Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 28, 2007 | 8:55 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice January 2, 2008
  • Daily Feature December 29, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Dear Human,

Zombies. You've shot them, stabbed them, sliced and diced them. Today I put you in the shoes of a Zombie. Fight for your life in this crazy and twisted world.

After two solid months of production, we present to you this epic interactive tale of Sonny. I hope you like it!

- Krin

PS: I encourage everyone who has something to say to leave a review. I read everything, though I might not reply to all. If you have suggestions, ideas, go ahead! These games are made for YOU, people!

-----

One last note: If you really like the game, or you need help or get stuck, I encourage you strongly to sign up to our forum:

http://krinlabs.com/forum

You can discuss builds and tactics, or make suggestions (that actually get listened to!), and stay informed about the progress on our future projects! See you there!

USEFUL LINKS! Have a look at these if you need some help:

Ability Guide (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=658)
Team Mate Guide (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=662)
Game Walkthrough (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=703)
Zone 4 (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=723)
Guide 'n Build for Guardian (http://krinlabs.com/foru m/viewtopic.php?t=732)

Note: Remove the space between "foru m" so it says "forum" instead.

Also you can check my Profile blog for tactics for Zone 4 bosses.

-----

UDPATE (NOW LIVE!) Game has been patched according to user suggestions:

- Battles now run significantly faster.
- Block can only be used twice on your bar, but the cool down has been decreased.
- Paladin's Shield now has a much longer cool down.
- Rock Golems can no longer use Suppression. Health decreased, damage increased.
- Blade Shaman's heals now have a larger cool down, and he can no longer regen focus.
- All the audio is now in sync with the subtitles.
- You can now Re-Spec 5 times a day instead of once.
- Veradux's "Re-Energize" ability now only applies a buff that restores 10 focus per turn, so when he casts it on a target with full focus, you still get 90% of the benefit.

Noted Criticism (But will not be updated for Sonny):

- More sound controls
- Manual control over AI
- Item bug in inventory
- Smarter AI
- More animation variety
- Better storyline
- Non linear gameplay
- Better Cutscenes
- Better AI
- Better AI
- Better AI
- Better AI

If you guys see any more bugs or have things to criticize do tell me!

---

Final Thought: That's IT people, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! I HAVE HAD IT WITH THESE MOTHERF*CKING AI COMPLAINTS IN THESE MOTHERF*CKING REVIEWS! I GET THE MESSAGE, I WILL FIX IT! IF YOU COMPLAIN ABOUT AI IN YOUR REVIEW WITHOUT SOMETHING NEW TO SAY I SHALL CALL YOU A HOTDOG!

Sry caps... You were saying? :D

---

Super Final Thought: So many reviews are coming in now! I can't get around to answering everything like I used to be able to... I still read and note ALL reviews and criticism though, but if you want to hear answers from me directly best ask me in the forum where I can answer to batches of people at once, and other people can answer your questions too.

That's it! Just have fun and take it easy :D
- Krin

PS Webmasters: Whoever wants to host this game on their website can download it here:
http://armorgames.com/fre e-website-games/code/505/
sonny

Reviews


WoramotWoramot

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 31, 2007

Wow.

For once, YOU're the zombie. Not the hunter. I like.



WoWzahWoWzah

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 31, 2007

awesome!

I think that this game is one of best games i have played! nice storyline and all. i really liked this game! keep it going!



ethandabombethandabomb

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 31, 2007

that was awsome

that was realy good, the updates you mentioned make it sound even cooler :D 5/5



BozzetticmBozzetticm

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 31, 2007

Simply Amazing!!!

I'm going to be honest, I'm not the reviewer type, I'm the play tons of games and thats it kinda guy. But honestly I'm a huge Zombie gamer, I love all shapes and forms of them, but I had never imagined a RPG where you play as a nearly zombified man. The gameplay was smooth, the story line wasn't meaningless, the different classes actually offer different gameplay value. Amazing. Simply amazing, keep it u guys and I could see this game hitting console without a doubt. Your scholars and gentleman, the lot of you, keep up the damned good work!

Suggestions:
Less Enemies with healing powers, keep that skill to medics and such
Team attacks
Less linear gameplay (Players love to roam)


People find this review helpful!
Krinn responds:

Thanks for the suggestions!

-I'm working on nerfing the enemy heals, sit tight :D
-Team attacks would cramp the simplicity of the system. In all effectiveness, the team is working as a whole. Imagine (I know this isn't the case right now) that this was online multilayer, 3v3: You have a Gunslinger, Guardian, Destro setup. You could for example, stack 2 Magic bolts on one target, and have the Destro use Coup De Grace for maximum effect... That's how I want the 'team' to operate as a whole :D
-Less linear game play, I agree with this 100%. The only thing that stopped us from doing this is our time constraints. But now that we have the combat system finished, I'll add a full fledged movement/walking system into the next one, and there will be a lot more roaming! :D You Romans...

Thanks for playing!
- Krin


KyandorKyandor

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 31, 2007

Well...

I was gonna give this game 7/10, but I gave it 8 after reading the recent updates.

The only problem is that I played this game without those updates, so Rock Golem was still using Supression and Blade Shaman was still healing a lot, and if I clear my cache and re-load the game, I'll lose my savegame, and I don't feel like doing it all over again. =/

Anyway, I have some more suggestions:
- No side-effect stacking - By this, I mean that, for example, a character can't suffer from the same negative effect more than once. This happened a lot while fighting Ghost Samurais, they'd just keep causing Void a lot. It once happened that I got 3 Voids at the same time, so I received a lot of damage-over-time and also a lot of damage when I got hit. :/
- Reduce the number of enemies with healing skills - I mean, this sucks. A LOT of enemies have healing skills and they use it a lot, and it doesn't waste enough Focus for them. Shamans of Death have healing skills, so they can cause a lot of damage AND self-heal (why the hell a Shaman of DEATH can heal, anyway? Doesn't make sense), Shamans of Life have TWO healing skills AND can regen Focus, this can cause a battle to take way too long unless the player's characters are overpowered. Seriously, enemy healing in this game REALLY cripples this game.

This is my opinion, maybe others won't agree, but I simply don't feel like playing it to the end with the battles taking so long to be finished. =/


Krinn responds:

Buffs can be made to stack or not to stack. But I choose to make Void stack because if it doesn't, it wouldn't really be a threat. I think you just have to down those Samurai's faster, or spec Heroic Motivation so you can dispel it.

Now, I agree with the enemy healing issue. The balance here wasn't designed very well. The battles are not meant to last very long, and Focus was supposed to be the 'count down' timer but as you can see something went horribly wrong :D The updates should fix up some of this though. Maybe you don't do enough damage? If this is the case, then try spec into Disrupt, and just drain all their Focus.

Hope this helps!
- Krin