Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


lupo87lupo87

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 8, 2009

A difficulty level that cheats you

It's a decent adaptation of portal, but it definitely feels like the 2D rehash that it is. I mean this to the degree that the gameplay is a bit flawed and in a frustrating manner. Your left with milliseconds to act all the while your character is rushed out in an awkward manner. In one area you can only shoot the portal from the back of the space but your character comes out in the middle of the floor and then fumbles to go backwards all the while you have little time from the get-go.


People find this review helpful!

SebastianMISebastianMI

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 25, 2012

Good game and all, but level 6 was way too hard, it needed more explanation of how to complete it



ATtICuS-87ATtICuS-87

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 27, 2007

great game with few bugs

I have to agree with sirwebo on this one since I've been having a few problems with the game as well. when you use your arrows or A,D buttons to move sideways, it tends to move faster than expected and screws everything up for ya!! besides the bugs though this game is awesome!! very simple concept with great mind bending puzzles. I'd like to see more games like this!!



Prince-with-999-foesPrince-with-999-foes

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 12, 2008

Well made but

Without the indifference of Glados its just not the same. Great job on programing the flash though.



DaemonSHADESDaemonSHADES

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 13, 2009

um...

the fourth level is pretty hard, you know?