AI
- More animation variety
- Better storyline
- Non linear gameplay
- Better Cutscenes
- Better AI
- Better AI
- Better AI
- Better AI

If you guys see any more bugs or have things to criticize do tell me!

---

Final Thought: That's IT people, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! I HAVE HAD IT WITH THESE MOTHERF*CKING AI COMPLAINTS IN THESE MOTHERF*CKING REVIEWS! I GET THE MESSAGE, I WILL FIX IT! IF YOU COMPLAIN ABOUT AI IN YOUR REVIEW WITHOUT SOMETHING NEW TO SAY I SHALL CALL YOU A HOTDOG!

Sry caps... You were saying? :D

---

Super Final Thought: So many reviews are coming in now! I can't get around to answering everything like I used to be able to... I still read and note ALL reviews and criticism though, but if you want to hear answers from me directly best ask me in the forum where I can answer to batches of people at once, and other people can answer your questions too.

That's it! Just have fun and take it easy :D
- Krin

PS Webmasters: Whoever wants to host this game on their website can download it here:
http://armorgames.com/fre e-website-games/code/505/
sonny

Reviews


qazmatozqazmatoz

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 31, 2007

Dialogue Sync is way off

From what I can tell this is a great game, but the intro and all combat text always appears before the voice acting which leads to delays and text just dragging on in dead silence. Fix that shit, yo.


People find this review helpful!
Krinn responds:

This has been fixed, it will just take time for the admins to update it :)

- Krin


lucky7slucky7s

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 31, 2007

awsome game but...

everything about this game was great. From the story to job classes but the few things i would have to say thats kinda sucked was the fact the assassin class really didn't have alot of skill that was based of speed if i remember correctly only 1 skill was speed based. The last thing is the boss doctor herregod with that much hp its gonna be like a 5 hour fight....

but over all its a great game but i think it needs a little tweaking. I'm giving a 8/10 because a big part of the game was all about the stats and imo its the stats that needed tweaking.


Krinn responds:

The only two skills with speed co-efficients are Master Strike and Quick Strike. You are right, he does have little options, but since speed also increases crit chance for all skills, that makes even some strength based skills more valuable. You'd still want to use things like Sunder, Break, maybe even some support abilities. But I'll add more options next time.

You're not meant to kill all the Doctor's HP to beat him. I'll give you a tip, at 99% HP, he heals himself for 2,000,000 health. Can you figure it out? :P

Thanks!
- Krin


greeneggs4spamgreeneggs4spam

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 31, 2007

Wonderful Game!

This is a really amazing game, all around and I really enjoyed playing it! I love the story line and the little break scenes before some of the fights. I also like how the characters change looks with different equipment and how the skill system works, although I have to say that I really only used 2-3 skills over and over by putting them more than once in my bar, so maybe make more skills more useful, although a lot of the defensive skills seemed useful, I just took an offensive path. That said, the battles do get a little long and drawn out, but since the game effectively ended after the 3rd level it's understandable and not that bad. I just wish that skills would do more damage or maybe lower healing abilities for both sides. I liked the different classes and how they were different, but not really restrictive to any playing style. Also I didn't like the timer, the battles got so long that I watched tv and did the battles half paying attention, but the timer doesn't let you do that. Other than that I think it's obscene that omen has 320,000 hp, that would take way way too long, so I just gave up, maybe it's a mistake and he should have 32,000 hp?

Other than that, a bug is that you can select any equipped item, then drag in and replace any item with it and then click on your character and then whatever item you replaced will be equipped in the original items spot. This way you can equip all slots with the weapons you can buy in lvl 4.

Overall really great game though! I don't really expect you to make any big changes since it's pretty much perfect, so wonderful job, especially for such a short period!

Also, I don't understand why everybody is so upset about their partner, I thought that their AI was pretty good, it never let me down. Maybe people rely too much on their partner, but I don't know... I think it gives it a neat aspect since you are playing as a character, and of course you can't control the other characters, you can only influence them (defensive, tactical, aggressive), kind of like if they were really your teammates.


Krinn responds:

Omen is meant to have 320,000 HP but there is a trick to beating him. All the boss fights aren't meant to last much more than 5-6 minutes on average. He uses a de-buff on himself, that makes him take loads of extra damage. Now that extra damage is added BEFORE piercing effects, so if you equip Veradux with full Paladin set, his Poison Bolt will crit for 34,000 on Omen with the de-buff active.

Thanks
- Krin


wdai2010wdai2010

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 31, 2007

the ai partner is retarded

good concept and decent game, altho the fact you can't control your partner makes it extremely fucking frustrating most of the time. and no, changing his fighting stance (aggressive, tactical and defensive) doesn't make it any smarter. Honestly if you are given control of the partner it would be so much better.

yea, thats the only reason why i rated this thing 6. just so fucking frustrating.


Krinn responds:

Sorry about that, I probably will add manual control as an option.

- Krin


ClordesClordes

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 30, 2007

Excellent, well-polished game

This was very enjoyable, and it surprised me that I spent many hours beating the entire thing. Kudos to you for making such an addictive game. I'm sure you've already been bugged about the whole respec issue, so I'll just be looking forward to whatever update you manage to pull together. You seem to already have addressed the major issues that i found with the game, such as the AI not being completely efficient. I'm sure nobody will complain if you gave us control of all 3 characters to resemble something along the lines of FFX's battle system. Probably the only gameplay mechanic that could possibly be improved on (other than speed of course) is the addition of more armor/weapons. It would have been nice to fully customize my character to protect myself from or pierce through a chosen element and not take a massive hit to my stats. But nonetheless, the game is already impressively customizable for a flash game, so it may not really be necessary.

Hold onto the battle interface for future games. The fact that you limited us to 8 abilities at all times made me really think about what I wanted to use. This effectively removed all useless abilities that you'd find in other games of the same type. Note that in the secret zone you have to wait for the enemy's time bar to make a full cycle before he moves and you get your turn. This isn't really neccesary, seeing as I usually ended up waiting to see what the enemy did before i made a decision on my own move anyway.

Other than that, great job. I haven't seen an rpg game so well polished and bug free in years. This is as good as it gets in terms of levelling up and your ability system. I'd just like to use all the same abilities as those of my AI's. Like shadow blend would have been really cool had i been able to control it, and relying on my assassin to cast it and perform a master strike didn't quite cut it.

As a side note, I was finally able to beat the final boss. But this came only after about 20 minutes of grinding it out and using that really cheap blocking trick and the occasional electrical bolt. Is there an easier way to do beat him? As a guardian I found it harder to hit him with his higher speed, so i couldnt rely on using a focus breaker attack all the time.

Great job, I look forward to your future releases.


People find this review helpful!
Krinn responds:

Your suggestions are noted, I will also fix up the timer system so it's more effective.

I nerfed the Block so you'll have to find another legitimate way to beat Sinjid now :D He IS really has and you are really slow so maybe you should equip 1-2 speed items, and keep 3/3 Cripple on him. Some moves have speed co-efficient too: Electro, Quick-strike, Cripple, Break. They have a higher chance to hit.

Thanks!
- Krin