Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


Nin10dNin10d

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars 5 days ago

I just hate glad0s watching me but other than that awesome game! :D



MEGAJAME5MEGAJAME5

Rated 5 / 5 stars 13 days ago

I love doing an infinite loop like in the loading



darklink903darklink903

Rated 4 / 5 stars 2 weeks ago

Great game! I made a playthrough of it, in case anyone was interested: <http://youtu.be/aNzsqQ57Bqg>

There were only a few issues with the game. There were random lag-spikes that would occasionally cause problems. It wasn’t usually a bit deal unless it was something that required a lot of speed. Granted, I was using Fraps, so that may have had something to do with it. The absence of GLaDOS was a little bit disappointing. I personally think GLaDOS was the best part of Portal, but that would be pretty difficult to pull off in a flash game, so that’s not really important. The game was pretty slow, though, and my computer is pretty decent. It was obviously playable and enjoyable, but still kinda choppy. It did run better without Fraps, but it was still not totally smooth.

As a whole, though, this game was great! I was really impressed with what was done with a simple flash game. The puzzles were thought provoking but not too difficult. The gravity mechanics were decent and usable. I guess the sound was a little lacking. I don’t think it was really anything special, but that’s not a big deal. Everything else was just like a condensed, 2D portal game. :)



AwesomeSauce409AwesomeSauce409

Rated 5 / 5 stars 1 month ago

CANT BEAT PAST LVL 9
HARD



XXkennazXXXXkennazXX

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars August 13, 2014

I have a decent computer , and the game's really slow , which was a shame b/c I was looking forward to play the game ..