Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


Kenny071Kenny071

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 4, 2009

Great But........

The movement needs serious work. You can never step into a portal smoothly and quickly which is frustrating and deadly once you get to the higher levels. Definately gets to difficult to step in portals and even make a portal when it fails to work constantly. You always have to jump before you walk in and in most cases your dealing with energy balls teleporting them and yourself at the same time therefore you don't have the time and sometimes the space to do that. Some rooms seem like they should have a little more room to perform the tasks required. Room 32 is one of these rooms. Sometimes when you walk out of portals slowly you still end up hovering straight over the platform your trying to reach. And when spawning portals it gets too tricky and frustrating quite often. Instead of being a logically challenging game it becomes a unreasonably challenging game. You spend more time setting portals in an exact spot than actually figuring out what to do. The knocked over turrets get in your way all too often. Energy balls sometimes kill you even when they haven't touched you yet. After level 25, the game is more frustrating than it is entertaining.



MudkipMudkip

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 11, 2007

a glich

on test9 I got flung into the entrince so fast when I flew in I got shot



Cesaz05Cesaz05

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 19, 2010

cool game.

its an awsome game but it gets a little hard. gets frustrating and challenging at the same time. makes me want to get the real one so i can see how similar they are. too bad my comp is 2 wimpy for an awsome game.



CAPTSAVEAHOECAPTSAVEAHOE

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 2, 2008

i love the real portal

this is a cool verion to cause i just rented the game to play portal cause im not really cool about the half-life series i think it really sucks but i love playing this nice twist 2d instead of 3d



ShiroTagachiShiroTagachi

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 20, 2007

There's just one thing missing...

Good game, but I really missed having a companion cube around. Sure you can make one via the consol, but that's not really the same...plus, no evil computer!Don't skip so much of the game conent!