Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


BrandonGBlackBrandonGBlack

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars November 12, 2013

I can shoot glitches into wall and kill my self that way :() they should fix that



HelberethHelbereth

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars August 25, 2011

Its flaws make it really lose points.

The game runs nicely and might even be playable if it weren't for the completely idiotic control setup. One of the main things about using the portal gun is being able to shoot either portal, and having the two portals set to Q and E is just plain stupid. My fingers don't work that way.

Is it possible to allow the player to change the keybinds? This might be playable if that were the case. I'd have my two portals set up as 4 and 5 - then i might actually be able to complete a puzzle without hitting the wrong portal button and having to start over.

Also, the crushing death things are kinda cool, but because of the glitchy portal shooting mechanics, it's pretty easy to get RNGed to death.

Overall not a complete failure, but bad controls and unbalanced design leave something to be desired.


People find this review helpful!

D3A7H1337D3A7H1337

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars March 4, 2014

Even tho this game is okay, You cant get past lvl 9 ITS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE!



lorddavidicuslorddavidicus

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars October 17, 2007

it was ok

the game concept was cool but the overall fun of the game was not that great



spibokspibok

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 26, 2009

AWSOME!

its cool but its gets to hard later in the game.