Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


MJthegreatMJthegreat

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 23, 2007

okay

it was okay



Oro-HyrunashiOro-Hyrunashi

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 30, 2010

Cheat

enable the ` and type in noclip to fly around



attean13attean13

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 1, 2012

Well first off I gotta say finely someone who wants to mae a gme about poral again but I have to say I have not played the portals except for Portal Still Alive Xbox360 arcade version (Wich I fell in love with) with I'm pretty sure this is based on, well in that version you are a aficain american girl and the colors to the portals are blue and ORENGE not yellow and I got stuck on 8 it might have been that it was a vary fast moving game but over all i was a great game


People find this review helpful!

zerozerozerozerozerozerozerozero

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 25, 2007

Frustrating but fun

Fun in the fact that you did a good job porting portal to flash and 2d. Frustrating in the fact that you don't have a large company behind you to work out the many bugs. Pretty fun though and I hope Valve implements the crushing walls and different barrier types that you have. Looking forward to a sequal to portal and hopefully the portal gun being introduced into the HL games. Having a portal/gravity gun plus abunch of other weapons to mess around with while killing things would make one hell of an awesome game (even if it was a 2d flash game*hint hint wink wink*).



XzelloXzello

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 4, 2013

"I am liking it"

There is nothing too new or interesting within the fundamentals or concept of this game. It is simply portal, but restated in the second dimension. It is fun flying from portal to portal, killing reflexes. I would give it five stars, it is just the tacky concept associated with portal without "Glados" and focusing on the action part. "Is this an action or puzzle game?" Only three and a half stars is what I can give you for your efforts in trying to recreate the same sensation you will find in portal for a console.

"Xzello wuz here"