Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 5, 2007 | 10:42 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice November 7, 2007
  • Review Crew Pick November 7, 2007
  • Daily Feature November 6, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

It's a huge honour to have won the first NG Tank Award.
To be honest, Brackenwood wouldn't be what it is today without the generosity of Newgrounds and the supportive community here.
Thanks everyone for the years of support :D

---

Waterlollies: Bitey's short-sighted arrogance lands him in a world of hurt.

If you have a slow computer, you will probably experience severe frame-dropping throughout some actionscripted particle scenes. Flash Player 9 required, fast computer and Safari browser (the best for viewing Flash movies) strongly recommended

- - update:
- - if you're having trouble viewing it at 25fps, Waterlollies is now on YouTube. Check my channel:
- - youtube.com/chluaid
- - don't forget to come back here and review/rate :)

edit: thanks for the Portal Awards and front page, and thanks everyone for the amazing score and all the great reviews!

For hardcore Brackenwood fans this will be nothing too new, apart from one or two new creatures. Anyone new to Brackenwood will find this is the most complete Brackenwood story so far. Still I have lots of work to do on my story skills so future Brackenwood movies will have greater depth.

Thanks to Newgrounds, this movie was scored professionally by Nathan McCree. He's the guy that did the music on the Tomb Raider games (!) so I'm grateful that he agreed to work on this with me. Thanks to him and Tom Fulp, this movie sounds amazing.

Thanks also to Michael Welsh for ironing out some actionscript bugs for me at the last minute!

Reviews


LewishadowLewishadow

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 8, 2008

An astounding technical achievement

An amazing look at what flash can really do. Still, it feels slightly random, like it's just creatures running around without much purpose in the way of a story or any kind of development.
Top score on the tech side of it though.



SwagRoySwagRoy

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 4, 2008

Good!

Pretty, but kind of boring.



AIDSAPEAIDSAPE

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 4, 2008

that was pretty

wow were some nice graphics
but why didnt he just throw them up by sticking his finger in his mouth :P
funny story ^_^



mikewoodmikewood

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 2, 2009

Amazing BUT

I think this was absolutely fascinating. The art style is the best I have ever seen on New grounds. I never write reviews on here but I really think this deserved one. Your imagination and attention to detail is easily professional standard. The visual quality and character concepts are fantastic!

You are very imaginative when it comes to your visual designs, you obviously have a lot of talent in that respect. Now I don't think I am the only one who thinks it but your story development is pretty lacking. I mean, don't get me wrong, I love the randomness of it. This is not a complaint, more of a suggestion, but I do think you should apply your amazing artistic talent on something which has a consistent storyline. I mean, develop an overall plot to flow through a series of animations. Write a story from begging to end which has a continues plot. I mean, you are extremely well known, therefore people WILL jump at the chance of voice acting for you.

Just to let you know, I wouldn't be saying this if I didn't see the potential in your imagination. Like I said before your character designs are fantastic, which tells me that you do HAVE a great sense of imagination.

Look at anime for a good idea of what I mean, not the style but the story development. Elfen Lied, Apple Seed etc...If I had your skills in art and animation I wouldn't waste it on random animated shorts such as this, I would work on something more epic and cinematic.

I hope you take my ideas into consideration.



CrazyRussianSniperCrazyRussianSniper

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 4, 2008

cool

amazing quality, good story, but a little to artsy for my taste. nice music. im defenatley gonna check ur other stuff.