Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


LookazLookaz

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 18, 2007

well done

even the fact that it runs only on bad quality for my computer, this was well done, i'd love to see more Valve based games. If you made this downloadable for all versions of windows, that would be even cooler, 7/10!
peace


People find this review helpful!

xZippyxZippy

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 3, 2009

Eh.

It was alright for a little while, until the shitty hit detection ruined it.



mutanikmutanik

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 1, 2008

was great

im giving it a 7 because it was difficult in places oh and to mario2007 the reason why you go on a loop when you put a portal on wall and on the floor next to it is because of a little thing called... oh what is it? relativity. if you ran into a portal youd keep moving on the other side! and it takes some skill to put that into a game! coding is difficult! and your "constructive criticism" is more of bullshxt that no one wants to hear. i thought it was a great game and i highly recomend you make many more



Lt-stickyLt-sticky

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 29, 2007

2 weeks

It took me that long to get though the game. I had alot of fun and discovered a couple of bugs that seemed to help out a bit. Nothing really major though. On occation the Portal would point into the wall rather than away from it. or I would fall from and endless loop onto anotherarea of the platform. but other than that the game was verywell put together.



ANonsJournalANonsJournal

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 13, 2010

Something lost...

Ok, it's still a 5/5, but something about Portal that I love was lost. Maybe it was the puzzles I just about beet the game and haven't come to a puzzle that wasn't simple. The first person Portal gave you a looming sense that you don't know the hole story, since you can't see the entire puzzle right away, but in this, you can see the entire map from the start. Maybe it was the game play, it just seemed, well, monotonous. The first level was almost exactly like the rest, maybe a different background or a few more obstacles, but generally the same. It was not by any means bad, and I really did like it, but it wasn't quite like the Portal I hoped, and for a flash, it's just about as good as it gets.


People find this review helpful!