Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


david6594david6594

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 19, 2007

so confusing

cool game but so confusing but im no good at puzzle games



calyptratusscalyptratuss

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 8, 2012

actualy, pretty good! I loved it! Only few things: 1 It's out of scenario and levels are difrent,
2 The 3-d version is better, so I recommend to buy portal, but this one is still pretty good!



CumbersnachCumbersnach

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 3, 2007

Hard

THis is really hard but still very good. 7/10



PlatformerGirlPlatformerGirl

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 7, 2013

Once you start you will want to finish it.



Blizzard-57Blizzard-57

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 17, 2007

Pretty good, but just not fast enough

I know you tried, but I just couldn't get past 35 or so (the one with the moving platform and the many rooms connected by portal-only passages) because the cursor just wouldn't refresh fast enough. I got past the red lazer on the right once, but then an advertisement popped up in front of the screen. It was infuriating. I don't know why, but every single Armor Games sponsored game I've played somehow needs a gig of ram dedicated solely to it to play on the lowest of quality. The graphics aren't that complex. Aside from the portal (which seems to be absolutely laden with effects), I don't know what could be making it go so slow, graphically. If you're using any filters or bitmaps, get rid of them. Everything I see looks like a gradient, and so can be done with one. Filters are processor intensive, and ugly anyway. I'd need to look at the code myself to see what could be done for optimization, and even then I'm not that great with AS, so I don't know what to say. It was a pretty fun game, though it quickly became sloughsome.