Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 7, 2007 | 2:26 PM EST
  • Daily 4th Place November 8, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

If you REALLY feel like skipping the tutorial levels (not recommended), type "Flamingo" on the title screen.

The long awaited sequel to my first successful game is finally here. After nearly 2 years of work (or lack thereof, I'm a slacker) my massive game is FINALLY done. 150 challenging levels, a simple concept with a lot of depth, a user friendly level editor with many ways to share your creation, and simply DELICIOUS isometric graphics make this puzzle game one of the most addicting games I've ever made. If the game lags for you, switch the quality to low (right-click menu).

The game auto-saves your progress, so feel free to leave and continue later.

HOTKEYS:

SHIFT- Hide/Unhide Blocks
ENTER- "Next Level" on the win level screen
BACKSPACE- Reset Level
Any Key- Close the Description Menu
SPACE- Open the list of blocks (editor only)

Arrows- Move Knight
A- Dynamite
S- Run
D- Push Block

Programming/Music/Level Design/Concept- Glaiel Gamer
3D Art (In-Game Art)- Orb
Menu/HUD Art - The Swain
Sponsorship- Newgrounds

Thanks to everyone who submitted levels for the fan sets, there's 50 levels total so I can't list everyone here, you all got credited in the game though.

BTW, if you want to play server levels or submit levels to the server, play the game on glaielgames.com. For security and bandwidth reasons, I had to lock anything dealing with the database to files on my server. If you've already beaten the tutorial and don't wish to play through it again, use "the code".

Enjoy!

Reviews


sleevysleevy

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 23, 2008

Nice!

I liked this game very much. Here is the code for my level:l0000000000000ce0000000000000cg 010000000000000c00000000000000c
0000l00000000000000l000000000000lllll llll00000000000000l00000hhhhhhh00l000 00
qqqqqqh00l00000q000tqh00l000000000b01 qh00l000000hh00qh00l0000000000qh
00l00000s0000qh00000000aaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
aaaaa
aaaaaaaaaaaafaaaaaaaaaaffafffffffaaaa faaaaaaaaadaaaaeeeeeeeeeafaaaaaaaaaaa aeaf
aaaaaaaaaaaaeafaaaaaaaaaaaaeafaaaaaaa aaaaaeafaaaaaaaaaaaaeafaaaaaaaaaaaaea fa
aaaaaaaaaaaeffaaaa
My level takes a while to beat.



IvaronIvaron

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 23, 2008

Lots of potential, but some things ruin it.

I remember testing this game a long time ago, well I've finally found out it's been submitted like half a year ago.. Tthis game has alot of potential, and with the variety of the blocks it makes for endless possibilities in level design. The puzzles can be pretty hard, and take alot of thinking. Sometimes even thinking outside the box, literally and figuratively.
There are just a few things that keep me, and I think alot of people with me, from fully enjoying the game.

1. The music is really boring. I mean, everyone has a different taste in music, but I think alot of people will agree that it was boring. I ended up listening to my own music after the first few levels, but that just drew my attention from the game.

2. The isometric view of the levels makes it sometimes hard to push blocks correctly. The isometric view forces you to press three keys at the same time (two arrow keys, and the D key) to push a block. Sometimes the little knight won't respond fast enough to the arrow keys, and push in the wrong direction. Often, this will completely ruin the level and you have to start over. I don't see how this could possible be "fixed", as it's just an unfortunate side-effect, but it does suck when it happens.

3. The graphics look very good, but really boring. The whole scenery and look of it all just doesn't entertain me. Of course, it's a puzzle game, and it doesn't have to look good, but it could at least be a bit more... upbeat.

4. Sometimes it takes a while just to push the blocks, and the knight seems to walk really slow when going vertically or horizontally (even when running). What's more, the game lags ALOT in bigger levels (especially ones with fire blocks), which is surprising for such seemingly simple graphics. When you blow up blocks, or push your fifth block into a firelake, the explosion animations take way too long. That wouldn't be so bad, if it weren't for the fact you actually have to wait until the explosion ends before you can walk on the tile. That just adds to the frustration of playing a slow-paced game. It's like; 'yay, I've figured out how to beat this level! Oh.. but now I actually have to push blocks and wait around alot before I can get to the next level'. Anyway, since this game really is all about figuring out the puzzles, it would be nice if the actual process of pushing blocks would take less time.

5: Sometimes there are very complex puzzles where you push a block into a firelake and do something else, then get back to the firelake, etc, and it's easy to forget how many blocks are in the firelake. It would be handy if the firelake would display a little number that tells you how many blocks it still needs (preferably the number only shows up when you press shift). Mostly it doesn't matter, but in some cases it can be really annoying to forget how many blocks you still have push into the firelake.

6: The learning curve is all over the place. The tutorial is easy in most cases, but then there's a few levels here and there that are harder. I get that, but it would probably be better if the tutorial wasn't a seperate set of levels, but rather that it would be mixed with the first set of actual challenge levels so you could learn the game as you go, instead of spending alot of time learning it, and then finally actually playing the game. Then you could just have it so that when you finish the first set of levels, the editor, second set of levels and first set of fanmade levels open up. The first set of fanmade's should only contain blocks used in the first normal set. Then the second normal set has a few more new blocks to learn and opens up the third set, second fanmade set and new blocks for the level editor.

7: This is the kind of game that you need to play in sessions, because it gets boring fast if you play it in one go. Considering this, it really bugged me that when I close the game to play again another day, it didn't save my progress :(

So all in all, alot of potential, but please consider these suggestions for Blockslide 3 if you ever make it.


People find this review helpful!

valentina66valentina66

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 22, 2008

Nice game

I liked the game, liked the graphics and it's hard but it's not impossible to play. The only problem was that after playing a little i lost the interest... well, it happens.



wjacobbwjacobb

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 20, 2008

good

fun puzzle game hard but addicting



nuyorican89nuyorican89

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 16, 2008

Great Game

1. Great Graphics/Animation; Everything is smooth; Unique Style
2. Great Length; Many levels
3. Keeps you interested; Constant updates to each level, new blocks to move
4. Difficult, but not impossible; I find myself stuck for a long time and think maybe the maker messed up in the game.. but he didn't... I was just dumb!

I only made it to lvl 13.. but so far, the game's flawless. (If you like puzzles) If there's any mistakes after lvl 13, then I take it back haha. But so far, i give it a 10.


People find this review helpful!