Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


ILIKEPIELOLILIKEPIELOL

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars May 17, 2008

i know people will rate this review useless but...

Its one of the really good popular games that I don't like you know people you hear of a great game one of the best in the world, and when u play it you don't like it. This was the reaction from me. Sorry.



NeocroneNeocrone

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars April 26, 2011

nice try :/

i played portal 1 and 2.....both games are totally awesome.....but this isn't. i give 3 stars for the level designs. controls are really horrible. even if you aim at the right spot with the portal device, the portal isn't set. charachter moves snd slides WAY to fast. in portal/2 the player moves smoothly through portals, jumps are controlable and gameplay is fair (enough). in your game the player sometimes stands in a portal without moving through, jumping onto the right spot is quite hard and setting a portal while in jump (totally possible in portal/2 ) is real impossible. also the male test subject doesn't fit into the portal world. chell was and is the only living test subject. sry nice try :/ wasn't good



JayFlyJayFly

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars March 11, 2012

Cool Game, but very complicated.



BrogBrog

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

This game is just a big pile of garbage.
-Player and item clips very easily with walls and panels, resulting in erratic death or unobtainable cubes.
-A few puzzles seem to have unnecessary elements, which seems like lazy design.
-Unlike 3D Portal, your movement input does not translate properly after going through portals of different directions. Spastic momentum doesn't help either.
-To top it all off there is no quicksaving nor checkpoints, making the later puzzles extremely infuriating coupled with the issues stated above.
It seems that the only reason people like this below-average platformer is because of the Portal franchise alone, having such a reputable place in internet pop culture. I'm giving it a minimum grade just for being a tribute (Albeit a crappy one).



aknboy2dfaknboy2df

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars August 21, 2013

The controls were terribly slippery!